Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    25

    P5B Deluxe and E6600 not playing nice...

    I recently purchased this mobo and cpu and some GSkill HZ, but Im hitting a wall at 385...When I run orthos this fails after 4minutes when Im running at 400mhz...When I run the CPU test in orthos at 400mhz nothing happens...this can run for more than an hour. As soon as I run the blend tests this fails after 1 minute. Does this mean my RAM is holding me back?

    I have my:

    Vcore at 1.5V
    Vmem at 2.25V
    All other V's at first level in their respective options (Pink color)
    vICH at auto

    PCI-e Freq at auto

    Timings 4-4-4-12-42

    What could be going on here? RAM crapping out? CPU maxxed out?

    Any insights?

    TIA!

  2. #2
    Member Rattle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Home... again
    Posts
    8,356
    if you run 400mhz and set 1:1 the those sticks only need 2.0 to run 400 @ 4-4-4-8 thats what i ran mine at. pci-e freq set to 100 always and pci 33.33 always. try NB volts to 1.55 and fsb term to 1.3-1.4
    Z87-GD65 | 4770k | H100 | 16gb Sammy 30nm 1866 | GTX780 SC | Xonar Essence Stx | BIC DV62si | ATH AD700 | 550d | AX850 | VG24QE | 840pro 256gb | 5tb | CherryReds | m60 | Func1030 |

    HEAT

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    25
    Thanks a lot Rattle, I remember you helped me with the components and I appreciate that...

    I got the system stable to a point at x385, but when I go any higher, **** hits the fan. The funny thing is that at 400Mhz Orthos does not complain when running only the CPU test, but when I start testing the blend tests, this thing fails right after 1 minute...looks like somewhere in there the NB is missing some juice, I guess the blend tests is stressing the CPU/Memory link.

    I will work on the RAM thing, I'll try 2V-2.10V and from 12-8, but I doubt this will do the trick. I'll go ahead and max out the V's at the northy and after that I'll go ahead and change the CPU I would like 400x9 or I might do 450*8 or 7 and see what happens.

    What do you think?

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    98
    Quote Originally Posted by xcamarox
    I will work on the RAM thing, I'll try 2V-2.10V and from 12-8, but I doubt this will do the trick. I'll go ahead and max out the V's at the northy and after that I'll go ahead and change the CPU I would like 400x9 or I might do 450*8 or 7 and see what happens.

    What do you think?
    Careful when you drop the multiplier and increase FSB. It REALLY OCs the Northbridge. It works like this:

    NBCC = FSB*(defualt multi/set multi). So if you run 400*9 the NB is running at 400. (400*(9/9). If you try 450*8 the NB will be OC'd to 506 (450*(9/8) and 450*7 would work out to 578.5.

    With my E6400 I hit a wall at 459*7 which brings the NBCC to 524.5. (459*(8/7). Can't get it past there. I get one long beep and three short which indicates a memory failure but I memtested my HZ at 1000 with 4-4-4-10 and 1100 with 5-5-5-15, 10 full passes at each speed.

    But hey, if you try it and suceed I'd like to hear. Maybe my P5B Deluxe is just a dud?

    I've seen some posts indicating the P5B Deluxe can run a E6400 at 500*7, but mine won't go past 459*7. Even if I up all the voltages to max. It just won't post.
    Lian-Li PC60
    ASUS P5B DELUXE
    C2D E6400 | 3.2 GHz @ 1.3625v | 37C / 48C
    Thermalright SI-128 | YS-Tech 120mmx38mm @ 125 cfm
    G.SKILL 2x1GB DR2 800 HZ 4:5 @ DDR1000| 4-4-4-6 @ 2.3v
    HIS IceQ3 X1900XT | 702/828 @ 1.475v
    WD 75 GB Raptor x 2
    OCZ GameXStream 700W

  5. #5
    Member Rattle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Home... again
    Posts
    8,356
    some cpus just wont do the freq without high volts, what i would and its what I always do is find the systems max on stock volts. then work from there. Its easier for me that way, then i can add a little voltage, tweak timings and so forth.
    Z87-GD65 | 4770k | H100 | 16gb Sammy 30nm 1866 | GTX780 SC | Xonar Essence Stx | BIC DV62si | ATH AD700 | 550d | AX850 | VG24QE | 840pro 256gb | 5tb | CherryReds | m60 | Func1030 |

    HEAT

  6. #6
    Member DeepSky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Jax, FL
    Posts
    335
    I dunno if this helps but I can't run Orthos blend stress test for longer than 5 seconds w/o an error with the OC in my sig and vcore 1.265. It fails at the first iteration everytime.

    But I still leave it OC'ed there regardless, I can play BF2/PREY/etc for hours and hours and hours and everything runs flawlessly.

  7. #7
    Member Rattle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Home... again
    Posts
    8,356
    I always run orthos blend and never any different, running small is cheating lol
    Z87-GD65 | 4770k | H100 | 16gb Sammy 30nm 1866 | GTX780 SC | Xonar Essence Stx | BIC DV62si | ATH AD700 | 550d | AX850 | VG24QE | 840pro 256gb | 5tb | CherryReds | m60 | Func1030 |

    HEAT

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    25
    OH well, I guess I got a mediocre chip, I'll mess around with it a little more and see what I come up with. At 400Mhz, I can play games for 1 hour even though thats pretty much all I can play anyhow.

    Thanks a lot guys and I wont give up yet, even if it takes me to cheat and play at 400Mhz and pray it does not quit while Im trying to pass NFS: carbon's challenge series...If it quits after hours of trying ti beat somehitng and I almost get it to pass, and then it quits seconds before I pass the level...boy then I'll be ****ED, otherwise lets the cheating begin!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •