Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Retired Joeteck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Long Island

    Atheros AR5005G Wireless Problems

    I just bought a brand new Toshiba Tecra Celeron M notebook from newegg.com. It has a Atheros AR5005G Wireless mini-pci card in it. For some reason it does not want to aquire an IP address. I can connect to my AP with 128Bit WEP and I have full signal strenth, but no IP address gets assigned and then fails with a message of "limited or no conductivity". For ha ha's, I installed a netgear PC card just to verify it was not the notebook having problems, and it worked fine. I fully uninstalled the driver, rebooted, re-installed and the problem still exists. Any help on this matter would be great.

    Joe

  2. #2
    Retired Joeteck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Long Island
    Interesting update:

    When I disable WEP on the Access Point, the notebook can aquire and IP address with no issues.

    So I guess there is a incompatability issue with Atheros & linksys when doing WEP.

  3. #3
    Member Newman_SCO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Scotland
    Try the WildPackets Atheros Wireless Driver v4.2.

    http://www.wildpackets.com/support/downloads/drivers

    The Atheros AR5005G is a good card. Up your encryption security to wpa or wpa2. You can get into wep 64bit/128bit networks in 15 minutes if there is plenty of traffic.

  4. #4
    Retired Joeteck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Long Island
    Quote Originally Posted by Newman_SCO
    Try the WildPackets Atheros Wireless Driver v4.2.

    http://www.wildpackets.com/support/downloads/drivers

    The Atheros AR5005G is a good card. Up your encryption security to wpa or wpa2. You can get into wep 64bit/128bit networks in 15 minutes if there is plenty of traffic.

    That fails to work too. Well, the driver does not load, I should say..

  5. #5
    Member JCLW's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Back in Toronto
    What Linksys AP?

    As Newman mentioned WEP is pointless - just google "wep crack"

    Update the Linksys firmware, and use WPA2 - Personal.

    You'll need this MS Update (you should probably get it regardless): http://support.microsoft.com/kb/917021
    ♫♪ ☺ ♫♪

  6. #6
    Retired Joeteck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Long Island
    Quote Originally Posted by JCLW
    What Linksys AP?

    As Newman mentioned WEP is pointless - just google "wep crack"

    Update the Linksys firmware, and use WPA2 - Personal.

    You'll need this MS Update (you should probably get it regardless): http://support.microsoft.com/kb/917021

    I have a WAP55AG AP. But when I go to linksys there are two version types. How do I know what I have?

    I currently have firmware version 1.1.

    Edit: I figured it out. I used Pre-shard key and all worked. I guess WEP does not work with older cards with SP2

    Thanks for the help!
    Last edited by Joeteck; 10-25-06 at 08:31 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •