Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    26

    help with new build, new to overclocking!!!

    Hi guys, I've posted once here before and got a great response. Now I feel like I'm getting ready to pull the trigger on a new system. The system is for audio production, NOT GAMING! so I don't need any special video cards, just one that will work with my system, that's cheap, and that will support multiple monitors. I've put together a list of items here that I've come up with so far and am wondering if I can get some advice as to how I'm doing so far. I'd like to be able to overclock it, and don't know if the MOBO or the RAM i've got selected is good for that or if I should think about something else. My main concern is making this thing quiet!! Thanks for the help! And if I should be posting this in a different category, let me know.

    Case
    Antec Performance I P180 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811129154
    Motherboard
    ASUS P5B Socket T http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131030
    Processor
    Intel Core 2 Duo E6700 Conroe 2.66GHz http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115002
    Ram
    CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145034
    Heatsink
    Scythe SCNJ-1000 Ninja heatsink http://www.silentpcreview.com/article251-page1.html
    Power Supply
    SeaSonic S12-500 ATX12V 500W Power Supply http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817151024
    Fans
    Noctua 120mm
    Video Card
    GeForce 7100GS http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814121027
    Hard Drives
    SAMSUNG SpinPoint T Series HD321KJ 320GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822152054

    -Drew

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    130
    what kinda soundcard you looking to get, or do you have one already?

  3. #3
    ASCII Moderator
    Overclockers.com Lead Editor

    splat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philly
    Posts
    3,951
    if the main goal is sound production, are you considering pro sound cards? also, do you have intentions of overclocking the rig or leaving it stock? I'm guessing that you are not going to overclock, and if that is true, i think those specs look decent.
    ______________________________/\/\__________________/\/\_____
    _______/\/\/\/\__/\/\/\/\____/\/\____/\/\/\______/\/\/\/\/\__
    ____/\/\/\/\____/\/\__/\/\__/\/\________/\/\______/\/\_______
    _________/\/\__/\/\/\/\____/\/\____/\/\/\/\______/\/\________
    __/\/\/\/\____/\/\________/\/\/\__/\/\/\/\/\____/\/\/\_______
    _____________/\/\___________
    once you clock you can't go stock
    [RHCSA, RHCE] || articles || folding stats || overclockers last.fm group


  4. #4
    Member [SC]Ceasar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    287
    I would save some money on the cpu by going for e6400 or the e6600.

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    26
    thanks for the replies. I already have a mackie 400f so I'm good on the soundcard. I'm just looking for a faster machine.

    So all I'll need is a core 2 duo 2.4? And you say that it will OC at about the same rate, and that is with the heatsink that I currently have selected?

    Is there a cheaper alternative to the ram I have selected that is better or should I stick with it? Again, I am new to this level of computing, so the advice is welcome!

    If I choose not to OC, is the extra performance that the e6700 offers over the e6600 really worth it for an extra couple hundred bucks? i am definitely thinking about overclocking however. I'd like to get extra performance. I certainly don't want to do anything that pushes it too hard. I'm looking for a stable system first and foremost, but I would like to OC to a safe limit.

    Thanks,
    Drew

  6. #6
    Member jtjuska's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Twin Cities, MN
    Posts
    596
    Welcome to the Forums!!!!

    If you are going to Overclock I would save some money and go with an E6400 or a E6600 and use it for a better sound card instead. If you are not going to overclock I would look to get some cheaper memory that is rated at DDR2 533 (stock speed for C2D) since the DDR2 800 rating would never be touched if you arent going to OC it. Other than that it looks to be a great system!!! Good luck with it and have fun!

    ~jtjuska
    Mountain Mods U2-UFO
    MCMicro -> DDC -> Apogee -> MCW30 -> PA120.3
    Intel Pentium Dual-Core E2140
    Intel C2D E6600 @ 3.86Ghz **RETIRED**
    Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3P
    G.Skill DDR2800 2x2GB
    HIS HD3870 ICEQ3
    WD Raptor WD740GD
    PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750w

  7. #7
    ASCII Moderator
    Overclockers.com Lead Editor

    splat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philly
    Posts
    3,951
    Quote Originally Posted by drewby newby
    thanks for the replies. I already have a mackie 400f so I'm good on the soundcard. I'm just looking for a faster machine.

    So all I'll need is a core 2 duo 2.4? And you say that it will OC at about the same rate, and that is with the heatsink that I currently have selected?

    Is there a cheaper alternative to the ram I have selected that is better or should I stick with it? Again, I am new to this level of computing, so the advice is welcome!

    If I choose not to OC, is the extra performance that the e6700 offers over the e6600 really worth it for an extra couple hundred bucks? i am definitely thinking about overclocking however. I'd like to get extra performance. I certainly don't want to do anything that pushes it too hard. I'm looking for a stable system first and foremost, but I would like to OC to a safe limit.

    Thanks,
    Drew
    the scythe ninja is very well suited for overclocking. the e6600 is the better deal overall, OCed or not. Since it's going to be a production box, i'd probably just take it to the max on stock voltage. make sure you test it thoroughly with orthos.

    and you can probably get away with ddr2-667 ram like this: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820141211 to save a few bucks
    ______________________________/\/\__________________/\/\_____
    _______/\/\/\/\__/\/\/\/\____/\/\____/\/\/\______/\/\/\/\/\__
    ____/\/\/\/\____/\/\__/\/\__/\/\________/\/\______/\/\_______
    _________/\/\__/\/\/\/\____/\/\____/\/\/\/\______/\/\________
    __/\/\/\/\____/\/\________/\/\/\__/\/\/\/\/\____/\/\/\_______
    _____________/\/\___________
    once you clock you can't go stock
    [RHCSA, RHCE] || articles || folding stats || overclockers last.fm group


  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    26
    Quote Originally Posted by splat
    the scythe ninja is very well suited for overclocking. the e6600 is the better deal overall, OCed or not. Since it's going to be a production box, i'd probably just take it to the max on stock voltage. make sure you test it thoroughly with orthos.
    So, just to make sure I understand, "taking it to the max on stock voltage" is NOT overclocking it correct? And you suggest this because it will be the most stable this way? Am I reading you correctly? Just wanted to make sure.

  9. #9
    ASCII Moderator
    Overclockers.com Lead Editor

    splat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philly
    Posts
    3,951
    as soon as you raise the speed of the processor/mobo, you are overclocking. I am saying that you can overclock the processor a few hundred mhz while leaving the vcore at stock. Raising the clock puts stress on the system, but raising the vcore puts a lot of stress on the system. more voltage also means more heat, which means more cooling to offset. So, if you want your system to stay quiet and cooler, as well as ensure decent life of the components, it is best to leave the voltage alone.
    ______________________________/\/\__________________/\/\_____
    _______/\/\/\/\__/\/\/\/\____/\/\____/\/\/\______/\/\/\/\/\__
    ____/\/\/\/\____/\/\__/\/\__/\/\________/\/\______/\/\_______
    _________/\/\__/\/\/\/\____/\/\____/\/\/\/\______/\/\________
    __/\/\/\/\____/\/\________/\/\/\__/\/\/\/\/\____/\/\/\_______
    _____________/\/\___________
    once you clock you can't go stock
    [RHCSA, RHCE] || articles || folding stats || overclockers last.fm group


  10. #10
    Senior Moment batboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Kansas, USA
    Posts
    16,340
    Yeah, save a few bucks and get the E6600.

    What was suggested (and I agree) is to just do a modest O/C with default vcore. That means overclocking what you can without raising voltage (or only raising vcore a tiny bit). This will keep temps down which mean you can use quieter fans. It will also be very stable.

    The PSU you selected is dual rail. It will probably work for your purposes though since you won't be trying a max O/C with a power hungry vid card. But, the OCZ Power stream for about the same price is a better unit (see link).

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817711002

    With an E6600 running at a modest 3 gig (very possible with low voltage) is only 333 FSB, so DDR2-667 RAM would be ok. If you want to O/C higher at some later point or just want to be ahead of the curve, then get DDR2-800 RAM. That Corsair you picked would be fine.

    Zalman heatsinks are a good option for a modest O/C. They are extremely quiet.
    2600K, Asus P8P67 Deluxe, 2X2GB G.Skill Pi PC3-2133, PC & Cooling 750W
    watercooled: Eheim 1048 pump, Swiftech Apogee GTX and 2X120mm rad
    FS020 case, OCZ SSD, Sapphire HD 6950, Acer X241W 24" widescreen

  11. #11
    Registered
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    26
    well, I'm now looking at the SeaSonic S12-430 ATX12V 430W Power Supply.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817151023

    I was told over at silentpcreview.com that this power supply would be more than enough for my setup even if I was overclock the mess out of it. true? I'm really looking to just have a very quiet, stable system. I think I'll still go with the DDR 800 if I decide to get more power hungry later. And what was that about the PSU being dual-rail. I don't understand what that means. Thanks for the responses so far though, ya'll have already probably saved me a couple hundred bucks by advising me away from the e6700 to the e6600.

    and the scythe ninja heatsink is ok for an e6600 running at 3 gig, correct? I have the option to use the fan or not. I'm guessing that I will probably want the fan running if I'm going to be overclocking it like this? Or is this a modest enough overclock that I won't have too?

  12. #12
    ASCII Moderator
    Overclockers.com Lead Editor

    splat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philly
    Posts
    3,951
    i don't know anything about that Seasonic, but i think you can safely stay below 500w with this setup
    ______________________________/\/\__________________/\/\_____
    _______/\/\/\/\__/\/\/\/\____/\/\____/\/\/\______/\/\/\/\/\__
    ____/\/\/\/\____/\/\__/\/\__/\/\________/\/\______/\/\_______
    _________/\/\__/\/\/\/\____/\/\____/\/\/\/\______/\/\________
    __/\/\/\/\____/\/\________/\/\/\__/\/\/\/\/\____/\/\/\_______
    _____________/\/\___________
    once you clock you can't go stock
    [RHCSA, RHCE] || articles || folding stats || overclockers last.fm group


  13. #13
    Premium Member #15




    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    447
    I have a noctua and a tuniq, on this comp i oc a tuniq on my bros x2 4200 the noctua, its a good sink but get a tuniq if you can later on. The noctua will do the job for sure though
    i7 4770k @ Stock for now, Corsair 600T, H70 Cooler
    16gb Crucial Ballstix Tactical Low Profile CL8 1.35v
    Plextor M3 128GB SSD F/W 1.07
    Samsung 830 128gb
    2TB Hitachi 64mb cache
    MSI GTX 770 Gaming
    MSI Z87 M Power
    Heatware Profile

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •