Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Member Mdogs444's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Columbus, OH

    42" Viore HD Plasma (Refurb) $589 + ship

    http://www.ecost.com/detail.aspx?EDP...rce=EWB060707E

    42" Recertified Viore HDTV Plasma monitor. Not a bad deal for a refurb. Only 7 left at the time i posted.
    My HEATWARE 31-0 :attn:

    NEW BUILD ON THE WAY!

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Detroit
    They are "up" to 9 left

    Definitely a smokin' hot deal though.
    main rig - 2500k @ 4.8GHz, under water | P8P67 Dlx | 2x4gb Crucial Ballistix Sport | eVGA 9800GX2 | Corsair HX620 | 3x80gb SSD raid0, 150gb Raptor, 2x1tb raid1 | Ubuntu 13.10 / Win7 Pro
    Steambox - E4400 @ 3.2GHz, TT120 | P5B | 2x1gb Super*Talent | 8400 GS | generic psu | 80gb WD | Toshiba HD-DVD | Ubuntu 13.10 & Steam
    HTPC - Sempron 3400 @ 2.5GHz | ECS nForce3-A | 2x512mb DDR416 | Ti4600 | Antec EW 380 | 120gb, 250gb & 500gb drives | Ubuntu w/ XBMC

  3. #3
    anyone heard of Viore?
    Gigabyte P55a-UD3, i5 750@ 3.8ghz, 1.3 vcore
    BFG GTX 260 Core 216
    4 gigs G.Skill Eco DDR3 1600- 6,8,6,24
    Silverstone ST56ZF
    yamaha rx-v2400, crown xls-402
    Salk/Ellis 1801's, Rythmik F15 15" servo sub

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Detroit
    Yes, I have. I've seen Viore branded plasma TV's at Sam's Club, Wal*Mart and Office Max. They are actually made by Akai. Wal*Mart had these for $800 on Black Friday, and that was a good deal. At $200 less this is scorching.
    main rig - 2500k @ 4.8GHz, under water | P8P67 Dlx | 2x4gb Crucial Ballistix Sport | eVGA 9800GX2 | Corsair HX620 | 3x80gb SSD raid0, 150gb Raptor, 2x1tb raid1 | Ubuntu 13.10 / Win7 Pro
    Steambox - E4400 @ 3.2GHz, TT120 | P5B | 2x1gb Super*Talent | 8400 GS | generic psu | 80gb WD | Toshiba HD-DVD | Ubuntu 13.10 & Steam
    HTPC - Sempron 3400 @ 2.5GHz | ECS nForce3-A | 2x512mb DDR416 | Ti4600 | Antec EW 380 | 120gb, 250gb & 500gb drives | Ubuntu w/ XBMC

  5. #5
    Member Neuromancer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Tau'ri
    Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Um, might be a stupid question, if its a widescreen monitor why does it only support 4:3 PC input? (1024x768 max?)
    All rants I produce are sole property of 127.0.0.1.
    10 types of people understand binary.
    Suck iiiiiitttttttttt. -Shawn Spencer
    Linux is the stepchild of the OS world. "You told me to set 192.168.0.266 ip address", okay >>>Kernel PANIC - Me

  6. #6
    Just Another Retired Moderator Jon's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Lawrenceville, GA
    Quote Originally Posted by Neur0mancer
    Um, might be a stupid question, if its a widescreen monitor why does it only support 4:3 PC input? (1024x768 max?)
    HDTV isn't exactly determined by vertical resolution, although that helps in the overal picture quality. The horizontal resolution is the primary factor in HD resolution - in this case, supporting 768 pixels horizontally (720p, up to 1080i).

    1024x768 is 4:3 to a computer monitor, but is capable of doing a widescreen picture via various methods.

    To answer your question though, it's not HD as defined by ATSC standards.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Lobsterland
    Quote Originally Posted by Jon
    HDTV isn't exactly determined by vertical resolution, although that helps in the overal picture quality. The horizontal resolution is the primary factor in HD resolution - in this case, supporting 768 pixels horizontally (720p, up to 1080i).

    1024x768 is 4:3 to a computer monitor, but is capable of doing a widescreen picture via various methods.

    To answer your question though, it's not HD as defined by ATSC standards.
    This display is one of the few displays which uses rectangular pixels (as opposed to square on a "normal" LCD). That's how it is able to have a 16:9 aspect ratio with a 1024x768 display: Each pixel is wider than it is tall.

    However, it looks like it can accept input up to 1080i and scale it to the panel's native resolution. Like all LCDs (EDIT: and plasmas , ) you're banking on the display's internal scaler to take non-native content and scale to the native resolution.
    Last edited by aaronjb; 06-15-07 at 04:33 PM.
    Not very active these days. PMs are the best way to reach me.

    heatware


  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Detroit
    Quote Originally Posted by aaronjb
    This display is one of the few displays which uses rectangular pixels (as opposed to square on a "normal" LCD). That's how it is able to have a 16:9 aspect ratio with a 1024x768 display: Each pixel is wider than it is tall.
    Correct. My Daewoo plasma is like that too, the pixels aren't square. So it's native resolution is something we'd normally consider 4:3, but it is in fact widescreen.

    The scalers used with panels like these know that the pixels aren't square and take that into account when converting the input. That way the picture isn't distorted.
    main rig - 2500k @ 4.8GHz, under water | P8P67 Dlx | 2x4gb Crucial Ballistix Sport | eVGA 9800GX2 | Corsair HX620 | 3x80gb SSD raid0, 150gb Raptor, 2x1tb raid1 | Ubuntu 13.10 / Win7 Pro
    Steambox - E4400 @ 3.2GHz, TT120 | P5B | 2x1gb Super*Talent | 8400 GS | generic psu | 80gb WD | Toshiba HD-DVD | Ubuntu 13.10 & Steam
    HTPC - Sempron 3400 @ 2.5GHz | ECS nForce3-A | 2x512mb DDR416 | Ti4600 | Antec EW 380 | 120gb, 250gb & 500gb drives | Ubuntu w/ XBMC

  9. #9
    Senior Benchmark Addict
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Hillsboro, OR
    For the record, almost all 42" plasmas have rectangular pixels.
    El<(')>Maxi: I still have your board...and I'm afraid I lost your address so I can't send it back...and my pm box is broken...and I can't remember where the PO is anyway

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •