Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Member RIPSTER's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    England

    Simple switch for fan

    Im going to be installing an additional 60mm fan in the side of my Xbox to aid HDD cooling, Im wondering is it possible to rig some kind of switch to allow control of the fan, ill only be needing the fan when running Hard drive intensive apps, games etc. I dont want to have to buy a whole fan controller for such a simple thing.

    Im wondering wether I could use the inverter that came with my CC, I understand that I cant use the inverter itself but along with that comes a small rocker switch, would it be as simple as splicing the rocker switches cables in to the ground and 5v of the fans?

    any help would be greatly appreciated

    RIPSTER
    Pentium Dual Core 3.4
    2GB Corsair RAM
    Gigabyte-G41M -ES2L
    nVidia Geforce 8600GT
    Maxtor 320GB/80GB SATA HD
    TSSTcorp SH-S223C SATA DVDRW

  2. #2
    Member RIPSTER's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    England
    The rocker switch in the pic is the one im trying to use, could I just cut the two wires going in to the rocker switch and wire the switch up to my fan, what order should the fan/rocker/molex be set up for it to work?



    thnx
    Pentium Dual Core 3.4
    2GB Corsair RAM
    Gigabyte-G41M -ES2L
    nVidia Geforce 8600GT
    Maxtor 320GB/80GB SATA HD
    TSSTcorp SH-S223C SATA DVDRW

  3. #3
    Member RIPSTER's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    England
    will this setup work -

    Pentium Dual Core 3.4
    2GB Corsair RAM
    Gigabyte-G41M -ES2L
    nVidia Geforce 8600GT
    Maxtor 320GB/80GB SATA HD
    TSSTcorp SH-S223C SATA DVDRW

  4. #4
    Member
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Land of 10,000 Lakes
    ^^NO, that will make a short.

    Just put the switch in one of the lines.
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by bchur83; 01-24-07 at 09:50 AM.
    Main Rig: Asus P8Z68 Pro Gen3 * Core i7 2600K @ 4.4Ghz * 8GB (2x 4GB) Mushkin Blackline PC3-1600 * GeForce GTX 560TI 448 1280MB * 6TB Storage * LG BD/RW * Lian-Li PC-V2000B * Dell 24" 2407FPW & Asus 24" VS248H
    Backup Rig: Gigabyte EP45-UD3P * C2Q Q9400 @ 3.2Ghz * 4GB (2x 2GB) G-Skill PC2-8000 * Sapphire Radeon 4870 512MB * 320GB Storage * Samsung SH-S203N DVD+/-RW * Apex Full Tower Case * 2x Dell 19" LCD
    HTPC: Abit IP35PRO * C2D E6600 @ Stock * 2GB G-Skill PC6400 * Geforce 8600GT 256MB * 640GB Storage * Lite On 16x DVD-ROM * 55" Samsung 1080p 3D LED LCD via HDMI

    Media Server: DFI Lanparty UT NF4 Ultra-D * A64 3800+ X2 * 1GB PC3200 * Powercolor X800XL * 14TB Storage * Lite On 16x DVD-RW

    Heatware

  5. #5
    Member RIPSTER's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    England
    tyvm
    Pentium Dual Core 3.4
    2GB Corsair RAM
    Gigabyte-G41M -ES2L
    nVidia Geforce 8600GT
    Maxtor 320GB/80GB SATA HD
    TSSTcorp SH-S223C SATA DVDRW

  6. #6
    Top ranking SOLDIER officer sephiroth_749's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Park Hills, Missouri
    dont mean to thread jack but could you hook up one swtich to turn off 4 fans at once similar to that setup
    The Hindenburg
    Athlon 64 3800+
    A8N SLI Deluxe
    2x512 OCZ Gold PC3200
    WD 160gb
    eVGA 7900GT
    Sound Blaster 24 Bit
    Sunbeam 550W

    http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=52575

  7. #7
    Member
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Land of 10,000 Lakes
    Yep, just splice 3 more wires off the red line after the switch on the fan side, but make sure you have a switch that is rated for high enough current that you are puting on it.
    Main Rig: Asus P8Z68 Pro Gen3 * Core i7 2600K @ 4.4Ghz * 8GB (2x 4GB) Mushkin Blackline PC3-1600 * GeForce GTX 560TI 448 1280MB * 6TB Storage * LG BD/RW * Lian-Li PC-V2000B * Dell 24" 2407FPW & Asus 24" VS248H
    Backup Rig: Gigabyte EP45-UD3P * C2Q Q9400 @ 3.2Ghz * 4GB (2x 2GB) G-Skill PC2-8000 * Sapphire Radeon 4870 512MB * 320GB Storage * Samsung SH-S203N DVD+/-RW * Apex Full Tower Case * 2x Dell 19" LCD
    HTPC: Abit IP35PRO * C2D E6600 @ Stock * 2GB G-Skill PC6400 * Geforce 8600GT 256MB * 640GB Storage * Lite On 16x DVD-ROM * 55" Samsung 1080p 3D LED LCD via HDMI

    Media Server: DFI Lanparty UT NF4 Ultra-D * A64 3800+ X2 * 1GB PC3200 * Powercolor X800XL * 14TB Storage * Lite On 16x DVD-RW

    Heatware

  8. #8
    Top ranking SOLDIER officer sephiroth_749's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Park Hills, Missouri
    can you give me a diagram of how that is done and what kind of rating would the switch need
    The Hindenburg
    Athlon 64 3800+
    A8N SLI Deluxe
    2x512 OCZ Gold PC3200
    WD 160gb
    eVGA 7900GT
    Sound Blaster 24 Bit
    Sunbeam 550W

    http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=52575

  9. #9
    Member Knacko's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Not here
    Just like this:



    As for rating, add the amperage from each fan to give the rating needed on the switch.
    [Gigabyte DS3 MB]
    [
    Intel e6420 @ 3.52GHz]
    [
    2GB Mushkin XP2-8500]
    [
    eVGA 8800GTS 640MB @ 711/1037]
    [
    WD 36GB Raptor]
    [
    Seagate 7200.10 320GB x 2]
    [
    Corsair HX-520 PSU]
    [
    Mounted inside a bookcase
    ]

  10. #10
    Top ranking SOLDIER officer sephiroth_749's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Park Hills, Missouri
    k thanks and sorry about thread jacking
    The Hindenburg
    Athlon 64 3800+
    A8N SLI Deluxe
    2x512 OCZ Gold PC3200
    WD 160gb
    eVGA 7900GT
    Sound Blaster 24 Bit
    Sunbeam 550W

    http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=52575

  11. #11
    Member RIPSTER's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    England
    np
    Pentium Dual Core 3.4
    2GB Corsair RAM
    Gigabyte-G41M -ES2L
    nVidia Geforce 8600GT
    Maxtor 320GB/80GB SATA HD
    TSSTcorp SH-S223C SATA DVDRW

  12. #12
    Quote Originally Posted by Knacko
    Just like this:



    As for rating, add the amperage from each fan to give the rating needed on the switch.
    To follow good electrical guidelines you should put the switch in the Power wire (red), not the ground.

    And unless you are going to be running HUGE fans, just about any toggle switch will do.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •