Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1

    System Rebooting

    Ok, last night i manually set my timings to 4-4-4-12. This morning while playing WoW for ~2.5hrs my system rebooted. The CPU temp was 32c and the GPU was 51c. I got the CPU temp from BIOS (core temp says 28c). ANy ideas?

    Social Engineering; because there is no patch for human stupidity.

    "There are two American flags flying on the property I reside on. Anyone who tries to take them down will be rendered inoperative." -Lindy

    "No man ever steps in the same river twice, for it's not the same river and he's not the same man." -Heraclitus


    Heatware

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    OnDborder's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    HOT 'n Arizona
    Did you have this problem before you made the adjustment?
    The gpu was 51 while in gameplay?
    Do you get a bsod? If so, I'm sure you read this, http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.php?t=500430
    What kind of timings did you run before you set them to 444,12?
    Did you run some memtest on the 444,12 settings?
    You're capable of such beautiful dreams, and such horrible nightmares.


    Asrock z77xtr6/3770k..........MSI p67a-GD55/2600k
    CORSAIR Vengeance 16gb.......4gigZ Corsair
    Gigabyte 290s crossfire ...........HIS 280x crossfired
    X-Fi Elite Pro.........................H2O cooling
    600gb Raptor/256ssd3..... .......40 Kingston ssd
    Siverstone 1500wt'r.....................Corsair1000HX

    MyHeat

  3. #3
    No, this system is new and recently built.
    Yes it was 51 in gameplay.
    No BSOD.
    Before i set the timings it was on auto.
    No memtest done on 4-4-4-12.

    This is my first time manually setting timings.
    Last edited by phantasm; 02-17-07 at 12:08 PM.

    Social Engineering; because there is no patch for human stupidity.

    "There are two American flags flying on the property I reside on. Anyone who tries to take them down will be rendered inoperative." -Lindy

    "No man ever steps in the same river twice, for it's not the same river and he's not the same man." -Heraclitus


    Heatware

  4. #4
    Quote Originally Posted by phantasm
    No, this system is new and recently built.
    Yes it was 51 in gameplay.
    No BSOD.
    Before i set the timings it was on auto.
    No memtest done on 4-4-4-12.

    This is my first time manually setting timings.
    Don't bother with memtest. If it was stable enough to run for that long it will probably take memtest forever to detect an error. I'd run orthos on large ffts overnight [if needed] to check your memory stability. If that runs without problem for 16 hours or so then I'd try blend and see what that does.

    EDIT: scratch the reuest for details... I totaly missed your sig somehow.

    Could be you need a touch more voltage for the ram to run at those timmings, but test with orthos before you try that.
    Currently rocking a BlackBook

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    OnDborder's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    HOT 'n Arizona
    Was this at stock speed?
    What is your vcore/vdimm?
    How's your case airflow?
    Are those gskills gbhz's? http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231065 They should be good at 2.1.

    The gpu at 51c, loaded? That's pretty cool.
    Mine runs a little warmer than that with extra cooling.
    The one on the left is without. The one on the right is with the extra cooling.
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    You're capable of such beautiful dreams, and such horrible nightmares.


    Asrock z77xtr6/3770k..........MSI p67a-GD55/2600k
    CORSAIR Vengeance 16gb.......4gigZ Corsair
    Gigabyte 290s crossfire ...........HIS 280x crossfired
    X-Fi Elite Pro.........................H2O cooling
    600gb Raptor/256ssd3..... .......40 Kingston ssd
    Siverstone 1500wt'r.....................Corsair1000HX

    MyHeat

  6. #6
    Goshawk's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Sprinkles!
    When you made the timing change, did you run Orthos or similar stress test to make sure it was stable?


    ~ Gos
    ______________________________
    |
    XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
    |Main Rig:
    |XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX|CPU: i7-3820 Sandybridge-E
    |XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX|Cooler: Zalman CNP10X Performa
    |XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX|Mobo: Intel DX79TO
    |XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX|RAM: 16gb Kingston HyperX 1600
    |XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX|VID: Asus GTX 580
    |XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX|PSU: Antec High Current Gamer 620
    |XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX|CASE: DangerDen Q20
    PDXlan-er - "Sprinkles" on Steam (PM me if you want to add me )
    Battletag: Sprinkles#1137

  7. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by OnDborder
    Was this at stock speed?
    What is your vcore/vdimm?
    How's your case airflow?
    Are those gskills gbhz's? http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231065 They should be good at 2.1.

    The gpu at 51c, loaded? That's pretty cool.
    Mine runs a little warmer than that with extra cooling.
    The one on the left is without. The one on the right is with the extra cooling.
    Yes this was at stock speed, case airflow is simple, Cool intake in the front and 2 exhaust's (one above and behind CPU). Right now iam running it with the side open and stock cooling (waiting to hook up the watter cooling). ALl fans are 120mm. I'll reboot and check the vcore/vdimm.

    Quote Originally Posted by Goshawk
    When you made the timing change, did you run Orthos or similar stress test to make sure it was stable?

    ~ Gos
    No I didn't. I figured it would be safe considering the memory is rated for it.

    edit:

    VCORE is 1.280. I couldn't find VDIMM anywhere in BIOS. There is a DRAM Frequency which is at Auto, should i set it to DDR2 800?
    Last edited by phantasm; 02-17-07 at 07:12 PM.

    Social Engineering; because there is no patch for human stupidity.

    "There are two American flags flying on the property I reside on. Anyone who tries to take them down will be rendered inoperative." -Lindy

    "No man ever steps in the same river twice, for it's not the same river and he's not the same man." -Heraclitus


    Heatware

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    OnDborder's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    HOT 'n Arizona
    Yep, set it to 800. That means your running 1:1 if you have your, if your bios is like mine, cpu freq set at 400.
    It wouldn't hurt to bump that vcore up a bit. Shoot, my 6400 wouldn't do 400 at stock. I had to up the voltage.
    You're capable of such beautiful dreams, and such horrible nightmares.


    Asrock z77xtr6/3770k..........MSI p67a-GD55/2600k
    CORSAIR Vengeance 16gb.......4gigZ Corsair
    Gigabyte 290s crossfire ...........HIS 280x crossfired
    X-Fi Elite Pro.........................H2O cooling
    600gb Raptor/256ssd3..... .......40 Kingston ssd
    Siverstone 1500wt'r.....................Corsair1000HX

    MyHeat

  9. #9
    Ok I set the DRAM Freqeuncy to DDR2 800 and according to CPUZ it still says im running 2:3? I also disabled Speedstep.

    Also in CPUZ timings for Memory are listed at 4-4-4-10-12 for 266mhz and then 5-5-5-15-18 for 400mhz?

    Social Engineering; because there is no patch for human stupidity.

    "There are two American flags flying on the property I reside on. Anyone who tries to take them down will be rendered inoperative." -Lindy

    "No man ever steps in the same river twice, for it's not the same river and he's not the same man." -Heraclitus


    Heatware

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    OnDborder's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    HOT 'n Arizona
    Ok, in the bios, what are your settings in the "configure cpu settings"? 4th ss down http://www.vr-zone.com/?i=4449&s=5..
    The modify ratio should be "enabled" to lock the cpu multiplier. The c13, Max cpuid, should be disabled also.. Some have the vanderpool enabled but I don't.
    In the AI section, http://www.vr-zone.com/?i=4449&s=6, what are your settings? PCI synch should be set to 33.3, spread spectrum>disabled, static read>disabled, and the voltages, you just have to test to see where your system likes it. On the ram timings, the first 4 are the settings that I mess with. So 444,12 or 15 is what I go with.
    Seeing that I don't have that board, I'm basically going off on what I'm familiar with which is the p5b bios.
    Hope this helps, not hinder...
    Last edited by OnDborder; 02-18-07 at 11:37 AM.
    You're capable of such beautiful dreams, and such horrible nightmares.


    Asrock z77xtr6/3770k..........MSI p67a-GD55/2600k
    CORSAIR Vengeance 16gb.......4gigZ Corsair
    Gigabyte 290s crossfire ...........HIS 280x crossfired
    X-Fi Elite Pro.........................H2O cooling
    600gb Raptor/256ssd3..... .......40 Kingston ssd
    Siverstone 1500wt'r.....................Corsair1000HX

    MyHeat

  11. #11
    Thanks for the help. I went into BIOS and made the changes you suggested, CPUZ still reports an FSB/DRAM ratio of 2:3. I also specified the voltage at 2.0v for the memory. I'll run some Orthos for a bit and see if it pops.
    Last edited by phantasm; 02-18-07 at 01:36 PM.

    Social Engineering; because there is no patch for human stupidity.

    "There are two American flags flying on the property I reside on. Anyone who tries to take them down will be rendered inoperative." -Lindy

    "No man ever steps in the same river twice, for it's not the same river and he's not the same man." -Heraclitus


    Heatware

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    OnDborder's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    HOT 'n Arizona
    What version of cpu-z?
    You're capable of such beautiful dreams, and such horrible nightmares.


    Asrock z77xtr6/3770k..........MSI p67a-GD55/2600k
    CORSAIR Vengeance 16gb.......4gigZ Corsair
    Gigabyte 290s crossfire ...........HIS 280x crossfired
    X-Fi Elite Pro.........................H2O cooling
    600gb Raptor/256ssd3..... .......40 Kingston ssd
    Siverstone 1500wt'r.....................Corsair1000HX

    MyHeat

  13. #13
    1.39

    Social Engineering; because there is no patch for human stupidity.

    "There are two American flags flying on the property I reside on. Anyone who tries to take them down will be rendered inoperative." -Lindy

    "No man ever steps in the same river twice, for it's not the same river and he's not the same man." -Heraclitus


    Heatware

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •