Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Member blueswitch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    2,013

    state of 64bit support

    ok I'm looking for an honest answer guys...Im looking to upgrade to feisty fawn..and I'm trying to decide 64bit or not, I have a turion laptop. I know at first I tried 64bit on my athlon tower and found somethings lacking like flash player support etc.....is it worth going 64bit or should I stay with the regular x86?

    Fold for Team 32!
    _________________________________________
    MSI MS-1029 Turion MT-37, Lancaster 2ghz
    X700, 128mb
    2gb OCZ PC3200

    My Heatware

  2. #2
    Overclockers Team Content Editor
    Shelnutt2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    /home/
    Posts
    5,914
    The only thing, and I repeat the only thing that isn't in 64bit that you can't simply find a custom version for is flash....and for that there is nspluginwrapper.

    Now, almost everything has been ported to 64bit. Some older applications/games aren't, but then again they are open source so if they don't work right off..just compile it yourself.
    Build!.Borg!.Recruit!.Folding.for.Team.32!
    Gigabyte P35-DS3R, E6300, 2x512MB Team Group DDR2 667, EVGA 7800GT Heat

    Want to run the folding@home gpu client in linux?
    www.linuxfah.info

    Your teacher is a dumbass. The equation is exact. ~Frodo Baggins
    Damn....It's 12:00 AM and I thought my 805 would be a magic pumkin and turn into a conroe.........boy was I fooled:) ~Stilletto
    This is what I get for not only being a newb, but also disregarding instructions! ~ShadowPho
    I hate women... but im not gay lol. ~MrCrowley
    Love can fade but knowledge stays forever (unless you develop alzheimers). ~Constantinos

  3. #3
    Member blueswitch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    2,013
    ok let me ask this then....will I see much of a performance increase with 64 bit then?...or is it more a RAM scaling thing?

    Fold for Team 32!
    _________________________________________
    MSI MS-1029 Turion MT-37, Lancaster 2ghz
    X700, 128mb
    2gb OCZ PC3200

    My Heatware

  4. #4
    ASCII Moderator
    Overclockers.com Lead Editor

    splat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philly
    Posts
    3,951
    i doubt you'll notice any difference as a desktop system.

    I've been running 64bit gentoo for months with no problems, btw.
    ______________________________/\/\__________________/\/\_____
    _______/\/\/\/\__/\/\/\/\____/\/\____/\/\/\______/\/\/\/\/\__
    ____/\/\/\/\____/\/\__/\/\__/\/\________/\/\______/\/\_______
    _________/\/\__/\/\/\/\____/\/\____/\/\/\/\______/\/\________
    __/\/\/\/\____/\/\________/\/\/\__/\/\/\/\/\____/\/\/\_______
    _____________/\/\___________
    once you clock you can't go stock
    [RHCSA, RHCE] || articles || folding stats || overclockers last.fm group


  5. #5
    Overclockers Team Content Editor
    Shelnutt2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    /home/
    Posts
    5,914
    Only performance difference is that you get to run FAH SMP client
    Build!.Borg!.Recruit!.Folding.for.Team.32!
    Gigabyte P35-DS3R, E6300, 2x512MB Team Group DDR2 667, EVGA 7800GT Heat

    Want to run the folding@home gpu client in linux?
    www.linuxfah.info

    Your teacher is a dumbass. The equation is exact. ~Frodo Baggins
    Damn....It's 12:00 AM and I thought my 805 would be a magic pumkin and turn into a conroe.........boy was I fooled:) ~Stilletto
    This is what I get for not only being a newb, but also disregarding instructions! ~ShadowPho
    I hate women... but im not gay lol. ~MrCrowley
    Love can fade but knowledge stays forever (unless you develop alzheimers). ~Constantinos

  6. #6
    Member blueswitch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    2,013
    except I don't have dual core proc. this is a s754 turion

    Fold for Team 32!
    _________________________________________
    MSI MS-1029 Turion MT-37, Lancaster 2ghz
    X700, 128mb
    2gb OCZ PC3200

    My Heatware

  7. #7
    maddog39's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Somerville, MA
    Posts
    288
    Well using full 64bit with FAH will definately give you a performance advantage. Because the 64bit just means you have a 64bit memory address space (im pretty sure) whichs helps immensely with mathematical calculations as far as I know.
    My Rig:
    Windows 7 64
    EVGA nForce 780i SLI
    Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.21GHz VCORE 1.325
    4x1GB Corsair XMS2 DDR2 800
    EVGA GTX 260 C216 SSC 896MB

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •