Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Amarok problem.

  1. #1
    Member Schalldampfer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Under a ceiling.

    Amarok problem.

    I have a decently large (29 Gb of FLAC) music collection, and am using PCLinuxOS. I think my collection has been built, but Amarok keeps updating it, even though I added my last song quite a while ago. Is there a way to stop this? And also, is there another player entirely that might be worth trying out?
    Last edited by Schalldampfer; 01-08-07 at 04:07 AM.

  2. #2
    Member wizard james's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    alberta canada calgary SE (come see me..)
    I belive if you look around in the options.. i belive theres something about scannining the folders you checked that have your music in them..
    Depot Tech at Tech Squad in Calgary Alberta
    Thanks guys for all the donations, if you want to still help, fold for me "wizard_james"
    heatware

  3. #3
    Forums Super Moderator
    Overclockers.com Lead Editor


    David's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Hiding from Americans and making pretty colours in a drybox in St Andrews
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by Schalldampfer
    I have a decently large (29 Gb of FLAC) music collection, and am using PCLinuxOS. I think my collection has been built, but Amarok keeps updating it, even though I added my last song quite a while ago. Is there a way to stop this? And also, is there another player entirely that might be worth trying out?
    It will be set to scan for changes every so often, however this process is usually much much quicker than a full scan of your collection.

    Alternatives to amarok would be Banshee (Mono based) or Quod Libet (GTK based).
    David J. Nelson MChem(Edin) PhD(Strath) MRSC [ResearcherID: D-3927-2011]
    OC Forums Super Moderator // Overclockers.com Editor


    The Workhorse: [Lenovo W510] Intel Core i7-720QM / 8 GB DDR3 / nVidia Quadro FX880M / Crucial M4 256 GB SSD / Windows 7
    The HTPC/Server: AMD Phenom X4 9650 / 6 GB DDR2 / nVidia 8300 / 5 TB of HDDs / Antec Solo II Case / Windows 7
    The Gaming Rig: AMD Llano A6-3650 / 4 GB DDR3 / nVidia GTX260 / 2x 500 GB HDD in RAID0 / Antec Dark Fleet DF-85 Case / Windows 7
    The Benchmarking Setup: Various LGA775 chips / Asus Rampage Formula / 2 GB OCZ 1066 MHz DDR2 / nVidia Quadro NVS 285 / 320 GB HDD / Windows 7

    My research fellowship is eating all my time, so I may be slow to reply to emails and private messages.

  4. #4
    Misfit138's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Jersey
    I think if you go to settings/configure amarok/collection there are some boxes that may be what you're looking for.
    archlinux: Power in simplicity.
    Amiga 1000 microATX mod

  5. #5
    Member Schalldampfer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Under a ceiling.
    Thanks, all. The problem with Amarok is solved... But due to the age of the computer, it's having a hard time playing video files smoothly even under Fluxbox and no other applications running. Is there a tweak or something I can do? The files I play range from simple avi's to mkv's. I've found that Kaffeine is best for playing mkv and VLC for avi, but even then neither of them can play files over 160mb smoothly.

  6. #6
    Misfit138's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Jersey
    Sounds like you might benefit from some more RAM.
    archlinux: Power in simplicity.
    Amiga 1000 microATX mod

  7. #7
    Forums Super Moderator
    Overclockers.com Lead Editor


    David's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Hiding from Americans and making pretty colours in a drybox in St Andrews
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by Schalldampfer
    Thanks, all. The problem with Amarok is solved... But due to the age of the computer, it's having a hard time playing video files smoothly even under Fluxbox and no other applications running. Is there a tweak or something I can do? The files I play range from simple avi's to mkv's. I've found that Kaffeine is best for playing mkv and VLC for avi, but even then neither of them can play files over 160mb smoothly.

    When playing a file in Kaffeine (also try mplayer text mode see if it's any better) try opening a console and typing free and press enter. Does it show a lot of swap usage? Paste the output into a post here if possible.
    David J. Nelson MChem(Edin) PhD(Strath) MRSC [ResearcherID: D-3927-2011]
    OC Forums Super Moderator // Overclockers.com Editor


    The Workhorse: [Lenovo W510] Intel Core i7-720QM / 8 GB DDR3 / nVidia Quadro FX880M / Crucial M4 256 GB SSD / Windows 7
    The HTPC/Server: AMD Phenom X4 9650 / 6 GB DDR2 / nVidia 8300 / 5 TB of HDDs / Antec Solo II Case / Windows 7
    The Gaming Rig: AMD Llano A6-3650 / 4 GB DDR3 / nVidia GTX260 / 2x 500 GB HDD in RAID0 / Antec Dark Fleet DF-85 Case / Windows 7
    The Benchmarking Setup: Various LGA775 chips / Asus Rampage Formula / 2 GB OCZ 1066 MHz DDR2 / nVidia Quadro NVS 285 / 320 GB HDD / Windows 7

    My research fellowship is eating all my time, so I may be slow to reply to emails and private messages.

  8. #8
    Member Schalldampfer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Under a ceiling.
    total used free shared buffers cached
    Mem: 191576 181728 9848 0 7216 115824
    -/+ buffers/cache: 58688 132888
    Swap: 562232 23912 538320

    Above is when playing mkv using Kaffeine.

    total used free shared buffers cached
    Mem: 191576 184432 7144 0 2988 102832
    -/+ buffers/cache: 78612 112964
    Swap: 562232 23932 538300

    And that is when playing avi using VLC.

  9. #9
    Member Big_Baller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    **hint** using free -m helps keep things readable as it just lists megabytes.

    Have you tryed using mplayer? I know that you have tryed using different window managers but kaffeine is a kde app so it needs to load the kdelibs if I remember correctly. Try using fluxbox and running the video from console just for starters.

    So in fluxbox open xterm and go to the movie. then do: mplayer movie.avi and see how it goes. if you don't have mplayer installed then install it. Tell us how it goes.
    e7300 w/ Rosewill RCX-Z3 fan, G.SKILL PI Black 4GB 4-4-4-12, evga 9800gx2, Asus P5Q SE mobo, cooler master real power pro 650w.
    ------------------------
    Dell Inspiron 6000 running gentoo Linux.
    ------------------------
    2GHz celeron, 512MB, Media/network server running Gentoo linux
    Buffalo WHR-HP-G54 running DD-WRT
    ------------------------
    Proud member of P.E.T.A: People for the Eating of Tasty Animals.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •