Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: Amd

  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    RI

    Amd

    I replaced my case with an aluminum case. I also used a shim and artic silver paste. I have a thermo engine mini orb. the temp I was getting before the switch of the case was about 55oC. Now in my new case with two added deltas, I'm getting temp of 96oC. The Orb is getting hotter than it has ever got soooo... It seems to be seated properly... but maybe not...plz get back to me
    Chaoflux

  2. #2
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    RI

    AMD

    by the way it's a 1.4 ghz and I've used the cpu to overclock before. why is it soo hot....

  3. #3
    Member JetMech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Folding 24/7 in Newport News, Va. Since Sept. 2001
    Shut down immediately. your max temp for 1.4 is 95c. If you have a shim on that thing take it off NOW.
    Fold Smart
    E6600@2.4x2
    Proud member of Folding@Home Team #32--Folding 24/7
    Avatar by : IMOG
    "Greater love hath no man than to give up his puter(s) for science."

  4. #4
    Senior Aircraftsman IRL RedDeathDrinker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Scotland - And don't you forget it!
    STOP!

    How much AS did you put on?

    Take off the orb and see if it had a good contact to the CPU die.....

    There should be no more than a very thin skin of AS on the die. As suggested, take off any shim you may have had on it.
    We are stuck with technology when what we really want is just stuff that works.
    How do you recognise something that is still technology?
    A good clue is if it comes with a manual...

  5. #5
    Big Daddy Bear Senior TranceBear's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Shims are evil!!
    AMD 9950BE Phenom 3.5ghz 1.47v 250x14 CPU For Sale
    Coolermaster V-8 41c Idle-51c Load
    Asus M3A79-T Deluxe 790FX/SB750
    G-Skill 2x2gb DDR2-800 5-5-5-15-24
    2x74gb Raptors-2x750gb WD Raid-0
    Antec 1200 Case/ Antec 1000 Watt P/S
    What's Fragging? I Don't Play Games
    It's About Bragging Right's, Right?
    My Heatware 100% since 2002

  6. #6
    King of Cats Senior rugby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    1) remove HSF and shim
    2) Step on both
    3) go get real HSF and no shim

    G4 MDD DP867@DP1ghz

    Real men overclock macs with a soldering gun.

  7. #7
    Member
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Xtremesystems
    Originally posted by rugby
    1) remove HSF and shim
    2) Step on both
    3) go get real HSF and no shim

    LOL! Crunch-Crunch-Crunch!

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Long Beach Ca.
    Originally posted by TranceBear
    Shims are evil!!
    Yup Yup remove the sucka now beofore you cook that nice cpu

  9. #9
    Inactive Moderator
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Originally posted by TranceBear
    Shims are evil!!
    I agree. Ditch it.
    Used to be awesome
    Heatware

  10. #10
    Member Gandalf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Near Niagara Falls, CANADA
    What a shim?

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Long Beach Ca.
    Its a piece of copper or metal between the cpu and HSF

  12. #12
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    RI

    thanks

    thanks for the quick replies...but one thing I don't understand...
    Why is the orb getting really hot. If I used too much artic silver 2 wouldn't the orb get cooler?...I don't know just a thought...

    screw the shim through right?

  13. #13
    Senior Punk Kendan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Dark side of hell
    What chip are you using?


    edit: is this the mini orb you are using? http://www.thermaltake.com/du0462-8.htm
    Last edited by Kendan; 12-07-01 at 04:35 PM.
    Hello:sn:

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Long Beach Ca.
    Orbs well generally suck. Although I use a Dragon Orb III and its ok. Get a better one

  15. #15
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    RI

    AMD 1.4 (screwed)

    It was an AMD 1.4....I smoked it I think....
    took off the shim and replaced the ac 2 grease...now I get the dreaded black screen..
    If anyone else has a 8k7a+....All I get is a blinking FF on the output display of the motherboard. It gets faster...the blinking..
    I just hope it's not my mobo..plz!!!!!

  16. #16
    Registered
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    RI
    Originally posted by kendan
    What chip are you using?


    edit: is this the mini orb you are using? http://www.thermaltake.com/du0462-8.htm
    yeah thats the one..except I was getting 6,000 to 6,500 rpms on both fans...but besides the point..1.4Ghz

  17. #17
    Senior Shaman Maximus Nickus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Milton Keynes, U.K.
    My AMD hit 95C once and that was after 5mins when da fan failed, the other time it was off for half an hour!!!!!

    Dunno what it hit but it smoked the board, luckily its was a s*** board.

    Wif my Epox well, look @ the sig!
    Lead Senior - Cooling
    Abit AT7 Max2 | 2100+ @ 3200+
    Dual Loop WaterCooling | 0.1 C/W CPU Block
    In order to succeed, you must try. | Avatar by Plague.

    Be calm, relax and the answer will come to you

    Folding at Home
    My Heatware

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •