Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: 6600gt bfg mod

  1. #1
    Member wizard james's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    alberta canada calgary SE (come see me..)
    Posts
    1,562

    6600gt bfg mod

    Ok, so it was around 11:30 pm , and my videocard started makin noise, fan was clicking.

    Well, 2 hours later and a messy floor , heres the pictures http://www.openopinion.com/other/photos/videocard/ Its a old heatsink i had layin around, so i drilled some holes in it and uses some zip ties to hold it in, TBH i don't know how long this will last. I am gona go to the store tommorw to see if i can find some nut/bolt thing w/e they are called thin enough to hold the heatsink a bit better, then il lap it too.. hahha.. yep ..so bored..





    TEMPS: 45-47 idle , 5 mins of ati tool scaning for artifacts = 65 C.

    good? i cant remember the temps i had before..
    Depot Tech at Tech Squad in Calgary Alberta
    Thanks guys for all the donations, if you want to still help, fold for me "wizard_james"
    heatware

  2. #2
    Member nvidiaOCmaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Chulak
    Posts
    3,217
    NICE! Sexy mod.
    "Just because I don't call any more doesn't mean I'm keeping my urine in jars!"

  3. #3
    Senior Member funnyperson1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Northern VA
    Posts
    10,541
    Those seem like pretty decent temps, but I'm not sure what the 6600GT runs at stock. Those temps are definitely safe though.

    In any case, great job, I love to see the homegrown mods, always more satisfying than just slapping on a VGA silencer or something like that.

    "Strong with the fold this boy is, fold you must"-NASSoccer
    its a shame you cant ban people for being ignorant fanboys....
    My Heatware
    [Gigabyte MA790X-UDP4][PHII 940BE][Thermalright Ultra90][2x2GB OCZ Reaper HPC][Palit HD4850][Enhance 5150GH][Windows 7,Ubuntu 12.04]

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    150
    That is actually more sensible then a lof of coolers they sell . Nice job.

  5. #5
    Member nd4spdbh2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Camarillo, CA!
    Posts
    9,213
    thoes temps are good considering the dinky heatsink your using... when my 6600gt AGP was use in my main rig (no longer used for everyday use) and i had it ocd and overvolted to the yin yang... (vcore and vmem mod running at 626/1400) i was using a huge p4 hs... i still use it today but i use it for quiet purposes in my htpc.. check it




    #12 in the 4ghz core 2 duo club baby! - 52 inches of CRYSIS! - Black Belt Ubercloxx0r -- Heatware
    Main -- Lian Li V2000b -- i7 2700k -- MSI Z68A-GD80 -- 12gb 1600 -- GTX560Ti --Adata 128gb S510 & 2x500gb -- Seasonic S12 600w -- Dell 2209WA
    HTPC -- Silverstone GD05B -- E7200 @ 3.2ghz -- G41-M7 -- 4GB 800mhz -- g210 passive -- 320gb 2.5in WD -- Antec EA 430w -- 52inch Samsung LCD
    Server -- Antec NSK4480B -- E3300 @ 2.5ghz -- ECS G33T-M2 -- 3gb 667mhz -- Onboard Vid -- 500Gb + 1TB hatachi + 1tb WD -- Zalman 400w
    Netbook - Dell Mini 9 - Atom 1.6ghz - 8GB ssd - 2GB pc6400 - WIN 7 PRO!
    Need 4 Speed - BH

  6. #6
    Member reclaimer122's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    715
    LOL, is that black heatsink a Dell NB heatsink?
    DFI Infinity 975X
    e6600 Core 2 Duo @ 3.4gHz (378x9) [1.328v] ZALMAN CNPS9500 AT 2 Ball CPU Heatsink
    G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1000 (4GBPQ) Running DDR2 756 at 5-4-4-12 [2.1v]
    eVGA e-GeForce 9800GTX 512MB GDDR3 [800/1944/1220MHz]
    2x WD 160gb 7200RPM SATA in RAID-0 [105MB/s]
    Corsair HX Series 520HX PSU [12.08v +12v Rail]
    All inside a Sunbeam Transformer Black Steel ATX Full Tower Case

  7. #7
    Member nd4spdbh2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Camarillo, CA!
    Posts
    9,213
    Quote Originally Posted by reclaimer122
    LOL, is that black heatsink a Dell NB heatsink?

