Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Member ShadowPho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    I am in your stack, SUBbing your registers!
    Posts
    2,548

    What does Dell think its doing?

    "Take only that which you can give"
    Need Help? IM me! I want to help the OC community!

    MainComputer:
    E6400@2.69-4.0 gig RAM-8800GT
    ASUS P5N-E SLI


  2. #2
    Member ps2cho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Socal, no hella here
    Posts
    6,181
    So I assume not dual channel? What laptop is that?
    Main: i5-2500k @ 4.2GHz:.:P8Z77-V LE Plus Mobo:.:8GB DDR3 RAM:.:AMD 7870 2GB GPU:.:Corsair H50:.:Corsair 520HX PSU
    Laptop: Dell XPS12 Ultrabook
    Media Server: A6-5400k // ASRock FM2A75 Pro4-M // 4GB DDR3 // 60" Vizio LED 1080p
    HDD Server: Celeron 1840 // ASRock Z97Extreme4 // 6TB HDD's // Windows Server 2012


  3. #3
    Member Thund3rball's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    British Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    1,488
    Hmm, giving you the shaft I'd say (LOL). But seriously, they look like a perfectly matched pair even though they're two completely different manufacturers. Does brand really matter for dual channel in this case?
    DESKTOP
    AMD 5000+ BE @ 3.2GHz
    // GIGABYTE GA-MA770-DS3 // TUNIQ TOWER 120 // MUSHKIN 2x1 GB HP2-6400 // EVGA 8800GT SC // SEAGATE 3x250GB 7.2K // CORSAIR HX520 // DELL 2007WFP // RAZER Deathadder// XP

    LAPTOP
    DELL XPS M1530
    // T7500 2.2GHz // CORSAIR 3GB 667 // SEAGATE 200GB 7.2K // 8600M GT // LG WSXGA+ // 6c BATTERY // VISTA ULT. (RED)


    My Heatware

  4. #4
    Member ImSpartacus's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    138
    i have a desktop from there, i didnt think i would have to cross my fingers on whther i got the same manufactorer for my memory, but i guess i got lucky.

    i got 2 sticks from nanya, though they had far off serial numbers.

    that really sucks though, i didnt think even dell had that much of a lack of attention to detail.
    XPS 630 650i
    E8400 9x400
    4x1GB Dominator DDR2 800MHz
    8800GT stock
    2x250GB 7200.10 RAID 0
    Windows Vista Home Premium 32-bit

  5. #5
    Member SeasonalEclipse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    2,594
    the laptop might not even do dual channel.

    The Beast(Main)- P5QL/EPU, Q9550, 4GB DDR2 800, 2X320GB Perp, 750GB Cavalier,8800GT(for now) Corsair 750 Watt PSU, Enermax server case, 2x Dell 1908WFP, Vista Home
    http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=51210

  6. #6
    Member Airbornederekc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    massachusetts
    Posts
    1,188
    Thats why dell sucks. they use the cheapest crap on earth and sell it to you for too much than what its worth.
    Intel Core I7 X980 6 Core CPU @ 4.27Ghz
    Corsair H50 CPU cooler with Intel server 120mm fan
    Intel DX58SO Smack Over motherboard
    6GB OCZ DDR-III 1600Mhz (3x2GB) (OCZ3P1600LV6GK)
    1x Intel X25-M 80GB SATA SSD Drive
    2x Gigabyle Radeon HD 5870 1GB XFire (Vantage 31857)
    Enermax Galaxy Evo 1250w PSU
    Thermaltake Armor Chassis
    LG Blu-Ray + Sony DVD-RW

  7. #7
    Member EmAn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Ft. Hood Texas
    Posts
    2,507
    i would report it to the bbb and get them on dell

    then you can expect your customer service to change for the better!
    Cooler Master HAF 932 Asus P5Q-PRO E8400 4050mhz
    Tuniq Tower 120 Crossfire Diamond HD4850's 512mb a piece
    2x2 GB OCZ DDR2 1066 Platinum OCZ GameXStream 600W

    SPC in the US ARMY working on AH-64D Appache Longbow Attack Helicopters
    Yes I work on a $47,000,000 computer that has two jet engines attached to it A LOT of spinning parts and of course... Rockets, GUNS, and Missiles

  8. #8
    Member meionm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    4,703
    really pointless
    Dell XPS 1330 T8300, 4GB PC6400, LED Monitor, DVD Burner, Intel 4965 wireless, Bluetooth 360, 9cell battery, Windows Vista Ultimate, Remote

    Q9550, Gigabyte ex38 ds4, 4GB Corsair Dominator PC8500, evga 8800gt, Corsiar 520w psu, WD 640GB HD, LG Eide Dvd Burner, Antec P182

    HEATWARE

  9. #9
    Soichiro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Posts
    1,408
    Pff. That's not even as bad as it gets. If you read their Terms of Service, it gives them the right to use "refurbished" (used) parts in, get this, not only the computers they repair under warranty but also in NEW COMPUTERS!! YOU DON'T PUT USED PARTS IN NEW COMPUTERS! THAT'S JUST RIPPING PEOPLE OFF!! GOD! </capslock>
    "Recent studies show that guys who fold for team32 get more girls." - sno.lcn

    Intel i7-4770 Haswell @ 3.4 Ghz
    ASUS Z87-A
    8GB G.Skill DDR3-1333 @ 8-8-8-21
    60GB Boot SSD + 3x1TB WD 7200RPM in RAID 5
    ASUS Geforce GTX660 2GB


    Folding User Stats

  10. #10
    Member ShadowPho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    I am in your stack, SUBbing your registers!
    Posts
    2,548
    Well, the laptop is not for me, but for my parent's friends. They are just-just learning how to use a computer, so they are not going to game or do anything memory intensive. But vista does run like a dead dog on that laptop. I would have installed XP if it weren't for them leaving in 2 days.

    Blah. they have to leave to a different country in 2 days with the laptop, which means that memory has to stay there....
    "Take only that which you can give"
    Need Help? IM me! I want to help the OC community!

    MainComputer:
    E6400@2.69-4.0 gig RAM-8800GT
    ASUS P5N-E SLI


  11. #11
    Member kiltz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    san diego
    Posts
    366
    im suprised and i guess thats good, that both of their SPD timings are the same. dell really found an exact copycat of your Hyundai ram or other way around lol.
    homepage of mosel ram: http://www.mvc.com

  12. #12
    Magical Leopluridon Senior MadMan007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    in a magical field
    Posts
    5,294
    Looks to me like they mixed memory module manufactureres that run at their rated speed in what is meant to be a stock speed system. I know this looks bad to us in theory and it would be preferable in a way if they didn't do it but if it runs properly at the rated speed then I don't see the problem in practice...'for a Dell.'
    There are three sides to any argument - side A, side B, and the Truth

    "This had better be frikkin' important. Is the meadow on fire?"

  13. #13
    Member Cheator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada
    Posts
    5,371
    This doesn't happen often, I gota say. They are BIG on customer experience. I bet if you complained they'd send another unit out.
    Optimus (Main): Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB G.Skill PC8000, ATI 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TrueControl II
    Teletraan I (htpc): Asus M2N-E, X2 4400+, 2 GB DDR2, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 1.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w
    Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 4200+ X2, 2GB DDR2, ATI 2900xt, Seasonic 500w
    Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, Nvidia 8600m GT, 250gb hdd
    Gears: Asus Eee PC 701, 1 GB DDR, Win XP

    My Heatware!
    "Duct tape is like The Force. It has a light side, a dark side and it holds the universe together." - Malpine Walis

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •