Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 25
  1. #1
    Member
    zangler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Houston, TX

    new 8800...choppy video

    hey guys...i just upgraded from a 6800 GT to a 8800GTS. a lot of times when i am playing a game like EVE online or something i will be running a movie on the second monitor (i.e. DIVX)...witht he 6800 this was never a problem....now the movie runs really choppy, where as before it was very nice and smooth. is there a way of fixing this? am i missing some stupid setting?
    CPU: Intel i860 @ 4.0ghz HT
    Mobo: Gigabyte p55-ud4p
    RAM: G.SKILL Trident 4GB 2000mhz
    HSF: Cogage TRUE
    GPU: Radeon 5850 eyfinity 3 22" samsungs
    PSU: Corsair hx 850w
    Case: HAF 932
    Storage: 4xWD640gb blacks in a 0 and 10
    OS: Win 7 64bit

  2. #2

    ||Console||'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Halifax, NS
    might be that your psu isnt up to the task
    Asus z87-Plus
    4670k @ 4.7 ghz 1.35v 75deg C (water 120.3)
    Gskill Ripjaws (F3-17000CL11D-8GBXL) PC-2133 1.6v 11-11-11-30-1T
    Kingston 3x 120Gig SSD
    Evga 670gtx Sc 4gb
    Corsair Tx750 V2


    " If that Bong is filled with the right stuff you wouldn't give a damn how much noise the cooling system made lol" ViperJohn

  3. #3
    Sounds odd. have you reinstalled drivers? I know you probably dont need to but it might be a good idea.

    The Beast(Main)- P5QL/EPU, Q9550, 4GB DDR2 800, 2X320GB Perp, 750GB Cavalier,8800GT(for now) Corsair 750 Watt PSU, Enermax server case, 2x Dell 1908WFP, Vista Home
    http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=51210

  4. #4
    Member
    zangler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Quote Originally Posted by ||Console||
    might be that your psu isnt up to the task
    what makes you say that? not saying i have the worlds greatest PSU or anything...but i am getting no other indicators that the PSU is a problem
    CPU: Intel i860 @ 4.0ghz HT
    Mobo: Gigabyte p55-ud4p
    RAM: G.SKILL Trident 4GB 2000mhz
    HSF: Cogage TRUE
    GPU: Radeon 5850 eyfinity 3 22" samsungs
    PSU: Corsair hx 850w
    Case: HAF 932
    Storage: 4xWD640gb blacks in a 0 and 10
    OS: Win 7 64bit

  5. #5
    Member
    zangler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Quote Originally Posted by SeasonalEclipse
    Sounds odd. have you reinstalled drivers? I know you probably dont need to but it might be a good idea.

    i did just install it yesterday...i could try going to the beta drivers or something...but not sure its it since everything else is running so nicely
    CPU: Intel i860 @ 4.0ghz HT
    Mobo: Gigabyte p55-ud4p
    RAM: G.SKILL Trident 4GB 2000mhz
    HSF: Cogage TRUE
    GPU: Radeon 5850 eyfinity 3 22" samsungs
    PSU: Corsair hx 850w
    Case: HAF 932
    Storage: 4xWD640gb blacks in a 0 and 10
    OS: Win 7 64bit

  6. #6

    ||Console||'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Halifax, NS
    because those psus are known to get worse over time the caps go , the 8800s need alot of amps how manny does your psu say is on the 12v
    Asus z87-Plus
    4670k @ 4.7 ghz 1.35v 75deg C (water 120.3)
    Gskill Ripjaws (F3-17000CL11D-8GBXL) PC-2133 1.6v 11-11-11-30-1T
    Kingston 3x 120Gig SSD
    Evga 670gtx Sc 4gb
    Corsair Tx750 V2


    " If that Bong is filled with the right stuff you wouldn't give a damn how much noise the cooling system made lol" ViperJohn

  7. #7
    Yeah the PSU could very well be it as well. I would try to get my hands onto someone sspare PSU, like a friend or something if you do not have one to find out if that effects anything.
    Last edited by SeasonalEclipse; 07-08-07 at 12:46 AM.

    The Beast(Main)- P5QL/EPU, Q9550, 4GB DDR2 800, 2X320GB Perp, 750GB Cavalier,8800GT(for now) Corsair 750 Watt PSU, Enermax server case, 2x Dell 1908WFP, Vista Home
    http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=51210

  8. #8
    Member
    zangler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Quote Originally Posted by ||Console||
    because those psus are known to get worse over time the caps go , the 8800s need alot of amps how manny does your psu say is on the 12v
    on +12v1 it is 18 and on +12v2 it is 15...here is the spec sheet i pulled that from...any help about this is appreciated...how would i know if im losing amps? and is there a link to the problem you speak of?

    http://www.antec.com/specs/Neo480_spe.html
    CPU: Intel i860 @ 4.0ghz HT
    Mobo: Gigabyte p55-ud4p
    RAM: G.SKILL Trident 4GB 2000mhz
    HSF: Cogage TRUE
    GPU: Radeon 5850 eyfinity 3 22" samsungs
    PSU: Corsair hx 850w
    Case: HAF 932
    Storage: 4xWD640gb blacks in a 0 and 10
    OS: Win 7 64bit

  9. #9
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by SeasonalEclipse
    Yeah the PSU could very well be it as well. I would try to get my hands onto someone sspare PSU, like a friend or something if you do not have one to find out if that effects anything.
    Fixed...



    Quote Originally Posted by zangler
    on +12v1 it is 18 and on +12v2 it is 15...here is the spec sheet i pulled that from...any help about this is appreciated...how would i know if im losing amps? and is there a link to the problem you speak of?

    http://www.antec.com/specs/Neo480_spe.html
    The only way to know is open the power supply and look...
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  10. #10

    ||Console||'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Halifax, NS
    i think the 8800 calls for 22 amps on the 12v
    Asus z87-Plus
    4670k @ 4.7 ghz 1.35v 75deg C (water 120.3)
    Gskill Ripjaws (F3-17000CL11D-8GBXL) PC-2133 1.6v 11-11-11-30-1T
    Kingston 3x 120Gig SSD
    Evga 670gtx Sc 4gb
    Corsair Tx750 V2


    " If that Bong is filled with the right stuff you wouldn't give a damn how much noise the cooling system made lol" ViperJohn

  11. #11
    Member
    zangler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Houston, TX
    so i take it this is a common problem? any PSU recommendations? i dont have a friend with a great PSU atm...

    why dont i get any other indication that my PSU is not enough for the card? gaming wise and so forth?
    Last edited by zangler; 07-08-07 at 12:59 AM.
    CPU: Intel i860 @ 4.0ghz HT
    Mobo: Gigabyte p55-ud4p
    RAM: G.SKILL Trident 4GB 2000mhz
    HSF: Cogage TRUE
    GPU: Radeon 5850 eyfinity 3 22" samsungs
    PSU: Corsair hx 850w
    Case: HAF 932
    Storage: 4xWD640gb blacks in a 0 and 10
    OS: Win 7 64bit

  12. #12
    Member lordkosc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Northampton,Pa
    Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by zangler
    so i take it this is a common problem? any PSU recommendations? i dont have a friend with a great PSU atm...

    why dont i get any other indication that my PSU is not enough for the card? gaming wise and so forth?
    Its a problem if your Power supply is over utilized. The 8800GTS requires 26A on +12v line. But that would be for an entire SYSTEM.

    Just make sure you have at least 2 +12v lines, and dedicate one entirely to the GFX card. You should be ok with the power supply you have as long as you dedicate a line just to the GFX card. Else get a new power supply from ANTEC, they have some really nice ones with three +12v lines! And if you do get a new one , get a 550w or higher, its worth the few extra bucks.

    My next PSU will probably be this : http://www.antec.com/us/pro_p_TPTrio.php

    The 650w one ! It also comes in a 550w version for about $100 bucks...
    CPU & CPU Fan --------- i7 2600k @ 4.5 Ghz ||| CM Hyper 212+
    MoBo & Memory -------- Asus p8p67 Pro and 16GB Corsair XMS DDR3 1600
    SSD's ------------------ 2x 512GB Crucial MX100 (OS/Programs and Games)
    Game Backup HDD ----- 3TB WD Green
    Misc Storage HDDs ----- 5x 2 T.B SAMSUNG F4 5400 RPM 32MB
    Video Cards ------------- Gigabyte GTX 970 G1
    Monitors --------------- 1 Samsung 32" 1080p LCD TV ||| 1 x Dell 2007FPW Rev A02 |||
    Case/PSU/OS ---------- Antec P280 ||| Antec EarthWatts EA750 750W||| Windows 8 x64

    3dfx 1997-2002 ~~~ Nvidia 2002-present.
    AMD 1998-2008 ~~~ Intel 1993-1998 , 2008-present.

  13. #13

    ||Console||'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Halifax, NS
    No ofence but dont listen to the guy above . Get a nice strong unit not a anatec. the corsair 620 or 520 would do nice
    Asus z87-Plus
    4670k @ 4.7 ghz 1.35v 75deg C (water 120.3)
    Gskill Ripjaws (F3-17000CL11D-8GBXL) PC-2133 1.6v 11-11-11-30-1T
    Kingston 3x 120Gig SSD
    Evga 670gtx Sc 4gb
    Corsair Tx750 V2


    " If that Bong is filled with the right stuff you wouldn't give a damn how much noise the cooling system made lol" ViperJohn

  14. #14
    Old Member rainless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    CHI-Town Love is alive in Spain
    It could very well NOT be his powersupply. Hate to send the boy on a wild goose chase.

    I've got +12v1 17.5A, +12v2 17.5 AMP=35A... just two more than him. And I have two DVD drives, a water cooling unit, two hard drives, an impressive collection of fans, an IDE-->SATA adapter, EVGA 8800GTS 640, and a C2D overclocked. All that on a Fortron Bluestorm 500.

    I know it's more powerful (and better) than his power supply... but he has a lot less stuff in his system than I do. (And a faaaar less powerful CPU.)

    I'm leaning more towards drivers than the PSU. If it was the PSU it would crap out on him while he was playing games and there would be other problems.

    It could also be that the 8800GTS is using far more power while playing EVE online than his 6800 was (more shaders at work... etc...)

    And... like console said... stay away from Antec powersupplies. I don't trust any powersupply that can be bought from Compusa.
    Core 4 Q9550 @4003mhz 1.30v
    Core 2 Duo e8400 @ 4.6ghz 1.328v (E0 Stepping)
    Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.8ghz 1.525v
    Asus P5Q Pro 2002m @ 515x9 .63x 1.52
    OCZ Fatal1ty Edition 4GB DDR2 5-4-4-18 @ 2.18v w/OCZ XTC Ram Cooler
    Corsair 750TX PSU
    Sparkle 260 GTX (65nm, 216) 696c 1512s 999mem
    BLOCK: Swiftech Apogee GTZ RAD: BIXII REZ: MCRES-Micro rev2 PUMP: Pondmaster 750 FAN: 2 HS Yates CONTROLLER: Modified Evercool WC-202

  15. #15

    ||Console||'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Halifax, NS
    I didnt say it was his cpu I said it could be . Try the drivers if that doenst work post back
    Asus z87-Plus
    4670k @ 4.7 ghz 1.35v 75deg C (water 120.3)
    Gskill Ripjaws (F3-17000CL11D-8GBXL) PC-2133 1.6v 11-11-11-30-1T
    Kingston 3x 120Gig SSD
    Evga 670gtx Sc 4gb
    Corsair Tx750 V2


    " If that Bong is filled with the right stuff you wouldn't give a damn how much noise the cooling system made lol" ViperJohn

  16. #16
    Old Member rainless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    CHI-Town Love is alive in Spain
    Quote Originally Posted by ||Console||
    I didnt say it was his cpu I said it could be . Try the drivers if that doenst work post back
    I didn't say you said it was his cpu.
    Core 4 Q9550 @4003mhz 1.30v
    Core 2 Duo e8400 @ 4.6ghz 1.328v (E0 Stepping)
    Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.8ghz 1.525v
    Asus P5Q Pro 2002m @ 515x9 .63x 1.52
    OCZ Fatal1ty Edition 4GB DDR2 5-4-4-18 @ 2.18v w/OCZ XTC Ram Cooler
    Corsair 750TX PSU
    Sparkle 260 GTX (65nm, 216) 696c 1512s 999mem
    BLOCK: Swiftech Apogee GTZ RAD: BIXII REZ: MCRES-Micro rev2 PUMP: Pondmaster 750 FAN: 2 HS Yates CONTROLLER: Modified Evercool WC-202

  17. #17
    Member lordkosc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Northampton,Pa
    Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by ||Console||
    No ofence but dont listen to the guy above . Get a nice strong unit not a anatec. the corsair 620 or 520 would do nice
    I've never had any issues with Anatec , have you?
    CPU & CPU Fan --------- i7 2600k @ 4.5 Ghz ||| CM Hyper 212+
    MoBo & Memory -------- Asus p8p67 Pro and 16GB Corsair XMS DDR3 1600
    SSD's ------------------ 2x 512GB Crucial MX100 (OS/Programs and Games)
    Game Backup HDD ----- 3TB WD Green
    Misc Storage HDDs ----- 5x 2 T.B SAMSUNG F4 5400 RPM 32MB
    Video Cards ------------- Gigabyte GTX 970 G1
    Monitors --------------- 1 Samsung 32" 1080p LCD TV ||| 1 x Dell 2007FPW Rev A02 |||
    Case/PSU/OS ---------- Antec P280 ||| Antec EarthWatts EA750 750W||| Windows 8 x64

    3dfx 1997-2002 ~~~ Nvidia 2002-present.
    AMD 1998-2008 ~~~ Intel 1993-1998 , 2008-present.

  18. #18
    Member Mpegger's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    NYC
    Heatware Profile
    I'd say drivers as well. Try the easy stuff first before you just go throwing money at it. Even though Nvidia drivers sould work no matter what Nvidia card you put in it (even just upgrading), its best to totally remove the previous drivers, install new card, then install drivers, even if the drivers are the same exact version.

    Since you already have the card in, get the latest Forceware drivers (betas souldnt be necessary), un-install the current drivers, reboot in Safe Mode, use Driver Cleaner Pro to remove all remnants of the driver, reboot into normal Windows, and install the drivers.
    Main: NZXT Switch 810 | ASRock Z97 Extreme4 | i7 4790K| 32GiB | 780Ti
    ESXi Server: Lackrack Enterprise Edition | Dell R710 | 2 x Xeon X5570 | 96GiB | 14(28)TB ZFS-Raid10

    -----------------------------
    [GB ≠ GiB] [MB ≠ MiB] [kB ≠ kiB]
    "Apparently, Plaintiff believes that he could sue an egg company for fraud for labeling a carton of 12 eggs a “dozen,” because some bakers would view a “dozen” as including 13 items." - Western Digital 2006

    "One World, One Web, One Program" - Microsoft
    "Ein Volk, Ein Reich, Ein Führer" - Hitler

    (Microsucks) Avatar and quote on loan from AntmanMike
    Heatware

  19. #19
    Member
    zangler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Quote Originally Posted by Mpegger
    I'd say drivers as well. Try the easy stuff first before you just go throwing money at it. Even though Nvidia drivers sould work no matter what Nvidia card you put in it (even just upgrading), its best to totally remove the previous drivers, install new card, then install drivers, even if the drivers are the same exact version.

    Since you already have the card in, get the latest Forceware drivers (betas souldnt be necessary), un-install the current drivers, reboot in Safe Mode, use Driver Cleaner Pro to remove all remnants of the driver, reboot into normal Windows, and install the drivers.
    i will see what i can do about it before buying a new PSU. like i said, i have never had any problems with anything else, and run other much more demanding games (i.e. oblivion) for hours with everything on full with no hiccups or crashes or anything. thanks for the input guys.

    i have also never had problems with antec stuff before, and i know this PSU is a few years old, but was very highly reviewed when it came out...im not married to antec or anything, just dont think they are garbage...least not their stuff a few years ago.


    how would one dedicate a 12v line? i have 2 and have the pci-e connector going. not sure what else i can do.
    CPU: Intel i860 @ 4.0ghz HT
    Mobo: Gigabyte p55-ud4p
    RAM: G.SKILL Trident 4GB 2000mhz
    HSF: Cogage TRUE
    GPU: Radeon 5850 eyfinity 3 22" samsungs
    PSU: Corsair hx 850w
    Case: HAF 932
    Storage: 4xWD640gb blacks in a 0 and 10
    OS: Win 7 64bit

  20. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    What Forceware Drivers are you using? 158? 160b? 162b? I would try different drivers before I would look at the PSU. Process of Elimination.
    Pentium 90hz
    8MB RAM
    2MB IGP
    14.4k Modem

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •