Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 23
  1. #1
    Member muhon_zen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Peru
    Posts
    229

    How do you apply thermal paste on your CPU?

    Hi, I wanted some suggestions on how to apply thermal paste to a CPU. I'm using Sempron 3000+ Socket A, but any suggestions are fine. Let's use this topic so people can share their techniques and methods
    Folding User Stats

  2. #2
    Member jivetrky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Lake Village, IN 46349
    Posts
    6,349
    Well it could vary a little bit with different kinds of paste, but in general I think it's usually best to spread a very thin layer across the core. On a CPU with a heatspreader you would put a little blob in the center and it would spread itself out. But with the open core CPU's you should spread it out.

    I use a plastic sandwich bag and my finger to spread it nice and thin and even.
    PLEASE MOVE YOUR CLASSIFIED AD TO SOLD ONCE IT HAS COMPLETED (Click here to learn how)

    2x HTPCs / 3x Desktops / 1x 10TB UnRAID Server

    [--------------HEATWARE: jivetrky --------------|-------------- GAMING NICK: jivetrky--------------]

    "With every upgrade I become less clever." -Socket eh?\(_o)/

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    223
    Check this out, and use this stuff. It pwns.

    http://www.arcticsilver.com/pdf/appi...core_expsd.pdf

  4. #4
    Member UglyChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Mother Russia
    Posts
    2,187
    I use a butter knife.

    I just do 5 very small drops; one at a center and one at each corner.

  5. #5
    Member muhon_zen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Peru
    Posts
    229
    Ugly, I assume you do that on CPUs with heatspreader... what about those with the core outside (such as AthlonXP 2000+, for instance)?

    Pearl, thanks for the tip. Great info!
    Folding User Stats

  6. #6
    Member Inceptor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    176
    I put a small blob in the middle and three tiny blobs around that, put the heatsink on, give it a half turn and back then mount the heatsink. If the heatsink is too big to turn I use and old id card to put a thin layer on the cpu and the heatsink then mount. Very thin so I can still see the writing.

  7. #7
    Member inkfx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    San Antonio, Texas
    Posts
    4,771
    without heatspreader - spread the paste yourself

    with heatspreader - small blob in the center and let the heatsink contact do the rest.

    | Dell Studio17 Laptop |

    | T9300 @ 2.5Ghz - ATI 3850 - 3GB RAM - Seagate 320GB 7200rpm - 17" (1920x1200) Glossy widescreen | Windows 7 64-bit |

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    209
    I posted in another thread but it got no replies.

    Inkfx what do you mean headspreader? I know what a heatsink is... but yea. Im going to be buying a e6600 core 2 duo. Can you tell me how that would work?

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h3hLXxQ5BkY Skip to 2:40. Is that good?
    Last edited by DareMe55; 06-07-07 at 12:18 PM.

  9. #9
    Member inkfx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    San Antonio, Texas
    Posts
    4,771
    The E6600 would be a CPU with a heatspreader. All CPUs come with heatspreaders on them these days. However, the Athlon he has probably doesn't.

    | Dell Studio17 Laptop |

    | T9300 @ 2.5Ghz - ATI 3850 - 3GB RAM - Seagate 320GB 7200rpm - 17" (1920x1200) Glossy widescreen | Windows 7 64-bit |

  10. #10
    Member muhon_zen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Peru
    Posts
    229
    a CPU comes with heatspreader when it has a metal surface on top of the core (so you don't get to see the core). It's larger, so it will have more surface with the heatsink. If you remember old Pentiums (133MHz ones) it should recall a heatspreader (all the surface to touch the heatsink).

    Athlon XP and Sempron XP for Socket A come like a small square (core) on top of a silicon board which is the CPU. The core goes straight to the heatsink, so it's not a heat spreader.
    Folding User Stats

  11. #11
    Registered
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    tn
    Posts
    27
    what do you guys think about twisting back and forth to get rid of air bubbles...the original says too..but look at this #6 on the install instructions http://www.crazypc.com/products/50213.html idont know could have a point twisting these grooved sinks nowadays..

  12. #12
    Senior Something Moto7451's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    LA, CA
    Posts
    3,972
    I use my pocket knife. I've been getting better results with that than my previous attempts with a straight razor.
    Intel C2D e6400 @ 375MHz x8 = 3Ghz 1.328v, Gigabyte EP43-UD3L, 3GB DDR2, GeForce 9600GT, 73GB 15K SCSI HD/Adaptec 29160 SCSI Card, 750GB SATA Drive, 320GB ATA Drive, HDTV Tuner

    D5 Pump Bonneville w/ AC Heater Core Gemeni Cooling Maze 4 Style Water Block

    Sager 8690: Core i7 940XM Exreme 2.13GHz (3.2GHz Turbo), 4GB DDR3, GeForce GTX 285M 1GB, 15.6" 1080 LCD, 320GB 7200RPM HD

    Difference Between D5 Revisions + flow mod Difference between NPSM & G1/4

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    209
    Someone is telling me I dont need to put thermal paste on my e6600. He says that it comes with it already on it or something... And he said he didnt do anything.

  14. #14
    Member killermiller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Anchorage, AK
    Posts
    474
    He is correct in a way, the Stock HSF comes with a thermal pad installed. However, the CPU does not have any sort or TIM applied. If you are using it for the first time, you do not been to apply anything, but the thermal pads generally do not perform as well as an aftermarket thermal paste or material.
    If I haven't been around recently, check me out @ XS.

  15. #15
    Registered Something Else's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Oxford, UK
    Posts
    51
    The first time I put AS Ceramique on my CPU (with heatspreader), I just made a line down the middle and put the heatsink on top (as per the instructions on the Arctic Silver website), but I was concerned that I had put too much on, as it was a little hot.

    So I took it off and cleaned it up and followed the method given by Custom PC (a UK magazine), who recommended the spread a small blob with your finger in a sandwich bag method. Unfortunately, I found that Ceramique was a little difficult to spread evenly with a finger, so now I think that it's too uneven, as there seemed to be little bits where there was more TIM than others.

    But, seeing as it's now summer, the ambient temperatures are fluctuating so wildly that it's hardly worth the effort to do it again, and almost impossible to tell if it's better with one method or another (difference of only 2C or so.)

    Basically, either I did both methods badly (which is very possible), or there isn't any noticable difference between those two methods if done correctly.
    Case: Antec 900
    PSU: Antec TruePower Trio 650W
    MB: Asus P5B Deluxe
    CPU: Core2Duo E6600 @ 3.0GHz (400x8) (Stepping 6-B2)
    HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
    GFX: Powercolor ATI Radeon HD4870 @ Stock
    RAM: 4GB OCZ Reaper PC8500 @ 1000MHz
    HDD: WD 500GB RE2, Samsung F1 1TB
    Optical: LiteOn LH20A1H
    Display: AG Neovo 19"
    Sound: Auzentech X-fi Prelude, Logitech Z-5500

  16. #16
    Member Clockwork_Apple's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,270
    Difference between a bad mount and a good mount isnt that noticable, especially since you've got fluctuating ambient temps.

    I put a small rice grain sized blob in the middle of the IHS and let the heatsink spread it out once its mounted. Never had problems.
    E4400 3100Mhz 1.35v // MSI G33M-FI // 4GB D9GMH
    EVGA 8800GT // Modded mATX MicroFly // Corsair HX520W PSU
    Dell E172FP 17" // Logitech MX1000 // Saitek Eclipse KB
    Apogee GT // Maze 4 // Laing D5 // Swiftech MCR320-QP

    <3 SFF!

  17. #17
    Senior Something Moto7451's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    LA, CA
    Posts
    3,972
    I disagree. I've seen bad mounts that cause a delta of 3-4C. That is certainly noticeable.

    That said, you do need to keep track of your ambient temps or your temp sensors will tell you nothing useful.
    Intel C2D e6400 @ 375MHz x8 = 3Ghz 1.328v, Gigabyte EP43-UD3L, 3GB DDR2, GeForce 9600GT, 73GB 15K SCSI HD/Adaptec 29160 SCSI Card, 750GB SATA Drive, 320GB ATA Drive, HDTV Tuner

    D5 Pump Bonneville w/ AC Heater Core Gemeni Cooling Maze 4 Style Water Block

    Sager 8690: Core i7 940XM Exreme 2.13GHz (3.2GHz Turbo), 4GB DDR3, GeForce GTX 285M 1GB, 15.6" 1080 LCD, 320GB 7200RPM HD

    Difference Between D5 Revisions + flow mod Difference between NPSM & G1/4

  18. #18
    Member Cant.Touch.This's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    556
    When I mounted the XP90 onto my 3200+ I remember putting a large blob, yes, a large blob onto the metal covering of the CPU. None of it leaked over the side or anything but that was my very first build ever, nothing went wrong though... lol.

    (This is the same system with the large amount of thermal paste, I think I should reapply....)

  19. #19
    Member UglyChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Mother Russia
    Posts
    2,187
    Quote Originally Posted by muhon_zen
    Ugly, I assume you do that on CPUs with heatspreader... what about those with the core outside (such as AthlonXP 2000+, for instance)?

    Pearl, thanks for the tip. Great info!

    Right, the once with a heatspreader. The once with core outside, well i havent used one since P3. Back then just nice small blob in the center.

  20. #20
    Member muhon_zen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Peru
    Posts
    229
    How do you figure what a good or bad mount is?
    Folding User Stats

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •