Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Kyiv

    Internet connection fails

    I've got this problem recently (a couple of weeks ago): internet connection suddenly disappears until I turn off and on ADSL modem again. The modem is connected to switch and then the cable goes to PCs, located in the other rooms.
    I scanned the PCs for viruses, found and removed some, but still the connection fails suddenly.
    Please help!

  2. #2
    Member Douken's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Folding Profile
    What Switch you have?
    Main Rig RIP
    BioStar TF7025-M2 AM2 X2 4000+ @ 2.6GHz| 2x1GB Patriot DDR2 800 @750MHz| 8800GT @ 666-980 | X-Fi Xtreme Music| 596GB | PC Power & Cooling Silencer 470W

    Main Rig
    MSI 880GM-E41| AM3 Phenom II 640| 2x2GB G Skill Rip Jaws DDR3 1333 | Radeon HD 5670 | 596GB | Rosewill 500W


    Imran Tam from EVE Online said once, "if your sausage looked anything like that, you should have checked the expiration date."

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Kyiv
    I've got DLink DI704P Ethernet Broadband Router and DSL-500T modem, but the local network works fine, I can ping any PC and reply is constatly stable.
    Last edited by Povar81; 03-26-07 at 09:05 AM.

  4. #4
    Member Douken's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Folding Profile
    I will say is a router problem as I have a similar problem with my Belkin(read to see what happens when u have a bad router). Also it is recommended that you read some reviews for that router. Also check this and this for info. on good cheap routers.
    Main Rig RIP
    BioStar TF7025-M2 AM2 X2 4000+ @ 2.6GHz| 2x1GB Patriot DDR2 800 @750MHz| 8800GT @ 666-980 | X-Fi Xtreme Music| 596GB | PC Power & Cooling Silencer 470W

    Main Rig
    MSI 880GM-E41| AM3 Phenom II 640| 2x2GB G Skill Rip Jaws DDR3 1333 | Radeon HD 5670 | 596GB | Rosewill 500W


    Imran Tam from EVE Online said once, "if your sausage looked anything like that, you should have checked the expiration date."

  5. #5
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Kyiv
    So you think it's the switch, not the modem? Then I could try another brand-new Canyon CN-D05P Ethernet Switch right now.

  6. #6
    Just Another Retired Moderator Jon's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Lawrenceville, GA
    If you're providing the Internet via router to several PCs, then replacing the router with a switch will not solve your problem unless you have multiple IPs assigned by your ISP.

    You will need to try another router if using NAT.

    Are you doing any heavy transfers of files over the Internet, such as P2P, torrents, MP3 downloads, etc?

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Kyiv
    I've read the info on Belkin - it sounds much the same, and the opinions about the DLink router: it may be due to overheating, my mini-switch didn't work, so I'll have to find another one to try...

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Kyiv
    Quote Originally Posted by Jon
    If you're providing the Internet via router to several PCs, then replacing the router with a switch will not solve your problem unless you have multiple IPs assigned by your ISP.
    You will need to try another router if using NAT.
    Are you doing any heavy transfers of files over the Internet, such as P2P, torrents, MP3 downloads, etc?
    No, there are no really HEAVY trasfers, though sometimes people dowload music\videos - not too much or too often, I often download software - not too heavy as well.

  9. #9
    Member Douken's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Folding Profile
    I would buy a new router =) but do some research before buying it
    Main Rig RIP
    BioStar TF7025-M2 AM2 X2 4000+ @ 2.6GHz| 2x1GB Patriot DDR2 800 @750MHz| 8800GT @ 666-980 | X-Fi Xtreme Music| 596GB | PC Power & Cooling Silencer 470W

    Main Rig
    MSI 880GM-E41| AM3 Phenom II 640| 2x2GB G Skill Rip Jaws DDR3 1333 | Radeon HD 5670 | 596GB | Rosewill 500W


    Imran Tam from EVE Online said once, "if your sausage looked anything like that, you should have checked the expiration date."

  10. #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Kyiv
    But what about the modem? Maybe I should change it too? How can I test it, I just don't wanna waste the money, if the problem's not with modem\router.

  11. #11
    Glaze132's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV
    If you want to test the modem, do a direct connection from modem to computer and see if the internet fails.

  12. #12
    Member Skeith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Winnipeg Manitoba
    talk to your ISP and ask them to replace your modem first to see if that helps. I had problems similar due to a flakey modem. As long as your ISP isnt one of the greedy ones that charges for the modems, they will replace it no problem, you will just have to wait for an appointment date. (couple days usualy) try that first since it will (should) cost you nothing, then try working out other culprits such as your router.
    File Server:
    AMD Semperon 2500+ @ 2104.3MHz (10.5 x 200) 1.9v | ABIT NF7-Sv2 Mobo - Tai Pan Bios | WD 20GB IDE (System) - Seagate 320GB SATA (Storage)
    xfx NVIDIA Ge-force 5200 128MB 333Mhz/500Mhz (Vcore 1.70v/Vmem 3.00v) | 1024MB DDR Dual Channel (2x512 PC3200) UltraValue 2.5-2-2-7

    Web Server:
    Dual PIII 450/256/100/2.0 | 768MB PC100 SDRAM | 6.4GB Quantum Fireball (main) | 6.4GB WD Caviar (FTP Storage)

    Laptop: -Dell Inspiron 6400-
    Intel Core2Duo 1.66GHz | 2x512MB DDR2 667MHz RAM | 120GB SATA HDD 7200RPM | ATI x1400 Mobility 256MB PCIe Graphics | Creative Soundblaster HD MB


    I don't care about what it was designed to do. I care about what it CAN do!

  13. #13
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Kyiv
    Quote Originally Posted by Skeith
    talk to your ISP and ask them to replace your modem first to see if that helps. I had problems similar due to a flakey modem. As long as your ISP isnt one of the greedy ones that charges for the modems, they will replace it no problem, you will just have to wait for an appointment date. (couple days usualy) try that first since it will (should) cost you nothing, then try working out other culprits such as your router.
    Thanks, I did it exactly this way, a man from my ISP came even sooner than I expected and replaced the modem (and took the router away too). Now it works great! I also changed its location - now the modem is in a special box with the other switches.
    Thank you all, people!

  14. #14
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Kyiv
    Unfortunately, the problem's repeating now time after time with another modem, provided by my ISP - Zyxel Prestige, they told me to phone them at the time of next failure.

  15. #15
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by Povar81
    Unfortunately, the problem's repeating now time after time with another modem, provided by my ISP - Zyxel Prestige, they told me to phone them at the time of next failure.
    Give them a call, I've had no problems with my Zyxel Prestige....
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •