Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    freakdiablo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Here

    Im guessing this needs some kinda receiver

    Im getting this mITX board and was thinking of just using onboard sound. But I noticed that in the specs, it said 5.1/7.1 HD audio, but only has the one line out. Could this be SPDIF/coax? (dunno about coaxial, but my z5400s have a coax input so I suspect that some things still use it). It doesnt say on that site, but Im guessing Im going to need a receiver. I hope its coax, so I could use it with my z5400s, but if it isnt Ill just end up using my old x210s and headphones. Just one of those things Im curious about.
    Main: MOBO: MSI P67A-G45, CPU: i7 2600k w/ VenX (4.4ghz @ 1.33v), RAM: 2x8gb Kingston HyperX Blu Red Series DDR3 1600, GFX: Galaxy GTX670 GC, PSU: OCZ 1250w ZX, CASE: Corsair 500R, HDD: 120gb Samsung 840, WD 4TB Black
    Quick, Cheap, and Dirty NAS: Sempron 140, Hyper 212+ with 800RPM Scythe Slipstreams, 4gb ram, 5x2tb Hitachis in RAID5, Seasonic SSR-360GP, Antec 300, Biostar Tpower motherboard, APC BR700G UPS, Buffalo WZR-HP-AG300H router (Upgrade in the works)
    Laptop: Lenovo Thinkpad X220 HTPC: Zotac ZBOX AD04-U w/ 6GB Samsung 1333mhz, 64GB Adata Premier Pro SP900
    Protobox-1: Raspberry Pi Mod. B Rev. 2, 2.5" LCD, 12v 1A PSU, Aluminum RatShack project box, GPIO breakout board

    Project 1UP || Interested in the performance of the new AMD AM1 socket? Ask me, I'll test it!
    Bored of games? Nothing good on internet radio or youtube? Dont waste your GHz, find them before they find us. SETI

  2. #2
    Member Roofles's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Brew City
    Yeah that is pretty confusing. The spec says 5.1/7.1 sound but if you look at the back panel i/o you have just line-out, line-in, and mic-in. There doesn't appear to be any digital outs either.
    Q6600 - 3.42 (380x9) 1.48V : IP35 Pro : 2x2GB OCZ Reaper HPC
    New GTX275 OC to come : HP w2207
    X-Fi Platinum (Op Amp modded) : Audio Technica A500's
    Tuniq Tower 120 : Antec P182
    Running: Windows 7 RC and Fedora 10 (PREEMPT_RT)

    "If science is the dispassionate pursuit of objective truth, then it stands to reason that mad science is the completely irrational pursuit of a nutty project that the rest of the world will never completely understand." -Popular Mechanics

  3. #3
    freakdiablo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Here
    Quote Originally Posted by Roofles
    Yeah that is pretty confusing. The spec says 5.1/7.1 sound but if you look at the back panel i/o you have just line-out, line-in, and mic-in. There doesn't appear to be any digital outs either.
    Is there any kind of adapter? And I think they mean its 2.1 but then has a 5.1/7.1 DVD pass through type thing.
    Main: MOBO: MSI P67A-G45, CPU: i7 2600k w/ VenX (4.4ghz @ 1.33v), RAM: 2x8gb Kingston HyperX Blu Red Series DDR3 1600, GFX: Galaxy GTX670 GC, PSU: OCZ 1250w ZX, CASE: Corsair 500R, HDD: 120gb Samsung 840, WD 4TB Black
    Quick, Cheap, and Dirty NAS: Sempron 140, Hyper 212+ with 800RPM Scythe Slipstreams, 4gb ram, 5x2tb Hitachis in RAID5, Seasonic SSR-360GP, Antec 300, Biostar Tpower motherboard, APC BR700G UPS, Buffalo WZR-HP-AG300H router (Upgrade in the works)
    Laptop: Lenovo Thinkpad X220 HTPC: Zotac ZBOX AD04-U w/ 6GB Samsung 1333mhz, 64GB Adata Premier Pro SP900
    Protobox-1: Raspberry Pi Mod. B Rev. 2, 2.5" LCD, 12v 1A PSU, Aluminum RatShack project box, GPIO breakout board

    Project 1UP || Interested in the performance of the new AMD AM1 socket? Ask me, I'll test it!
    Bored of games? Nothing good on internet radio or youtube? Dont waste your GHz, find them before they find us. SETI

  4. #4
    Member Mr. Roboto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by freakdiablo
    Is there any kind of adapter? And I think they mean its 2.1 but then has a 5.1/7.1 DVD pass through type thing.
    I don't think so, they're typically not green.
    Main Rig: e8400 l ASUS P5K Deluxe l G.Skill 4GB HZ's l GTX 280 l 2x320gb 7200.10 Raid 0 l X-FI Platinum l CM Stacker 830 l OCZ 700W GameXtreme l Logitech z-5500's l G5 l Saitek Eclipse II l 2 x 2407 WFP
    HTPC:P4 2.8 l 1.5GB ram l 7600GS l HVR-1600 l 400gb raid 0 l Audigy 1 l Coolermaster 280 l 37" Olevia

  5. #5
    Member smokie mcpott's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    OKC
    the software will convert the 3 jacks to center/sub, front r+l, and rear r+L..hence the 5.1
    not sure how they get 7.1 out of it, unless you use the audio header on the mobo itself to output other channels

  6. #6
    freakdiablo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Here
    Quote Originally Posted by smokie mcpott
    not sure how they get 7.1 out of it, unless you use the audio header on the mobo itself to output other channels
    Its probably like an xfi, where it adds one of the side speakers to the front L/R port and the other to the rear L/R port (I think, I know it adds the two side speakers to the other channels.) The only problem with that is that THAT I KNOW OF there are only a few creative speakers that can decode the two side speakers. Thats what Im guessing if it converts all three jacks to the audio out.
    Main: MOBO: MSI P67A-G45, CPU: i7 2600k w/ VenX (4.4ghz @ 1.33v), RAM: 2x8gb Kingston HyperX Blu Red Series DDR3 1600, GFX: Galaxy GTX670 GC, PSU: OCZ 1250w ZX, CASE: Corsair 500R, HDD: 120gb Samsung 840, WD 4TB Black
    Quick, Cheap, and Dirty NAS: Sempron 140, Hyper 212+ with 800RPM Scythe Slipstreams, 4gb ram, 5x2tb Hitachis in RAID5, Seasonic SSR-360GP, Antec 300, Biostar Tpower motherboard, APC BR700G UPS, Buffalo WZR-HP-AG300H router (Upgrade in the works)
    Laptop: Lenovo Thinkpad X220 HTPC: Zotac ZBOX AD04-U w/ 6GB Samsung 1333mhz, 64GB Adata Premier Pro SP900
    Protobox-1: Raspberry Pi Mod. B Rev. 2, 2.5" LCD, 12v 1A PSU, Aluminum RatShack project box, GPIO breakout board

    Project 1UP || Interested in the performance of the new AMD AM1 socket? Ask me, I'll test it!
    Bored of games? Nothing good on internet radio or youtube? Dont waste your GHz, find them before they find us. SETI

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •