Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Member knightwolf6543's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warren,MI, USA BABY!!
    Posts
    550

    need help with a server ibm xseries 342

    so i got this thing off ebay a few months ago and finnaly bought the hdd for it (2x scsi 18gb) nothing to big, it has duel p3 @1.3Ghz and 512 ram, i bought it to fold but i cant get it to instal a oc on it! i will start it up and after it goes through the whole bios thing it will ask for a disk and press f1. ok what disk i dident get a disk is there a way to bypass this? i have even unpluged the floppy drive and nothing. still does it. i was able to get it to load linux once but i had no drives to instal it on. so mabey its some drivers or something? please help

    thanks.
    opteron 165 (ccbbe 0617) @ 2.73 Ghz (stock voltes )
    2x 7900 GS SLI!!! (580/798)
    Custom painted 3d Aroura Case
    2x 512 PQI pc-3200 @ 218
    DFI LP UT SLI-D
    Future system
    Phenom x4 black edition
    AMD 790FX DFI mobo
    cruical ballistix Tracer 4GB DDR-1066
    2 x Ati HD3870 X2
    AlabamaCajun is my hero

  2. #2
    Trailer Chasing Senior Adragontattoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Northwestern corner of Va. USA, Northern Hemisphere, Earth, Sol Sector, outer arm of spiral galaxy
    Posts
    5,260
    ok you are trying to install an OS?

    what disk does it ask for? It probably needs the driver disk for the Raid/SCSI controller.
    Only ISP provided, .EDU, .GOV, .MIL e-mail addresses are Classifieds approved. Are you unable to access the Classifieds?
    Click here to find out why!
    The Forum Rules FAQ|
    Classies Rules and Regs
    Prices, slashes and edits
    Quality over Quantity Pictures are NOT req.
    Adopt an animal if you want one, dont use a breeder!

  3. #3
    Member knightwolf6543's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warren,MI, USA BABY!!
    Posts
    550
    nothing it just a pic with a floppy drive and a disk pointing into the drive and points to the f1 key errrghhh. and were can i find these drivers?

    thanks.
    opteron 165 (ccbbe 0617) @ 2.73 Ghz (stock voltes )
    2x 7900 GS SLI!!! (580/798)
    Custom painted 3d Aroura Case
    2x 512 PQI pc-3200 @ 218
    DFI LP UT SLI-D
    Future system
    Phenom x4 black edition
    AMD 790FX DFI mobo
    cruical ballistix Tracer 4GB DDR-1066
    2 x Ati HD3870 X2
    AlabamaCajun is my hero

  4. #4
    Trailer Chasing Senior Adragontattoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Northwestern corner of Va. USA, Northern Hemisphere, Earth, Sol Sector, outer arm of spiral galaxy
    Posts
    5,260
    I truly despise IBM just beacause of the pictures they post instead of problems or error codes. You could try Google and look for the model of the server. Try IBM and look for it there.
    Only ISP provided, .EDU, .GOV, .MIL e-mail addresses are Classifieds approved. Are you unable to access the Classifieds?
    Click here to find out why!
    The Forum Rules FAQ|
    Classies Rules and Regs
    Prices, slashes and edits
    Quality over Quantity Pictures are NOT req.
    Adopt an animal if you want one, dont use a breeder!

  5. #5
    freakdiablo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    4,200
    It probably means a disk with dos or something.
    Main: MOBO: MSI P67A-G45, CPU: i7 2600k w/ VenX (4.4ghz @ 1.33v), RAM: 2x8gb Kingston HyperX Blu Red Series DDR3 1600, GFX: Galaxy GTX670 GC, PSU: OCZ 1250w ZX, CASE: Corsair 500R, HDD: 120gb Samsung 840, WD 4TB Black
    Quick, Cheap, and Dirty NAS: Sempron 140, Hyper 212+ with 800RPM Scythe Slipstreams, 4gb ram, 5x2tb Hitachis in RAID5, Seasonic SSR-360GP, Antec 300, Biostar Tpower motherboard, APC BR700G UPS, Buffalo WZR-HP-AG300H router (Upgrade in the works)
    Laptop: Lenovo Thinkpad X220 HTPC: Zotac ZBOX AD04-U w/ 6GB Samsung 1333mhz, 64GB Adata Premier Pro SP900
    Protobox-1: Raspberry Pi Mod. B Rev. 2, 2.5" LCD, 12v 1A PSU, Aluminum RatShack project box, GPIO breakout board

    Project 1UP || Interested in the performance of the new AMD AM1 socket? Ask me, I'll test it!
    Bored of games? Nothing good on internet radio or youtube? Dont waste your GHz, find them before they find us. SETI

  6. #6
    Member dropadrop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    2,718
    You probably need to download an .iso for a bootable cd used to create a raid array... Have you tried to enter bios and look at the boot options?

  7. #7
    Member Skeith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Winnipeg Manitoba
    Posts
    866
    Pull er' apart and find the model and manufacuer of the motherboard or scsi card. I too just got a dual P3 board and chips to replace the PII in my server (much slower than yours 450Mhz) It has an onboard scsi conroller. (dont have any scsi disks for it yet though still using IDE.

    Search the board up on the manufacuers website and look for raid utilities or the like. Check Faqs etc. The info will more than likely be there.

    Can you get into the OS install at all?
    If not then you might need to change the boot order in bios so that it reads the CD-ROM.

    Most OSes require a 3rd party raid driver to be installed right at the beginning of installation (windows does it asks you to push F1 or something i think [EDIT: Its F6]) in order to allow the OS to allocate the raid disk space.
    Last edited by Skeith; 11-10-06 at 01:01 AM.
    File Server:
    AMD Semperon 2500+ @ 2104.3MHz (10.5 x 200) 1.9v | ABIT NF7-Sv2 Mobo - Tai Pan Bios | WD 20GB IDE (System) - Seagate 320GB SATA (Storage)
    xfx NVIDIA Ge-force 5200 128MB 333Mhz/500Mhz (Vcore 1.70v/Vmem 3.00v) | 1024MB DDR Dual Channel (2x512 PC3200) UltraValue 2.5-2-2-7

    Web Server:
    Dual PIII 450/256/100/2.0 | 768MB PC100 SDRAM | 6.4GB Quantum Fireball (main) | 6.4GB WD Caviar (FTP Storage)

    Laptop: -Dell Inspiron 6400-
    Intel Core2Duo 1.66GHz | 2x512MB DDR2 667MHz RAM | 120GB SATA HDD 7200RPM | ATI x1400 Mobility 256MB PCIe Graphics | Creative Soundblaster HD MB


    I don't care about what it was designed to do. I care about what it CAN do!

  8. #8
    Very kind Senior Xaotic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Greensboro NC
    Posts
    2,579
    That sequence means that it hasn't found a bootable device and is looking for boot media, defaults to FDD. Have you gone into BIOS and checked for errors? Also, have you gone into the SCSI Adapter BIOS and verified that you have disks that are detected?

    Here's the driver link for the system:
    http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/si...id=MIGR-4WYKLK

    If it has a ServeRAID adapter, the disks/arrays need to be set up prior to installation. CD ISO here:
    http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/si...ocid=SERV-RAID

    Finally, the Hardware Maintenance Manual is always helpful:
    http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/si...cid=MIGR-43740

  9. #9
    Sleepy_Steve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    VT... or MD
    Posts
    2,246
    First off, yes... it seems like the rig is asking for some sort of bootable media to beign the instal. Most of the time this will mean FDD or CD-ROM media.

    Second. A few questions to the OP
    What OS are you trying to load??
    Have you set up the raid array in BIOS yet??
    And can you find out what raid controler / motherboard is in the server so you can find the right drivers for it so that you will be able to let the OS use said raid array??
    CPU i7-2600 Cooling CM 212+ w/ 2 fans RAM 4x4gb G.Skill DDR3 1333 Video 9800GT & 8600GT Storage 1TB Raid0 system & 2TB storage HEAT
    Folding User Stats

  10. #10
    Member knightwolf6543's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warren,MI, USA BABY!!
    Posts
    550
    1. i have tried loading ubuntu, windows 95, and windows server 2003

    2. no

    3. i will look later right now my room is a mess and am tired from a day of work and school
    opteron 165 (ccbbe 0617) @ 2.73 Ghz (stock voltes )
    2x 7900 GS SLI!!! (580/798)
    Custom painted 3d Aroura Case
    2x 512 PQI pc-3200 @ 218
    DFI LP UT SLI-D
    Future system
    Phenom x4 black edition
    AMD 790FX DFI mobo
    cruical ballistix Tracer 4GB DDR-1066
    2 x Ati HD3870 X2
    AlabamaCajun is my hero

  11. #11
    Very Welcoming Senior
    Premium Member #11

    'Cuda340's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Folding@Home
    Posts
    3,113

  12. #12
    Trailer Chasing Senior Adragontattoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Northwestern corner of Va. USA, Northern Hemisphere, Earth, Sol Sector, outer arm of spiral galaxy
    Posts
    5,260
    Only ISP provided, .EDU, .GOV, .MIL e-mail addresses are Classifieds approved. Are you unable to access the Classifieds?
    Click here to find out why!
    The Forum Rules FAQ|
    Classies Rules and Regs
    Prices, slashes and edits
    Quality over Quantity Pictures are NOT req.
    Adopt an animal if you want one, dont use a breeder!

  13. #13
    Member knightwolf6543's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warren,MI, USA BABY!!
    Posts
    550
    thanks everybody i am going to work on it this weekend and report whats happening!
    opteron 165 (ccbbe 0617) @ 2.73 Ghz (stock voltes )
    2x 7900 GS SLI!!! (580/798)
    Custom painted 3d Aroura Case
    2x 512 PQI pc-3200 @ 218
    DFI LP UT SLI-D
    Future system
    Phenom x4 black edition
    AMD 790FX DFI mobo
    cruical ballistix Tracer 4GB DDR-1066
    2 x Ati HD3870 X2
    AlabamaCajun is my hero

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •