• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Ultra X-Finity 500W

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

PaciFIST69

I've been running the system in my sig for about six months now, 1 month with the x1900xtx. Zero stability issues when gaming, dual prime, anything. But I recently found this thread: http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.php?t=466293 and now I'm worried. Is it likely that it would die/combust or damage my stuff after being stable for so long?

I also checked the voltages with software: 3.3 and 5V are fine. But 12V is 11.25 and drops to 11.15 at heavy load. Don't have access to a multimeter right now but I can check it next week. Should I get a new psu?

I've had one for about 2 yrs now and it's been fine. I've heard a lot of bad things about them but I guess I was one of the lucky few.
As far as the voltage levels go, MBM5 reports are very low on my MB, which worried me, so I checked them with a multimeter and they are exactly where they should be. Check yours and you'll probably see that they are fine as well.

I ran an almost identical rig for a while and had no trouble. My voltages were all spot on and I was very happy. I am going to be using it in my new Allendale rig with my x1900xtx three HDs, two pumps and 5 fans. I'll probably upgrade it before the new year.

I have this too for my recently built "cheap" pc.
It is running perfectly fine.
The voltage rails are what they should be.
5V rail is only a tiny bit lower than 5V at 4.97V.

Maybe I'm one of the lucky few too.

Btw, however, my Ultra 400W V-series (which is also $0AR) was DOA.

PC spec:
A64 3000+ @ 1.1Ghz 1.125Vcore (or 2.75Ghz 1.55Vcore)
Crucial Baller Tracer 2GB DDR 2-2-2-5 1T
ASUS A8N-E
connect3D X700Pro
Hitachi SATA 80GB