Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    470

    Do you use the cables that come with your motherboard? Sata cables?

    I am building a new setup here and I have the ASUS p5b-E and 2 WD 250g SATA II 3.0 gps. I was wondering how many of you use the included cables that come with the motherboard (i.e SATA cables). I have no idea if these cables are even rated for SATA II or if you should use them.

  2. #2
    Member maxfly's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    GlassCity USA
    Posts
    935
    i dont use them but they work fine.i dont like how stiff they are and their harder to hide.i replaced mine with some easy to bend cables.

    I7 2600K-MSI Z68A GD65-MSI GTX 580
    4x4gb Corsair Vengeance-OCZ Agility3 120gb
    WD 320gb-Seasonic X1050,CM HAF-X

    DDC-2 w/Bitspower mini tank
    EK Supreme HF
    DD GTX580
    XSPC RX360

    HEAT

  3. #3
    Member Peepaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Warner Robins, Ga
    Posts
    1,069
    Quote Originally Posted by maxfly
    i dont use them but they work fine.i dont like how stiff they are and their harder to hide.i replaced mine with some easy to bend cables.
    Maxfly could you tell me which cables you are using? I have the same problem, the stock Asus ones are just too stiff.

  4. #4
    Member maxfly's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    GlassCity USA
    Posts
    935
    im not positive but i think these are the specific ones ive got.theyre much much easier to bend and the locking tabs are very useful.
    http://www.svc.com/gc10atasm12.html
    svc has a pretty good selection but their shipping prices may be a little high.so you may want to shop around a little.

    I7 2600K-MSI Z68A GD65-MSI GTX 580
    4x4gb Corsair Vengeance-OCZ Agility3 120gb
    WD 320gb-Seasonic X1050,CM HAF-X

    DDC-2 w/Bitspower mini tank
    EK Supreme HF
    DD GTX580
    XSPC RX360

    HEAT

  5. #5
    Member Gillbot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    East Palestine, OH
    Posts
    439
    I did because I didn't have any others.

  6. #6
    Senior Member that
    wants to Be Banned
    Premium Member #16



    10 Year Badge
    dfonda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    PA. N. of Splat W. of Torin
    Posts
    6,453
    Yes I used the stock ones too. I have not noticed the stiffness. I just took the loop that was left over and stuck it behind the MOBO tray.
    #1Win72600k@4.5GHZ(Hyper212+)Msi P67 G65 16GB RAM evga560Ti
    Phones:Nexus 5(Love It) N4,N7, iphone5
    Folded for Tim and his wife, Mark and his wife,Pete_Scout Oldskool and Adak..."He was the Best of us".
    The first 4 months you cover your phone and baby it...
    The next 4 months you go commando and relax...
    The last 4 months you treat it like a rented mule, because lets face it its time for a new phone...

  7. #7
    Senior Member overclocking at the speed of plaid Enablingwolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Strongsville
    Posts
    6,870
    Here is a pretty good store for cabling. Plenty of shipping options too. They offer between 6 inch to 36 inch. Plus a nice variety of colors.

    http://www.jab-tech.com/10-18-and-24...les-c-120.html


    No one ever expects Aloysius Snuffleupagus








  8. #8
    Member Randyman...'s Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    3,193
    I like the Asus SATA cables - especially the right angle ones! When you get 6 cables per MoBo, they start to add up quick (I think I have like 18 of them ). Flexibility is not an issue, and you can easily force them to whatever arrangement you need IMO.

    I also used the included cables that came with my Areca 1210 XOR RAID-5 card. They are a bit longer and also have right angle plug on one end. They work perfect, and their longer length allows very neat routing to the PCIe card.

    Randy V - Audio-Dude/Musician/PC Guru/Crazy Guy

    PC#1 (Main Rig) : Lian Li PC-V1010 / P8Z68-V-GEN3 / 3750K @ 4.5GHz + Ven-X / 16GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 / HD5770 "XXX" 1GB / Samsung 830 256GB SSD / (6x) 2TB 5K3000 on Areca ARC1222 in RAID-6 / Seasonic X660 PSU / 2407WFP-HC / RME "Multiface" 38 Ch. Audio I/O / Dynaudio AIR-15 + AIR-BASE-2 Studio Monitors
    PC#2 (Realtime DAW) : Lian-Li PC-K65B / Sabertooth X79 / i7-3820 @ 4.8GHz + TRUE / 8GB RipJaws DDR3-2133 / HD6570 / 120GB Intel 520 / 4x 1TB on Areca ARC-1210 in RAID-5 / RME "HDSPe MADI" 128 Channel Audio I/O / 2x SSL AlphaLink MADI AX / 48 Mic Inputs + Fully-discrete Mic Preamps + 4260Watt PA System with 5x 18" JBL Subs :-)
    NAS#1: NSC-800 ITX Case / Asus P8H61-ITX / i3-2120 / (8x) 1TB 7200.12's in RAID-6 on Areca ARC-1220 Card
    NAS#2: 12TB ReadyNAS Ultra-4+ / (4x) 3TB 5K3000's
    And 7 other i7/i5/C2D/C2Q PC's

  9. #9
    Member UglyChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Mother Russia
    Posts
    2,187
    Asus cables work , no need to waste any more money on some other brand cables.

  10. #10
    Member NoKtEm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    707
    I use those cables, they work like a charm!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •