Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 60
  1. #1

    Xeon price drop on 22nd?

    Anyone heard anything if the Xeons are dropping in price on the 22nd too or is it just the C2D?
    MB:............Asus P5Q Pro
    CPU:..........Intel Xeon E3110 @ 4.0 Ghz @ 1.35V in CPU-Z
    HS:............Noctua NH-U12P (push-pull) w. MX-2 TIM
    RAM:.........2x2Gb Mushkin 1066s
    VIDEO:......MSI 275 GTX
    SOUND:.....X-Fi Prelude + Logitech Z-5500s
    HD:............2 x 640Gb WDs
    PS:............Corsair 750TX
    CASE:.......Coolermaster Stacker 832 (painted Black in/out)
    DISPLAY:..Dell 30" 3007
    OS:............Windows 7 Pro
    Other:........Logitech G15 kb, Logitech MX Rev mouse, APC BX1300LCD ups

  2. #2
    Member Peepaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Warner Robins, Ga
    I haven't heard about a price drop on xeons, but I'm usually about the last to know.

  3. #3
    Member GTengineer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Yorktown, VA
    I believe they will drop too but don't quote me on that. Of course they would still be more expensive than its counterpart C2D. I think the prices which are pretty set in stone are the extremes.

  4. #4
    DRAM Guru Senior Reefa_Madness's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    St. Johns, FL
    Heatware Profile
    http://www.dailytech.com/article.aspx?newsid=6493

    I saved that link a while back and have just been waiting for an opportunity to drag it up.

    Hope it answers your question...since you didn't specify just which chip it was that you were inquiring about...I can't really answer it for you.
    In memory of Gracie, my sweet, sweet wife and mother of my children. Darling, we will miss you dearly. May you rest in peace (born to this world on March 30, 1976; went to her Heavenly Father on Good Friday, April 22, 2011).

    http://animoto.com/play/E0wFhd6tN0nA...ent=challenger


    Heat

  5. #5
    Was looking at the 5120/5130.... read that article better than the first time I read it earlier and the E5335 looks interesting (2Ghz Quad-core 8Mb 1333) for $316 US ... about $350 CDN or so....Article doesn't mention anything about the 51XX series
    MB:............Asus P5Q Pro
    CPU:..........Intel Xeon E3110 @ 4.0 Ghz @ 1.35V in CPU-Z
    HS:............Noctua NH-U12P (push-pull) w. MX-2 TIM
    RAM:.........2x2Gb Mushkin 1066s
    VIDEO:......MSI 275 GTX
    SOUND:.....X-Fi Prelude + Logitech Z-5500s
    HD:............2 x 640Gb WDs
    PS:............Corsair 750TX
    CASE:.......Coolermaster Stacker 832 (painted Black in/out)
    DISPLAY:..Dell 30" 3007
    OS:............Windows 7 Pro
    Other:........Logitech G15 kb, Logitech MX Rev mouse, APC BX1300LCD ups

  6. #6
    DRAM Guru Senior Reefa_Madness's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    St. Johns, FL
    Heatware Profile
    Only reference to 51xx series that I saw is this...

    "Intel’s low-voltage quad-core Xeon DP 5148 will not receive any price cuts in July 2007 and will continue to cost $519, per processor, in 1,000 unit quantities."
    In memory of Gracie, my sweet, sweet wife and mother of my children. Darling, we will miss you dearly. May you rest in peace (born to this world on March 30, 1976; went to her Heavenly Father on Good Friday, April 22, 2011).

    http://animoto.com/play/E0wFhd6tN0nA...ent=challenger


    Heat

  7. #7
    Member GTengineer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Yorktown, VA
    Am I reading this right?? The Q6600 and the X3220 will both have the same price ($266)?? If this is the case wouldnt it make more sense to go with the Xeon?

  8. #8
    Someone else asked the same question and supposedly, they're both the exact same cpu.... the Xeon *might* a better cpu ("cherry picked").....
    MB:............Asus P5Q Pro
    CPU:..........Intel Xeon E3110 @ 4.0 Ghz @ 1.35V in CPU-Z
    HS:............Noctua NH-U12P (push-pull) w. MX-2 TIM
    RAM:.........2x2Gb Mushkin 1066s
    VIDEO:......MSI 275 GTX
    SOUND:.....X-Fi Prelude + Logitech Z-5500s
    HD:............2 x 640Gb WDs
    PS:............Corsair 750TX
    CASE:.......Coolermaster Stacker 832 (painted Black in/out)
    DISPLAY:..Dell 30" 3007
    OS:............Windows 7 Pro
    Other:........Logitech G15 kb, Logitech MX Rev mouse, APC BX1300LCD ups

  9. #9
    Member GTengineer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Yorktown, VA
    Quote Originally Posted by TombKeeper
    Someone else asked the same question and supposedly, they're both the exact same cpu.... the Xeon *might* a better cpu ("cherry picked").....
    yes I know but right now the Xeon version is slightly more expensive (they typically are). Unless these are very rough price estimation. I don't understand why anyone would pick a Q6600 over the Xeon if this was the case.

  10. #10
    Senior Fourm Spammer

    Evilsizer's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Austin,Texas
    Heatware Profile
    well since xeons are ment for server settings it would make sense to cherry pick for the xeon line. keep tdp low and charge more since they would be ment for long term operation.

    Intel G3258@4.2ghz | Asrock Z97M OC Formula | Galaxy GTX660 GC | PM840 Pro 128GB, PM830 FDE 250GB | SilverStone ST45SF
    i3 370M | Jetway NF98 | 2x2gig DDR3-1066 | pico 120WI | Asus GT630 2GB (GK208) |
    intel i5 2450M


    "I Love To Camp!"
    "Commensing Shock Therapy!"
    I'm jonnyGURU of jonnyGURU.com and we don't overload PSU's - JonnyGURU

    HeatWare

  11. #11
    Quote Originally Posted by Evilsizer
    well since xeons are ment for server settings it would make sense to cherry pick for the xeon line. keep tdp low and charge more since they would be ment for long term operation.

    What's the point? There's still P3/Athlon systems around that have run 24/7..... Aren't cpus supposed to last about 10 years? Who the heck keeps the same cpu for more than 5-7 years?
    MB:............Asus P5Q Pro
    CPU:..........Intel Xeon E3110 @ 4.0 Ghz @ 1.35V in CPU-Z
    HS:............Noctua NH-U12P (push-pull) w. MX-2 TIM
    RAM:.........2x2Gb Mushkin 1066s
    VIDEO:......MSI 275 GTX
    SOUND:.....X-Fi Prelude + Logitech Z-5500s
    HD:............2 x 640Gb WDs
    PS:............Corsair 750TX
    CASE:.......Coolermaster Stacker 832 (painted Black in/out)
    DISPLAY:..Dell 30" 3007
    OS:............Windows 7 Pro
    Other:........Logitech G15 kb, Logitech MX Rev mouse, APC BX1300LCD ups

  12. #12
    Senior Fourm Spammer

    Evilsizer's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Austin,Texas
    Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by TombKeeper
    What's the point? There's still P3/Athlon systems around that have run 24/7..... Aren't cpus supposed to last about 10 years? Who the heck keeps the same cpu for more than 5-7 years?
    you would be suprised.... i do tech support and one customer called in. there pc was a duron 1ghz with 128mb of ram with XP and they were tring to use a program that requires a min of 256mb's of ram. GO figure they wanted to program to work perfectly but didnt want to spend the money on more ram.

    server envoriments have different requirments then home/desktop pc's. since the xeons have a slightly higher price it makes perfect since they would cherry pick them.

    Intel G3258@4.2ghz | Asrock Z97M OC Formula | Galaxy GTX660 GC | PM840 Pro 128GB, PM830 FDE 250GB | SilverStone ST45SF
    i3 370M | Jetway NF98 | 2x2gig DDR3-1066 | pico 120WI | Asus GT630 2GB (GK208) |
    intel i5 2450M


    "I Love To Camp!"
    "Commensing Shock Therapy!"
    I'm jonnyGURU of jonnyGURU.com and we don't overload PSU's - JonnyGURU

    HeatWare

  13. #13
    Magical Leopluridon Senior MadMan007's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    in a magical field
    Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by GTengineer
    Am I reading this right?? The Q6600 and the X3220 will both have the same price ($266)?? If this is the case wouldnt it make more sense to go with the Xeon?
    That's how is is now for the single-socket Xeons as well. Remember these prices are bulk prices. Street prices for retail packaging don't always match that but Xeon C2Ds always had a slight price premium.
    There are three sides to any argument - side A, side B, and the Truth

    "This had better be frikkin' important. Is the meadow on fire?"

  14. #14
    Roisen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Folding in Ames, IA
    Are the Q6600 and the X3220 interchangeable? (Could I take out my E6400 and drop in the X3220?)

    I always thought the new xeons used 771 pins

  15. #15
    The Xeon 3xxx are 775 socket... but 'home' desktop doesn't mention anything about being able to use them...the 'server' class Mbs do (even entry level type). It was the same thing with AMD 939 and the Opteron 939 - but people were able to use them no prob.
    MB:............Asus P5Q Pro
    CPU:..........Intel Xeon E3110 @ 4.0 Ghz @ 1.35V in CPU-Z
    HS:............Noctua NH-U12P (push-pull) w. MX-2 TIM
    RAM:.........2x2Gb Mushkin 1066s
    VIDEO:......MSI 275 GTX
    SOUND:.....X-Fi Prelude + Logitech Z-5500s
    HD:............2 x 640Gb WDs
    PS:............Corsair 750TX
    CASE:.......Coolermaster Stacker 832 (painted Black in/out)
    DISPLAY:..Dell 30" 3007
    OS:............Windows 7 Pro
    Other:........Logitech G15 kb, Logitech MX Rev mouse, APC BX1300LCD ups

  16. #16
    Roisen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Folding in Ames, IA
    Quote Originally Posted by TombKeeper
    The Xeon 3xxx are 775 socket... but 'home' desktop doesn't mention anything about being able to use them...the 'server' class Mbs do (even entry level type). It was the same thing with AMD 939 and the Opteron 939 - but people were able to use them no prob.
    I'm confused... So I'm not supposed to be able to use them, but I can?

  17. #17
    Member GTengineer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Yorktown, VA
    I think what he is trying to say is that you will not find a "desktop" motherboard that says "supports Xeon processors" but yes if they are socket 775 you can drop it in your board.

  18. #18
    Yes, but you won't receive any tech support from anyone since it's not actually "made" to run Xeon's.......

    I have an opteron cpu in my AMD64 Mb and works great... so it might be the same with using a Xeon in any socket 775 board - remember it's only the Xeon 3xxx series that are socket 775. The rest are 771...wont work for sure...
    MB:............Asus P5Q Pro
    CPU:..........Intel Xeon E3110 @ 4.0 Ghz @ 1.35V in CPU-Z
    HS:............Noctua NH-U12P (push-pull) w. MX-2 TIM
    RAM:.........2x2Gb Mushkin 1066s
    VIDEO:......MSI 275 GTX
    SOUND:.....X-Fi Prelude + Logitech Z-5500s
    HD:............2 x 640Gb WDs
    PS:............Corsair 750TX
    CASE:.......Coolermaster Stacker 832 (painted Black in/out)
    DISPLAY:..Dell 30" 3007
    OS:............Windows 7 Pro
    Other:........Logitech G15 kb, Logitech MX Rev mouse, APC BX1300LCD ups

  19. #19
    Registered Shakir_Akbari's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    London / Chicago
    this should stir things up a bit

    neweggs price on the Intel Xeon X3220 Kentsfield 2.4GHz LGA 775 Retail = $315 (USD)

    at that price there is a chance i'll get that over the binned q6600, and pray that it will work in a ga-g33m-ds2r mobo

    any thoughts?

  20. #20
    Member Stratcat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Chicago - USA
    ^^^

    My thoughts -

    Don't expect G-0's; They are still shipping B3's. I just got one this afternoon (WED) from a very late nite Monday order.

    X3220 B3 L640F SL9UP - 5/07 pack - VID = 1.2875V

    3.4G (9 multi) @ 1.475Vcore and still testing - 62*C Coretemp/47*C SpeedFan - Quad Orthos (four instances - one for each core)

    Everything else same as in my sig, except change the processor line.

    No idea if I will keep it, seeing as the G-0's seem to be showing good stuff...but this dayem thing is cranking out Distributed Computing, like a mofo!

    ~ Strat ~
    CPU: X3220 B3 L640F SL9UP 1.2875 VID - 3.4G [8 X 425] 1.4875V - 44 Idle|62 Load (Core Temp 0.95)
    Mobo: Asus P5B-Dlx Rev 1.03G - AS5 Everything - Bios 0910 Final
    H20: Swiftech: MCP350 --> Two MCR120's in Parallel + Two Enermax 95 CFM --> MCW6000 - AS5
    DDR-II: G.Skill PC6400 HZ Micron D9 [2 x 1GB] 1:1 425MHz | 4-4-4-10 | 2.10V
    HDD: WD 36G SATA-I Raptor
    Video: ATI Radeon X1950Pro - Stock Reference Model
    Monitor: Viewsonic/Optiquest Q115 - 21"
    Audio: TB Santa Cruz + Klipsch Promethia 2.1
    PSU: OCZ PowerStream 520ADJ - 33A +12V Rail - 1% Output Regulation
    UPS: APC RS1000 - 1KVA 600W - USB Hibernate
    Case: "we don't need no stinkin' case"
    O/S: WinXPro-SP2 - Reg Tweaked - Opera 9.22
    Stability: Quad Orthos/Memtest86+/PCMark05/3DMark06 - Currently Running Distributed Computing 24/7

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •