• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

How to view a directory in a web page

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

palee72

Ok.. I'm just playing with this for something to do. I'm by no means a web programmer and my abilities are pretty much limited to web page design with MS Word...

I've got my web page set up with IIS and I can reach it from the web, no issues there. What I am trying to do is this..

I want a link from my Index.htm page (home page) which is on my C: drive to point to a drive on my server (E: ) which holds photos. I don't want to create a web page listing each picture, I have thousands. So what I want to do is simply show the directory listing of my E: drive with a link. Every time I try, I get either page not found errors, or it sits there and does nothing. I know I'm missing something simple. I don't want to have to move the entire directory to the wwwroot folder on the C: drive.

I have tried "sharing this folder to the web" and that didn't work either.

This is on a 2k3 server. Any suggestions are appreciated.

Thanks

Usually the path of the file you want to show via webserver needs to be below the webserver document root path. This is for security reasons so no one can e.g. read out your password file, love letters, browser cache, etc. on your disk.

Get a gallrey that automatically indexes your photo directories.

Hint: it's easier to go Apache, PHP and MySQL instead of IIS: the software for it like the gallery is cheaper (free).

You will need to use a scripting language and JavaScript is the most widely accepted by most browsers. This will require programming so you may need to read up on JavaScript using google searches for exactly what you need. More often then not someone out there needed to do the exact same thing you want to do and has posted thier methods.