    it actually looks mrore like a heatsink that would be found on a older p3 or 400-533mhz celeron

    only reason i kno is i have one that looks almost exactly like that on the northbridge of my IC7-G and another on my FX5200
    #12 in the 4ghz core 2 duo club baby! - 52 inches of CRYSIS! - Black Belt Ubercloxx0r -- Heatware
    Main -- Lian Li V2000b -- i7 2700k -- MSI Z68A-GD80 -- 12gb 1600 -- GTX560Ti --Adata 128gb S510 & 2x500gb -- Seasonic S12 600w -- Dell 2209WA
    HTPC -- Silverstone GD05B -- E7200 @ 3.2ghz -- G41-M7 -- 4GB 800mhz -- g210 passive -- 320gb 2.5in WD -- Antec EA 430w -- 52inch Samsung LCD
    Server -- Antec NSK4480B -- E3300 @ 2.5ghz -- ECS G33T-M2 -- 3gb 667mhz -- Onboard Vid -- 500Gb + 1TB hatachi + 1tb WD -- Zalman 400w
    Netbook - Dell Mini 9 - Atom 1.6ghz - 8GB ssd - 2GB pc6400 - WIN 7 PRO!
    Need 4 Speed - BH

  8. #8
    Member wizard james's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    alberta canada calgary SE (come see me..)
    Posts
    1,562
    Its from a k6-2 cpu motherboard i had layn around.
    Ok, so i wake up and its at 49 , its alittle hot in my room too..but, notbad.

    Sofar its holding, but i still dont like the mounting hardware heh. Gona go and see if i can get a ride to home depot or crappy tire and see if they got what i am looking for.
    Maybe later today il find some time to update my sig..


    EDit: around 5 mins after i posted this, i got a blue screen with nvata.sys , TBH i dunno if thats from the videocard, or just becasue of my harddrives.. Gona reinstll nvidia drivers, might help , also added a fan for my harddrives..
    Last edited by wizard james; 02-17-07 at 01:39 PM.
    Depot Tech at Tech Squad in Calgary Alberta
    Thanks guys for all the donations, if you want to still help, fold for me "wizard_james"
    heatware

  9. #9
    Member nvidiaOCmaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Chulak
    Posts
    3,217
    Its the GFX. Same thing would happen to me when I overheated on my 6600GT's.
    "Just because I don't call any more doesn't mean I'm keeping my urine in jars!"

  10. #10
    Member wizard james's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    alberta canada calgary SE (come see me..)
    Posts
    1,562
    Hmm, never happend since then, so far its been becasue of the nvidia drivers (not the gfx drivers)

    Anyways, http://www.openopinion.com/other/pho...eocard/update/

    Found what i was looking for. and it looks alot better and alot safer then what it was before..with zip ties. o btw.. Lke my skittles , heh, someone should steal them from me, i get despression from sugger (well.. a good 60% of it, the rest is either nothing or happyness .. )

    Anyways, Temp idle right now is 43 .
    LOAD is.. after 3 mins 58 C

    So thats a nice little drop from zip ties, and just to think.. i am just using thermalright gloop.


    Now..to overclock it.. Any tips? i was thinking of ati tool since it supports nvidia cards..
    Depot Tech at Tech Squad in Calgary Alberta
    Thanks guys for all the donations, if you want to still help, fold for me "wizard_james"
    heatware

  11. #11
    Member nvidiaOCmaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Chulak
    Posts
    3,217
    Ive found that the 6600GT likes rivatuner.
    "Just because I don't call any more doesn't mean I'm keeping my urine in jars!"

  12. #12
    Member ps2cho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Socal, no hella here
    Posts
    6,181
    Yes use rivatuner. The one built into the control panel when activated isnt the greatest as you cannot see the exact memory speed when you are over 1000MHz.

    Rivatuner is awesome.

    My 6600GT @ 590/1160 full load is 58c and idles 35c
    Main: i5-2500k @ 4.2GHz:.:P8Z77-V LE Plus Mobo:.:8GB DDR3 RAM:.:AMD 7870 2GB GPU:.:Corsair H50:.:Corsair 520HX PSU
    Laptop: Dell XPS12 Ultrabook
    Media Server: A6-5400k // ASRock FM2A75 Pro4-M // 4GB DDR3 // 60" Vizio LED 1080p
    HDD Server: Celeron 1840 // ASRock Z97Extreme4 // 6TB HDD's // Windows Server 2012


  13. #13
    Member ziggo0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    La Porte, Indiana
    Posts
    4,729
    Volt mod it...do it. With a pencil, do the volt mod. I have my BFG 6600GT OC running 600/1.200 with a slight mod to the GPUvcore...I think I got it at 1.55/1.65 (2D/3D). I noticed memory overclocking scales with GPU.

  14. #14
    Member SuperDave1685's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    USMC.. OoRah!!
    Posts
    2,571
    lol niiiiice man... sexy mod.. I like it.. nice temps as well.. congrats on not killing your card on that towell!
    ლ(ಠ益ಠლ)

    *Main Rig-*i7 920 D0 @ 4.2Ghz (1.17v), ASUS Rampage II Extreme, 12 GB Patriot DDR3 1600, ATI HD5970 @ 775/1100, SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer, OCZ Revo X2 Drive SSD, 500GB, 1TB SATA, PCP&C Silencer 750W , D5 pump, Thermochill PA 120.3 w/ 3 Yate Loon Mediums, Swiftech Apogee XT, Lian-Li PC-G75, ASUS VW226H 25.5", Logitech Z-5300e THX 5.1 Speakers

    My Massive PC Cleaning Thread!

    Heatware |
    If the Army and the Navy Ever look on Heaven's scenes, They will find the streets are guarded By United States Marines. OoRah!

  15. #15
    Member wizard james's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    alberta canada calgary SE (come see me..)
    Posts
    1,562
    Quote Originally Posted by SuperDave1685
    lol niiiiice man... sexy mod.. I like it.. nice temps as well.. congrats on not killing your card on that towell!
    Well i tried overclocking.. didnt get far.. so i gave up.

    So yeh, I dunno what else to do.. kinda bored now.. guess i could play games.. what to play..
    Depot Tech at Tech Squad in Calgary Alberta
    Thanks guys for all the donations, if you want to still help, fold for me "wizard_james"
    heatware

  16. #16
    Member ps2cho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Socal, no hella here
    Posts
    6,181
    Quote Originally Posted by wizard james
    Well i tried overclocking.. didnt get far.. so i gave up.

    So yeh, I dunno what else to do.. kinda bored now.. guess i could play games.. what to play..
    Well what did you get to ?
    Main: i5-2500k @ 4.2GHz:.:P8Z77-V LE Plus Mobo:.:8GB DDR3 RAM:.:AMD 7870 2GB GPU:.:Corsair H50:.:Corsair 520HX PSU
    Laptop: Dell XPS12 Ultrabook
    Media Server: A6-5400k // ASRock FM2A75 Pro4-M // 4GB DDR3 // 60" Vizio LED 1080p
    HDD Server: Celeron 1840 // ASRock Z97Extreme4 // 6TB HDD's // Windows Server 2012


  17. #17
    Member wizard james's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    alberta canada calgary SE (come see me..)
    Posts
    1,562
    i went down to 535 / 1090 , just becasue i get artafacts on anything lower, i think itsjust the ram, so il try the core abit higher later today. (just woke up)
    Depot Tech at Tech Squad in Calgary Alberta
    Thanks guys for all the donations, if you want to still help, fold for me "wizard_james"
    heatware

  18. #18
    Member jordon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Watertown, Mn
    Posts
    567
    Quote Originally Posted by ps2cho
    Yes use rivatuner. The one built into the control panel when activated isnt the greatest as you cannot see the exact memory speed when you are over 1000MHz.

    Rivatuner is awesome.

    My 6600GT @ 590/1160 full load is 58c and idles 35c

    you cant see it your right but you can count it, use your right arrow key after you select the colum, tap to the right or left.. 1 tap is 1mhz.. 10 taps is 10 mhz and youll see it click up on the gui

    make for easy fine tuning... i kinda wish i woulda kept my 6600 gt oc.. i sold it to a friend and got a 7600 gs for 20 bucks less then i sold the 6600 for .. did i go wrong ??? ive been looking for 7600 gs mods and havent came up with dittly..
    L737B286 1.225VID Q6600@3.6ghz 1.400v bios
    gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R vdroop mod
    g.skill hk's @ 800 4-4-3-5 24 2.2v
    GTX 260 stock
    Folding for OCF "March Madness" Folding Contest

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •