• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

E6600 Stability accross multipliers/fsb?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

pascalbrown

Firstly, I'm a noob, so hello all. Enough reading though and time to make a post!

The setup;
E6600 (Thermaltake Golden Orb cooler)
Asus P5b-E
2Gb Kingston hyperX PC8500
7950GT
Thermaltake Eureka Case
blah blah blah ;)

I've finally managed to get my E6600 up to 3.5Ghz but had to do this by droping the multiplier to 7 and setting the FSB to 500mhz. I've also had to set the vcore to 1.5 which is showing as 1.448 in cpu-z and 1.45 in speedfan. Cpu-Z reports this as 3.5Ghz which it it, but Speedfan and Core Temp are both reporting 4.5Ghz (something to do with the default multiplier being 9 I'm guessing!). Anyway, I've spent literally the whole day trying out various settings. The only other way I could get it to boot was at 3.2Ghz (400x8) and I had the ram set at 1000mhz (so a 5:4 divider) but this worked with vcore 1.4. Now I'm running the ram 1:1 but still at 1000mhz. Current Idle temps are 27C.

My question is why can't I get it to boot at 400*9, 420*8, etc or any other speed? It simply hangs, offers a blue screen of joy, or does absolutely nothing (in which case I have to actually unplug the power cord and wait a few minutes before plugging it back in so I can get back into the BIOS). I've been reading a bit about straps but haven't fully understood it enough to make sense of it. Should I just be happy with 3.5Ghz at a 7x multiplier?

I do have some questions about the memory but I guess I should post them in the appropriate forum.

Thanks in advance.

Cpu-Z reports this as 3.5Ghz which it it, but Speedfan and Core Temp are both reporting 4.5Ghz
i have the same issue on Abit AW9D-MAX. I updated to newest BIOS it fixed this issue.