Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 22
  1. #1
    Member TDubbs05's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Flagstaff, AZ

    Brisbane 4000+ posting bad temps (45 idle 65 load)

    Alright well my friends rig is up and running however i'm finding some weird probs temp wise. It's got a brisbane 4000+ on an ASUS M2N-SLI Deluxe and it's posting temps of 45 C idling and 65 C Load at 1.2 v. It's also giving chipset temps ranging between 4 and 10 C at idle and 58 C Load. Now i know these temps are bs but what might be causing it?

    Also, whenever i set the cpu voltage in the bios, i doesn't seem to go through in windows. I've been using Smart Guardian and cpuz to check the voltages, temps, etc and nothing seems to work. I updated the bios today w/ no noticeable changes. Is this just a MB issue or what?
    Tim
    __________________________________________

    i7 2600K | ASRock P67 Extreme6 | Crucial C300 128GB | HIS 4870 | Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme | Areca 1210 RAID 5 | Lian-Li V1020B

  2. #2
    Member imposter's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Bronx,newyork
    Core temp i think has similar problems, should be fixed in new release not sure. ill get back to you on this. But for now use speedfan. and use the CPU temp. it might not be 100 accurate but is ok for the time being. there is also a possibility of a bad thermal sensor.
    HeatWare <--Coretemp Slave tester!!!!-->
    Have one on the house.
    "Its prefectly good minus all the bad stuff"
    -Ben333

  3. #3
    I've seen the same thing. I just synced up the numbers with the BIOS setup environment sensors.
    Main Rigs
    Developement -Phen2 1090T on Asus 870
    Fun -Callisto 555BE, Asus 990FX Sabortooth,ATI HD3870
    CDs, Labels, Printing etc- 5000BBE, GA790FX, Wintec 800 4G.HD2600XT
    Rendering Server- 4x Barcelona 8347s. Tyan S4980 Quad, 16G (2G Kingston per socket).
    Folding, Testing- Vista, Regor 265 X2 on Asus 880,
    dead- Phen2-940
    AM2, DFI790FX-M2R,Corsair-PC6400 CL4
    Theme Park Builder 3D The Game- Build-em and Ride-em.

  4. #4
    Member TDubbs05's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Flagstaff, AZ
    that's the weird thing...the bios is giving me the same temps
    Tim
    __________________________________________

    i7 2600K | ASRock P67 Extreme6 | Crucial C300 128GB | HIS 4870 | Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme | Areca 1210 RAID 5 | Lian-Li V1020B

  5. #5
    Something wrong with the thermal connection, warped IHS or bracket possible.

    I'm thinking of a 4400Bris, hope this problem is a simple correction not like the Windsors.
    Main Rigs
    Developement -Phen2 1090T on Asus 870
    Fun -Callisto 555BE, Asus 990FX Sabortooth,ATI HD3870
    CDs, Labels, Printing etc- 5000BBE, GA790FX, Wintec 800 4G.HD2600XT
    Rendering Server- 4x Barcelona 8347s. Tyan S4980 Quad, 16G (2G Kingston per socket).
    Folding, Testing- Vista, Regor 265 X2 on Asus 880,
    dead- Phen2-940
    AM2, DFI790FX-M2R,Corsair-PC6400 CL4
    Theme Park Builder 3D The Game- Build-em and Ride-em.

  6. #6
    Member imposter's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Bronx,newyork
    Yea they will sort out the errors soon.
    Quote Originally Posted by The Coolest
    Yes, you're not the only one who is reporting a very low temperature.
    I have no idea why this happens as the way that the DTS is read in the Brisbane is the same as in the older CPUs. There is not offset field either.
    I will try to contact AMD and will see what they have to say about it.
    thats in related to coretemp i am sure other programs have the same problem.

    http://www.alcpu.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=219 <-- related link.
    HeatWare <--Coretemp Slave tester!!!!-->
    Have one on the house.
    "Its prefectly good minus all the bad stuff"
    -Ben333

  7. #7
    Member ps2cho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Socal, no hella here
    Get him to ensure that the HSF clips are fully down on all sides.
    Then check TIM and reseat.
    Main: i5-2500k @ 4.2GHz:.:P8Z77-V LE Plus Mobo:.:8GB DDR3 RAM:.:AMD 7870 2GB GPU:.:Corsair H50:.:Corsair 520HX PSU
    Laptop: Dell XPS12 Ultrabook
    Media Server: A6-5400k // ASRock FM2A75 Pro4-M // 4GB DDR3 // 60" Vizio LED 1080p
    HDD Server: Celeron 1840 // ASRock Z97Extreme4 // 6TB HDD's // Windows Server 2012


  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    I have the DFI LP 590 (I assume that's what you've shortend in your sig) and it does the exact same on brisbane cores.

    BIOS and speedfan both report inaccurte HIGH readings. Core temp displays too Lower readings.

    Both my windsor CPU's in the same board report much more normal temps.

    bottom line it's a reporting prob. I'm gussing later bios revisions, and core temp revisions may fix it

  9. #9
    Member Vengance_01's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Corona, CA
    Heatware Profile
    Yea I have the same issue with my X2 3600. Only way to find out would to pop the top off and use a probe.
    Workstation and Mobile Workstation

    Dell XPS 1330:
    Core 2 T7500, 3GB Ram, 320GB HD, 13.3 LED, 8400GS, 20inch Dell 2007WFP When at Home.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Florida
    The latest version of CoreTemp seems to report my temps more accurately, where BIOS shows my temps at like 65C at idle, CoreTemp reports 21/27C idle and 40/45C at load with about ~1.35 volts with a stock cooler.
    MSI 890GXM-G65
    LAN Gear MOM
    Phenom II 1055T 3.8 Ghz 1.4V Batch 1015DPAW
    Corsair H50 w/120x38
    Asus 5850CU 1000/1125
    4x2048 OCZ DDR3 1600 Obsidian
    Western Digital WD1002FAEX
    GSkill Titan 128 gig SSD
    Silverstone SST 75F-P
    3DMark06 21837

  11. #11
    Member TDubbs05's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Flagstaff, AZ
    huh well weird. btw this isn't my computer so my sig isn't for the comp i'm talking about. well i'm pretty sure that the hs is down and working properly. even then how could the temps be that bad? i mean this is stock volts w/o an oc. I'll check out coretemp cause sounds like massiveoverkill might be having some success with this issue. thanks for all the help so far.
    Tim
    __________________________________________

    i7 2600K | ASRock P67 Extreme6 | Crucial C300 128GB | HIS 4870 | Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme | Areca 1210 RAID 5 | Lian-Li V1020B

  12. #12
    Member imposter's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Bronx,newyork
    New core temp just released, fully supports Brisbane. http://www.alcpu.com/CoreTemp/ enjoy =).
    HeatWare <--Coretemp Slave tester!!!!-->
    Have one on the house.
    "Its prefectly good minus all the bad stuff"
    -Ben333

  13. #13
    Member Vengance_01's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Corona, CA
    Heatware Profile
    I have tried Core temp and I still think its low. But I will watch my temps.
    Workstation and Mobile Workstation

    Dell XPS 1330:
    Core 2 T7500, 3GB Ram, 320GB HD, 13.3 LED, 8400GS, 20inch Dell 2007WFP When at Home.

  14. #14
    Member imposter's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Bronx,newyork
    Quote Originally Posted by Vengance_01
    I have tried Core temp and I still think its low. But I will watch my temps.
    its new core temp version alot of improvements, that is as accurate as the DTS reports give, anything else is bad calibration.
    HeatWare <--Coretemp Slave tester!!!!-->
    Have one on the house.
    "Its prefectly good minus all the bad stuff"
    -Ben333

  15. #15
    Senior Member funnyperson1's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Northern VA
    Yea CoreTemp still seems low 22/24C at 2.8ghz stock vcore. Its around 22C in my room right now.

    "Strong with the fold this boy is, fold you must"-NASSoccer
    its a shame you cant ban people for being ignorant fanboys....
    My Heatware
    [Gigabyte MA790X-UDP4][PHII 940BE][Thermalright Ultra90][2x2GB OCZ Reaper HPC][Palit HD4850][Enhance 5150GH][Windows 7,Ubuntu 12.04]

  16. #16
    Member Vengance_01's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Corona, CA
    Heatware Profile
    guys, my Ultra BX6 has a temp probe. What I have done it attached it to the side of my IHS to give me some idea whats going on. Its reporting 45C using DVD Shrink. 2500MHZ 1.3-1.325 volts. Core temp reads 35,39 for each core. So I am guessing add 10C to the probe mabey? so 55C max atm.
    Workstation and Mobile Workstation

    Dell XPS 1330:
    Core 2 T7500, 3GB Ram, 320GB HD, 13.3 LED, 8400GS, 20inch Dell 2007WFP When at Home.

  17. #17
    Member imposter's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Bronx,newyork
    Well keep in mind if the heat was at the Tjunction your heatsink wouldn't be doing a great job in removing the heat. if you heatsink is 10 degrees higher thats ok. that means the heatsink is doing its job in removing the heat. Those temps look fine.

    funnyperson1 are you using core temp .95?
    HeatWare <--Coretemp Slave tester!!!!-->
    Have one on the house.
    "Its prefectly good minus all the bad stuff"
    -Ben333

  18. #18
    Member TDubbs05's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Flagstaff, AZ
    thanks for that coretemp ref. everything's fine...coretemps what you need for all the actual info. it's posting 19C idle now...i'll let you guys know how it does when it's oc'd. thx again all
    Tim
    __________________________________________

    i7 2600K | ASRock P67 Extreme6 | Crucial C300 128GB | HIS 4870 | Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme | Areca 1210 RAID 5 | Lian-Li V1020B

  19. #19
    Member imposter's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Bronx,newyork
    Keep in mind its 65nm right? its suppose to run cool =P.

    Np

    imp
    HeatWare <--Coretemp Slave tester!!!!-->
    Have one on the house.
    "Its prefectly good minus all the bad stuff"
    -Ben333

  20. #20
    Senior Member funnyperson1's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Northern VA
    They are cool running chips, but I can guarantee you that it is not running at 19C. Tdubbs, unless your thermostat is set below 66F right now, it is physically IMPOSSIBLE for your chip to be running at 19C. With air cooling, a processor can only run as cool as the ambient air.

    I am running CT .95, and I don't think that TheCoolest was able to find out why Brisbanes were reporting such low temps for this release. I remember someone else posted a conversation with him where he said he wasn't sure why it was happening and that he had emailed AMD about it.

    "Strong with the fold this boy is, fold you must"-NASSoccer
    its a shame you cant ban people for being ignorant fanboys....
    My Heatware
    [Gigabyte MA790X-UDP4][PHII 940BE][Thermalright Ultra90][2x2GB OCZ Reaper HPC][Palit HD4850][Enhance 5150GH][Windows 7,Ubuntu 12.04]

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •