Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2006

    new startup- nothing happens

    i have a asus M2N32-SLI Deluxe/Wireless Edition mobo. a hiper 580w power supply. i hooked up a lite-on dvd drive. put in 1 stick of memory. a seagate sata2 hdd and a GeForce 7900 video card. the power comes on fine, all my fans work but thats it. no beeps no nothing. i hooked everything up before i turned on the pc. the thing is, there is no port on the mobo for a monitor but how will my video card work without d/l the drivers. is there a specific way to turn this on.

  2. #2
    Member JimmyG's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Michigan
    Author Profile
    Take out the ram and try to boot. Any beeps? If yes, the ram is bad. If no, take out the video card and try to boot. Any beeps? If yes, then video card is bad. If no, disconnect hdd and try to boot. Any beeps? If yes, then hdd is bad. If no, remove dvd and boot. Any beeps? If yes, then dvd is bad. If no, then take out cpu and try to boot. Any beeps? If yes, then cpu is bad. If no, then you are down to mobo and psu. Try them in another computer to identify the bad one.
    Main Computer: INTEL 2600K; ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe; 850W Corsair; Antec P280 case;16 Gigs Corsair Vengance;EVGA 560 TI; 120 INTEL SSD; 2x500Gig WD HD; op system: Win 7-64; Backup computer:INTEL Q6600; 650W Corsair in Antec P180 Case; 4 Gigs RAM; EVGA GT430; Gigibyte P45T-ES3G mobo; 1x200 GB WD; 2x160 GB WD; 1x1GB WD. Operating system: Win 7 -64. ***Avatar by Gresyth***

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    the only thing hooked up is the power supply. thats is the only wire i have connected to the mobob and still no beep. no cpu or nothing. is there certain wires i need to have hooked up, like the power button or anything from the case. will the mobo still beep without absolutely nothing hooked up but ps.
    Last edited by alyn; 11-04-06 at 12:46 PM.

  4. #4
    Member CrackerD|ce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Lilburn, GA
    what do you mean by not having the power button hooked up? Are you jumpin the psu off then? And theres a speaker connector on the board to hook up the speaker for beeps.

  5. #5
    Member JimmyG's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Michigan
    Author Profile
    The speaker connector is usually very close to the connectors used to connect the mobo to the front panel. Make sure a speaker is connected. Consult your mobo manual if you're not sure. If you don't have a manual, you can probably download one at the mobo manufacturer's site.
    Main Computer: INTEL 2600K; ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe; 850W Corsair; Antec P280 case;16 Gigs Corsair Vengance;EVGA 560 TI; 120 INTEL SSD; 2x500Gig WD HD; op system: Win 7-64; Backup computer:INTEL Q6600; 650W Corsair in Antec P180 Case; 4 Gigs RAM; EVGA GT430; Gigibyte P45T-ES3G mobo; 1x200 GB WD; 2x160 GB WD; 1x1GB WD. Operating system: Win 7 -64. ***Avatar by Gresyth***

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    i hooked up the power supply to another pc and got the beeps, so my ps should be good. i tried turning it on with no cpu, no memory, no nothing but a speaker and still can't get a beep. my mobo reguires a 24 pin power supply connect so i can't hook it up to another pc to see if it beeps. is there another way to determine if my mobo is bad or not.

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    not sure if this means anything but i turn on the ps, the green led on mobo lights up. then i hit the power button on the case and all my fans and leds come on but the power button won't turn nothing off, i have to turn the ps switch off.

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    after reading all night, there are a couple of things i should mention. i didn't use spacers when i mounted the mobo to the case and i didn't have the 4 pin molex by the pci slot plugged in.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    OnDborder's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    HOT 'n Arizona
    "spacers"? You mean the stand-offs that screw into the case that your mb sits on? Ummm, that's not good.
    If I were you, I'd just take the mb out of the case, put it on the bench(table, whatever), plug the ps in, cpu,video card,monitor, one stick of ram, don't forget the heatsink and fan on the cpu, don't forget to plug the hs/f in, and try to boot from there.
    If it does, put the stand-offs on.
    Last edited by OnDborder; 11-05-06 at 01:36 AM.
    You're capable of such beautiful dreams, and such horrible nightmares.


    Asrock z77xtr6/3770k..........MSI p67a-GD55/2600k
    CORSAIR Vengeance 16gb.......4gigZ Corsair
    Gigabyte 290s crossfire ...........HIS 280x crossfired
    X-Fi Elite Pro.........................H2O cooling
    600gb Raptor/256ssd3..... .......40 Kingston ssd
    Siverstone 1500wt'r.....................Corsair1000HX

    MyHeat

  10. #10
    Member Mr. Roboto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Heatware Profile
    4 pin molex ? Do you mean the CPU power cable thing? If the 4 pins are arranged in a square, you need that...
    Main Rig: e8400 l ASUS P5K Deluxe l G.Skill 4GB HZ's l GTX 280 l 2x320gb 7200.10 Raid 0 l X-FI Platinum l CM Stacker 830 l OCZ 700W GameXtreme l Logitech z-5500's l G5 l Saitek Eclipse II l 2 x 2407 WFP
    HTPC:P4 2.8 l 1.5GB ram l 7600GS l HVR-1600 l 400gb raid 0 l Audigy 1 l Coolermaster 280 l 37" Olevia

  11. #11
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    i plug the 4 pin on the main power cable to make a 24 pin connection. there was another 4 pin on the mobo that i forgot to plug in. it's located right beside the blue socket for pci card.

  12. #12
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    one of the black square transistors has a bubble on it. so i guess i killed the board. the # on it was 3310GH, it has 3 prongs but the middle one is cut. anyway, i'm going to get a new board and was wondering about the stand off's. are the stand off's metal.

  13. #13
    Member Mr. Roboto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Heatware Profile
    yes, the mobo standoffs are metal, usually brass looking.
    Main Rig: e8400 l ASUS P5K Deluxe l G.Skill 4GB HZ's l GTX 280 l 2x320gb 7200.10 Raid 0 l X-FI Platinum l CM Stacker 830 l OCZ 700W GameXtreme l Logitech z-5500's l G5 l Saitek Eclipse II l 2 x 2407 WFP
    HTPC:P4 2.8 l 1.5GB ram l 7600GS l HVR-1600 l 400gb raid 0 l Audigy 1 l Coolermaster 280 l 37" Olevia

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    OnDborder's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    HOT 'n Arizona
    When you put the stands-offs on, don't put anymore than you need. You know, one stand off per mb hole.. Not to put a stand off in every hole in the case, cuz there are more threaded holes in the case for various mb set-ups.
    You're capable of such beautiful dreams, and such horrible nightmares.


    Asrock z77xtr6/3770k..........MSI p67a-GD55/2600k
    CORSAIR Vengeance 16gb.......4gigZ Corsair
    Gigabyte 290s crossfire ...........HIS 280x crossfired
    X-Fi Elite Pro.........................H2O cooling
    600gb Raptor/256ssd3..... .......40 Kingston ssd
    Siverstone 1500wt'r.....................Corsair1000HX

    MyHeat

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •