Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Colorado, USA
    Posts
    277

    PC3200 Ram - Change Timings?

    My ram states that it can run at 2-3-3-6, but my motherboard automatically chooses worse settings. Is it safe to try running it at the spec the mfg. (corsair) states?

    Also, my motherboard will only let me set it as low as 2-5-3-6. Is there a way to get the second number lower?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Member Immortal_Hero's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    3,071
    If it is rated at 2-3-3-6 then it should run at those timings in most boards @ 200 MHz. That TwinX likes some voltage. To get the stock timings it will need 2.75 to 2.8 volts most likely. My mobo did not pick up the correct SPD on those modules either so just set them manually.
    ][mmortal ]-[ero
    Heatware

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Colorado, USA
    Posts
    277
    Thanks!

    Well, it's running great at 2.71V, 2-5-2-5, but my mobo still refuses to let me set the second number below 5, even when I use the adjust manually option. Any ideas? Any chance I need to raise the memory clock before it will let me change the second number?

  4. #4
    Member JLK03F150's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    2,117
    Can you post a screenshot of the memory tab in cpuz?

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Colorado, USA
    Posts
    277
    Sure.

    Oddly, it seems to show different settings than I thought I had set.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  6. #6
    Destroyer of Spammers, Trolls and Cretins
    Premium Member #12
    RollingThunder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    9,043
    Quote Originally Posted by lancingfury
    Sure.

    Oddly, it seems to show different settings than I thought I had set.
    What does Memtest86 say your timings are?
    Intel E8500 @ 3608 MHz...............Intel E7500 @ 3333 MHz Home Server
    DFI DK P45 T2RS Plus.................Same
    WD Velociraptor 150 & WD Raptor 74...Raptor 74 - Hitachi Deskstar 1TB
    ATI 5750.............................ATI 6200FX
    Dell Ultra Sharp U2413.............. Dell Ultra Sharp 2209WA
    2 x 2 GB GSkill PC8500 @ DDR2 960....2 x 1 GB GSkill PC8500
    Corsair HX520........................Corsair HX520
    Coolermaster NV 690..................Lian-Li PC-K7
    Vista 64.............................XP Pro
    Experience teaches only the teachable.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Colorado, USA
    Posts
    277
    I can't get Memtest to tell me. When I try to access certain things it says "Chipset not supported." (The motherboard is a ECS KN1 Extreme)

  8. #8
    Destroyer of Spammers, Trolls and Cretins
    Premium Member #12
    RollingThunder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    9,043
    Quote Originally Posted by lancingfury
    I can't get Memtest to tell me. When I try to access certain things it says "Chipset not supported." (The motherboard is a ECS KN1 Extreme)
    Are you running Memtest86? From a DOS boot disk or CD?
    Intel E8500 @ 3608 MHz...............Intel E7500 @ 3333 MHz Home Server
    DFI DK P45 T2RS Plus.................Same
    WD Velociraptor 150 & WD Raptor 74...Raptor 74 - Hitachi Deskstar 1TB
    ATI 5750.............................ATI 6200FX
    Dell Ultra Sharp U2413.............. Dell Ultra Sharp 2209WA
    2 x 2 GB GSkill PC8500 @ DDR2 960....2 x 1 GB GSkill PC8500
    Corsair HX520........................Corsair HX520
    Coolermaster NV 690..................Lian-Li PC-K7
    Vista 64.............................XP Pro
    Experience teaches only the teachable.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Colorado, USA
    Posts
    277
    Yes, it is memtest86. Downloaded, compiled in Linux, installed, added to grub boot menu, selected at bootup.

  10. #10
    Destroyer of Spammers, Trolls and Cretins
    Premium Member #12
    RollingThunder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    9,043
    Quote Originally Posted by lancingfury
    Yes, it is memtest86. Downloaded, compiled in Linux, installed, added to grub boot menu, selected at bootup.
    Ok, are you running the standard test and it won't run? I was under the impression the chipset didn't matter from a boot disk but looks like I'm wrong.
    Intel E8500 @ 3608 MHz...............Intel E7500 @ 3333 MHz Home Server
    DFI DK P45 T2RS Plus.................Same
    WD Velociraptor 150 & WD Raptor 74...Raptor 74 - Hitachi Deskstar 1TB
    ATI 5750.............................ATI 6200FX
    Dell Ultra Sharp U2413.............. Dell Ultra Sharp 2209WA
    2 x 2 GB GSkill PC8500 @ DDR2 960....2 x 1 GB GSkill PC8500
    Corsair HX520........................Corsair HX520
    Coolermaster NV 690..................Lian-Li PC-K7
    Vista 64.............................XP Pro
    Experience teaches only the teachable.

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Colorado, USA
    Posts
    277
    It runs, it just won't show me the timings.

  12. #12
    Destroyer of Spammers, Trolls and Cretins
    Premium Member #12
    RollingThunder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    9,043
    Quote Originally Posted by lancingfury
    It runs, it just won't show me the timings.
    I never figured it would do that. Learned something today! I thought for sure because of using a boot disk it would bypass any odd chipsets. Don't know what to tell you now...........

    However your machine is running ok but you can't change timings probably because of the odd chipset. It could be worse......right? I don't know of any alternative.
    Intel E8500 @ 3608 MHz...............Intel E7500 @ 3333 MHz Home Server
    DFI DK P45 T2RS Plus.................Same
    WD Velociraptor 150 & WD Raptor 74...Raptor 74 - Hitachi Deskstar 1TB
    ATI 5750.............................ATI 6200FX
    Dell Ultra Sharp U2413.............. Dell Ultra Sharp 2209WA
    2 x 2 GB GSkill PC8500 @ DDR2 960....2 x 1 GB GSkill PC8500
    Corsair HX520........................Corsair HX520
    Coolermaster NV 690..................Lian-Li PC-K7
    Vista 64.............................XP Pro
    Experience teaches only the teachable.

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Colorado, USA
    Posts
    277
    Well, the chipset isn't odd at all, it's very common. It's an NForce 4 Ultra.

  14. #14
    Destroyer of Spammers, Trolls and Cretins
    Premium Member #12
    RollingThunder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    9,043
    Quote Originally Posted by lancingfury
    Well, the chipset isn't odd at all, it's very common. It's an NForce 4 Ultra.
    Lance,

    I'd ask the DFI guys on the motherboard area. They're pretty sharp over there. Someone has to have your same chipset and used Memtest.
    Intel E8500 @ 3608 MHz...............Intel E7500 @ 3333 MHz Home Server
    DFI DK P45 T2RS Plus.................Same
    WD Velociraptor 150 & WD Raptor 74...Raptor 74 - Hitachi Deskstar 1TB
    ATI 5750.............................ATI 6200FX
    Dell Ultra Sharp U2413.............. Dell Ultra Sharp 2209WA
    2 x 2 GB GSkill PC8500 @ DDR2 960....2 x 1 GB GSkill PC8500
    Corsair HX520........................Corsair HX520
    Coolermaster NV 690..................Lian-Li PC-K7
    Vista 64.............................XP Pro
    Experience teaches only the teachable.

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Colorado, USA
    Posts
    277
    Ok, thanks. For now, is there any other advice, ignoring memtest86, that anyone can give about my ram situation? any chance that cpuz is wrong?

  16. #16
    Member DJCorpse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    West Fargo, ND
    Posts
    213
    You could try using a64 tweaker to change the incorrect timing manually.
    EVGA X58 SLI LE
    Intel Core i7 930 @ 4022 MHz
    Noctua NH-U12P SE2
    G.SKILL Ripjaws 3x2GB DDR3 1600
    XFX Radeon HD 5870 1GB
    Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB 3.0 GB/s SATA
    Corsair TX750W

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •