Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    329

    what weould you do?

    seems my e6600 needs way too much voltage to get any decent clocks (1.6v+ for 3.6 1.55 for 3.4)

    im thinking i should sell this locally or something and gfet either another 6600 or a 6400
    altho my ram cant seem to do any more then ddr 850 in memtest so i dont think a 6400 would be a great idea..i would be limited to 425*8 3.4ghz
    altho that isnt a bad number at all id much rather be hitting 425*9 (even tho that is rather unlikely lol)

    suggestions?

  2. #2
    Contributing Member hUMANbEATbOX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    WINNIPEG REPRUHZENT!
    Posts
    6,920
    if another 1-300 mhz is worth the cost you would incur by selling/buying new, then go for it. no oc is a given, and your new cpu still might not give you the clocks you want. 3.4ghz is still pretty solid.
    i7 970 @ 4.2ghz - 1.275v
    6x4gb
    560ti
    and my baby Lucy
    <----

    Do not go gentle into that good night,
    Old age should burn and rave at close of day;
    Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

  3. #3
    Member SeasonalEclipse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    2,594
    What if the other one youg et is a dud too? eh?.. you keep losing money.. id say stick with what you have.. unless if your machine is just a show PC.. other wise the OC isnt really worth all that much..

    The Beast(Main)- P5QL/EPU, Q9550, 4GB DDR2 800, 2X320GB Perp, 750GB Cavalier,8800GT(for now) Corsair 750 Watt PSU, Enermax server case, 2x Dell 1908WFP, Vista Home
    http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=51210

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    329
    Quote Originally Posted by hUMANbEATbOX
    if another 1-300 mhz is worth the cost you would incur by selling/buying new, then go for it. no oc is a given, and your new cpu still might not give you the clocks you want. 3.4ghz is still pretty solid.

    3.4 id be happy with...for decent everyday temps i think im gonna have to stick with 3.0-3.1 wich is pretty lame....most people i see with 6400s do better then that!!!

    guess im just an unlucky sob :\

  5. #5
    Contributing Member hUMANbEATbOX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    WINNIPEG REPRUHZENT!
    Posts
    6,920
    what are your temps like at 3.4ghz, 1.55v?

    i'm around 63c under orthos at 3.5ghz, 1.5v set in bios.
    i7 970 @ 4.2ghz - 1.275v
    6x4gb
    560ti
    and my baby Lucy
    <----

    Do not go gentle into that good night,
    Old age should burn and rave at close of day;
    Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

  6. #6
    Senior Spellcheck greenmaji's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    7,458
    did you check the load Vcore with a DMM?
    $300 for your CPU
    $500 for your GFX card
    $100 for your memory
    $200 for your motherboard
    $9.99 for your PSU

    Having a CHEAP power supply take out your computer PRICELESS.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •