Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Member bobthemoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    England

    Did something stupid again...

    Long story short - My computer now runs with a 800x600 res and 4 bit colour.

    http://tinypic.com/view.php?pic=6ex5uo0

    This happened when I was turning my computer off two days ago, and I accidently killed the nVidia display driver in Process Explorer. When I turned my machine back on, it looked like this and still does.

    I tried reinstalling the drivers, and even updating them but it still doesn't work.

    I've checked msconfig and the correct box is checked for the driver.

    Not sure how to proceed, any help will be greatly appreciated.

    EDIT number 2: After a restart, the problem has come back again
    Last edited by bobthemoo; 07-19-07 at 10:39 AM.
    E6850
    2GB DDR2 Crucial RAM
    Maxtor 200GB HD x2, Samsung 80GB HD
    PNY 8800GTS 640Mb
    Seasonic S-12 600w PSU


    And my baby (Macbook)

  2. #2
    Member core2due's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    USA-ct
    Did you run driver clean or what ever it's called?

  3. #3
    Member bobthemoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    England
    Nope I don't have it. Is it possible to get a free trial of it?
    Last edited by bobthemoo; 07-19-07 at 10:40 AM.
    E6850
    2GB DDR2 Crucial RAM
    Maxtor 200GB HD x2, Samsung 80GB HD
    PNY 8800GTS 640Mb
    Seasonic S-12 600w PSU


    And my baby (Macbook)

  4. #4
    Member nd4spdbh2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Camarillo, CA!
    #12 in the 4ghz core 2 duo club baby! - 52 inches of CRYSIS! - Black Belt Ubercloxx0r -- Heatware
    Main -- Lian Li V2000b -- i7 2700k -- MSI Z68A-GD80 -- 12gb 1600 -- GTX560Ti --Adata 128gb S510 & 2x500gb -- Seasonic S12 600w -- Dell 2209WA
    HTPC -- Silverstone GD05B -- E7200 @ 3.2ghz -- G41-M7 -- 4GB 800mhz -- g210 passive -- 320gb 2.5in WD -- Antec EA 430w -- 52inch Samsung LCD
    Server -- Antec NSK4480B -- E3300 @ 2.5ghz -- ECS G33T-M2 -- 3gb 667mhz -- Onboard Vid -- 500Gb + 1TB hatachi + 1tb WD -- Zalman 400w
    Netbook - Dell Mini 9 - Atom 1.6ghz - 8GB ssd - 2GB pc6400 - WIN 7 PRO!
    Need 4 Speed - BH

  5. #5
    Did you try system restore?
    Dell XPS 1330 T8300, 4GB PC6400, LED Monitor, DVD Burner, Intel 4965 wireless, Bluetooth 360, 9cell battery, Windows Vista Ultimate, Remote

    Q9550, Gigabyte ex38 ds4, 4GB Corsair Dominator PC8500, evga 8800gt, Corsiar 520w psu, WD 640GB HD, LG Eide Dvd Burner, Antec P182

    HEATWARE

  6. #6
    Member bobthemoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    England
    Thanks for the drivercleaner links. When I looked it said I had to pay for it =\

    Anyway, I tried using it and it didn't work. Same with system restore. This is getting rather annoying now
    E6850
    2GB DDR2 Crucial RAM
    Maxtor 200GB HD x2, Samsung 80GB HD
    PNY 8800GTS 640Mb
    Seasonic S-12 600w PSU


    And my baby (Macbook)

  7. #7
    Member White_Pawn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    ehhh. fresh install of xp?
    - - M a i n R i g - -
    E2140 @ 375 x 8 = 3ghz w/ 1.3375v
    ^Tuniq Tower 120^
    Gigabyte P35-S3L
    powercolor HD4890 @ 850/975
    OCZ System 1337s 2x1 5-5-5-15 2T @ 450mhz.
    2TB 7200.12+ Seagate
    Silverstone Decathalon 650W Modular

  8. #8
    Seņor Senior Member Nebulous's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    The Empire State
    Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by White_Pawn
    ehhh. fresh install of xp?

    You might have to remove the current video card, use a back-up video card to reinstall XP, then after the install swap video cards and reinstall the new VC drivers. I had to do this a few times on other machines to get the video display to work properly.

    <MEGA-O>
    ASRock Z97 Extreme 6 /i7 4790K De-Lid @ 4.7GHz
    16GB GSKILL Sniper F3-17000CL11D-8GBSR @ 2400MHz
    H2O=XSPC Rasa Black / XSPC RX360 / MCP-655 D5 / MCRes
    Corsair Force GS SSD 128GB / WD VelociRaptor 300GB
    Gigabyte GV-R797OC-3GD WF3 @ 1100/1500 w/ModBios
    Sony AD-7220S / Corsair Force 3 120GB / Lite On LH-16A1S
    SilverStone Zeus SST-ZM1350 1350w
    CM Cosmos 1000 / Win8.1 x64
    ** Under TITLE II, SECTION 210.340 it is legal to overclock **

  9. #9
    Member bobthemoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    England
    Actually, this gives me a good excuse to finally reinstall XP. I'll try what you said Nebulous.

    Thanks people.
    E6850
    2GB DDR2 Crucial RAM
    Maxtor 200GB HD x2, Samsung 80GB HD
    PNY 8800GTS 640Mb
    Seasonic S-12 600w PSU


    And my baby (Macbook)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •