Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    19

    PSU Question(s).

    Hi,
    I've installed a second Nvidia 8800GTS video card and at the moment Im using the adapter that allows me to plug the 8800 into two molex plugs to supply it power.

    My PSU is a Raidmax Volcano 630w unit but I've long since lost the instruction sheet and possibly one or more of the cables.

    The original PCIe cable out of the PSU has two plugs on the end of it, I would naturally assume this is for SLI (because I know that this PSU stated somewhere that it is SLI ready), but don't want to use the one PCIe plug for powering two video cards unless this is how they all work.

    I can't see the back of the unit without pulling it out which would be a major chore due to all the cables being ziptied nice and neat everywhere, so is it normal that one PCIe power cable supplies two video cards? Or would you guess that there must be another PCIe plug on the back of the unit and I've probably just lost the other PCIe cable?

    Thanks,

  2. #2
    Roisen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Folding in Ames, IA
    Posts
    607
    Your PSU.

    That's really all I can do for you.

  3. #3
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    31,419
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by Jalida
    Hi,
    I've installed a second Nvidia 8800GTS video card and at the moment Im using the adapter that allows me to plug the 8800 into two molex plugs to supply it power.

    My PSU is a Raidmax Volcano 630w unit but I've long since lost the instruction sheet and possibly one or more of the cables.

    The original PCIe cable out of the PSU has two plugs on the end of it, I would naturally assume this is for SLI (because I know that this PSU stated somewhere that it is SLI ready), but don't want to use the one PCIe plug for powering two video cards unless this is how they all work.

    I can't see the back of the unit without pulling it out which would be a major chore due to all the cables being ziptied nice and neat everywhere, so is it normal that one PCIe power cable supplies two video cards? Or would you guess that there must be another PCIe plug on the back of the unit and I've probably just lost the other PCIe cable?

    Thanks,
    I don't quite understand the confusion here. The power supply has PCIE connectors, use em

    I see what you mean with the connectors, I don't that is used for SLi, I think it is used on video cards such as the 8800GTX where it needs two of the PCIE power connectors.

    IMO just use that connector as it probably has a seperate rail for the video card.
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  4. #4
    Senior Radeon Mod God ViperJohn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Santa Ana, Ca
    Posts
    2,419
    Quote Originally Posted by thideras
    I don't quite understand the confusion here. The power supply has PCIE connectors, use em

    I see what you mean with the connectors, I don't that is used for SLi, I think it is used on video cards such as the 8800GTX where it needs two of the PCIE power connectors.

    IMO just use that connector as it probably has a seperate rail for the video card.
    It doesn't. It is a plain Jane split rail 12V1 @ 18 amps / 12V2 A 16 amps power supply. If the power
    supply is fully ATX 2.0/2.1 compliant then the only thing 12V2 powers is the 4/8 pin motherboard aux
    connector which feeds core 2 of a dual core CPU and core 2, 3 and 4 of a Quad core. Everything else
    12V comes off 12V1.

    Viper
    .
    GXT260/280's to 783 x 1620 / 1296 ViperFang-VII Water Cooled
    .
    8800GTS 512Mb to 885 x 2106 / 1224 ViperFang-VI Water Cooled
    .
    8800 Ultra to 756x1944/1269 ViperFang-IV Water Cooled
    .
    2900XT to 992/1197 ViperFang-IV Water Cooled
    .
    8800GTX to 756x1784/1161 ViperVenom TEC Cooled
    .
    Pictures at www.imageevent.com/marginjohn/viperjohn

  5. #5
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    31,419
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by ViperJohn
    It doesn't. It is a plain Jane split rail 12V1 @ 18 amps / 12V2 A 16 amps power supply. If the power
    supply is fully ATX 2.0/2.1 compliant then the only thing 12V2 powers is the 4/8 pin motherboard aux
    connector which feeds core 2 of a dual core CPU and core 2, 3 and 4 of a Quad core. Everything else
    12V comes off 12V1.

    Viper
    Good to know, thanks!
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    19
    Thanks for the information. The problem is that the volcano can't supply enough power for the two Nvidia 8800GTS cards. The PSU only has one PCI-e plug on it, and if I plug both 8800's into that one cable, the PSU will turn off the computer when playing 3D heavy games. A temporary work around is to plug one of the video cards into one of the peripherial plugs so that they aren't both on the one PCI-e cable. As I understand it, the 8800GTS's would like to have 26-28A each and this PSU only supplies 18A on each 12V. So it's not adequate (I've since found out) to supply the recommended 52A of power.

    Im heading out next week to get a better PSU so that I can have my video cards get full power.

  7. #7
    Member smokie mcpott's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    OKC
    Posts
    2,529
    the amps 'required' by the 8800's is not 26-28 a piece.. thats 26a for the whole system... about 14a? per card. you dont need 52a necessarily but you do need a better PSU

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •