• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

OCing my E6600

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Shadow_Spyder

Hey everyone, brand new here, GREAT site/forums by the way. Very informative.

Anywayz, I am wanting to OC my CPU ( Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 2.4 Ghz ) to better my performance when playing PC games. Primarily Microsoft Flight Sim 2004 and Armed Assault. I hear the E6600 can OC quite a lot and still be stable, so what would you gurus recommend for a new CPU speed?

Also, I was wondering if someone could walk me through OCing as I am a complete newb and have no idea what I am doing. I read up on it from these forums, but I am still not confident in myself to do it alone.

System Info:

CPU
CPU.jpg

Mainboard
Mainboard.jpg

Memory
Memory.jpg

Speed(?)
SPD.jpg

If there is any more info you might need, I will try to provide it. Thanks.

I havn't touched anything yet, so if it's "underclocked" thats how it came stock out of the box. Anyway, here is my info:

MSI P965 Platinum LGA 775 Intel P965 Express ATX Intel Motherboard

ENERMAX Liberty ELT500AWT ATX12V 500W Power Supply

CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model TWIN2X2048-6400

Nandro said:
Do you have any experience changing bios settings?

Very little. I've looked through them. I've had to mess around with setting which boot device and trying to get it to find my hard drive. Thats mostly about it....:(