Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Member hkh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    885

    IEexplorerer.exe what is it?

    hey guys can anyone tell me what this process is and if its safe, it is taking upalot of my cpu 40% or more, I end it and nothing changes. I am running vista 64bit.

  2. #2
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    31,356
    Quote Originally Posted by hkh
    hey guys can anyone tell me what this process is and if its safe, it is taking upalot of my cpu 40% or more, I end it and nothing changes. I am running vista 64bit.
    Ah...might want to goole that one as that doesn't sound like the original. iexplorer.exe is...
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  3. #3
    Member Thund3rball's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    British Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    1,488
    YA looks like adware. I googled it and it came up with a list of sites on it. I am hesitant to post any links to a "fix" cause I don't want to be responsible... so maybe just do your own research on that.
    DESKTOP
    AMD 5000+ BE @ 3.2GHz
    // GIGABYTE GA-MA770-DS3 // TUNIQ TOWER 120 // MUSHKIN 2x1 GB HP2-6400 // EVGA 8800GT SC // SEAGATE 3x250GB 7.2K // CORSAIR HX520 // DELL 2007WFP // RAZER Deathadder// XP

    LAPTOP
    DELL XPS M1530
    // T7500 2.2GHz // CORSAIR 3GB 667 // SEAGATE 200GB 7.2K // 8600M GT // LG WSXGA+ // 6c BATTERY // VISTA ULT. (RED)


    My Heatware

  4. #4
    Member thefly's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    1,183
    Search your harddrive for the file. See where it is. It's probably some sort of adware/infection.

    I had one very similar last month.
    I5 W7 8 Gigs ram.
    Msi Cyclone 460 1024.
    Intel SSd 80g
    2405 fpw

  5. #5
    Member hkh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    885
    Thanks guys, I searched the drive and deleted it. I did google it but nothing ever came up.

  6. #6
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    31,356
    Quote Originally Posted by hkh
    I did google it but nothing ever came up.
    Did you hit enter?
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  7. #7
    Member tenchi86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Smoky Mountains, NC
    Posts
    3,633
    Google probably failed to return any results as you typed it in as "IEexplorerer.exe" while others all typed in "IEexplorer.exe", just a simple typing mistake. Anyway, as already stated it is/was safe for you to remove it. You may also want to run some Spyware/Adware scans as it is possible that others could still be on your computer.
    "Millions saw the apple fall, but Newton was the one who asked why." -Bernard Mannes Baruch

    Mobo: MSI Neo2-V
    CPU: 2.8a Prescott @ 3.2
    PSU: Blue Storm 500 Watt
    GPU: Geforce 6600GT
    HS: Zalman 7000
    Ram: Kingston HyperX 1024mb 3200

  8. #8
    Member Hipcrostino's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Canberra, Australia
    Posts
    1,951
    the double "er" at the end would NOT be a mistake or seperate proccess by MS. Its a virus or adware. Kill the process, find the exec and delete it. If you don't want to delete it, simply rename the extension to .bak or similar. (IEexplorerer.exe.bak) Renaming it may not stop it executing itself though. Also check the startup system (using msconfig in XP, no idea in vista) and check it isn't being triggered on start.

    The process for internet explorer is called IExplore.exe (if you don't believe me, start IE and check the processes. find IEXPLORE.exe and click end process. IE will dissapear)

    there is a little info about using hijackthis here http://www.windowsbbs.com/showthread.php?t=65182&page=3 (search for explorerer.exe to find referances)
    i7 2600k
    Water cooled
    AsRock z68 Extreme4
    Corsair 1600mhz cl7 4gb
    EVGA 580GTX
    OCZ Revo x2 220GB
    Corsair 750W PSU
    2x 22" LCD monitors (1 is 120hz)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •