Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Give me a break Senior
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Author Profile

    menu.lst DESTROYED, now what?

    I'm too furious to go into details right now. Here's where I am. DSL destroyed my menu.lst and backup so nothing boots now. How do I fix this!?!?!? I probably could dope it out but I'm looking for a fast solution. I'm too busy concentrating on not going berserk to think right now so if someone could just spoon feed me an answer I won't wind up doing time in a mental health facility and you will have my gratitude.

    thank you.
    Thank you Baby. I love you.

  2. #2
    Misfit138's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Jersey
    Boot into a live cd, mount your drive and create a new /boot/grub/menu.lst.

    You can use the one from the live cd as a guide.

    So say your hard drive with the broken grub is sda1. Just do

    mkdir /mnt/disk
    mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/disk

    cd /mnt/disk/boot/grub

    and then

    nano menu.lst

    EDIT heres a loose guide as to what to put in there:

    timeout 5
    default 0
    # TIP: If you want a 1024x768 framebuffer, add "vga=773" to your kernel line.
    # (0) Linux on sata a
    title Linux
    root (hd0,0)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz26 root=/devsda1 ro vga=773
    initrd /boot/kernel26.img

    Last edited by Misfit138; 07-19-07 at 09:50 PM.
    archlinux: Power in simplicity.
    Amiga 1000 microATX mod

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    If you still get this:

    grub>

    Then you can enter what was in the menu.lst by hand to boot stuff. With a 'boot' command to run what you just typed.

  4. #4
    Senior Member MRD's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    CT
    We can write one for you easily enough if you provide us with the details of your partitioning scheme (which os's on which partition, names of kernels, etc.) I don't know any easier fix.

  5. #5
    Give me a break Senior
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Author Profile
    I've calmed down, and am a little bit less insane at this point. I'm closer to my happy place now so I'll plug away at it myself for a bit before I ask for more help.
    Thank you Baby. I love you.

  6. #6
    ASCII Moderator
    Overclockers.com Lead Editor

    splat's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Philly
    Author Profile
    i'm not 100% sure, but the DSL cd might have a menu.lst on it (that it copies over when you do a hdd install), so you might be able to simply copy that over. at any rate, as was stated above, if you get to teh grub prompt, you can insert the commands manually to get in to the system, then recreate your menu.lst.
    ______________________________/\/\__________________/\/\_____
    _______/\/\/\/\__/\/\/\/\____/\/\____/\/\/\______/\/\/\/\/\__
    ____/\/\/\/\____/\/\__/\/\__/\/\________/\/\______/\/\_______
    _________/\/\__/\/\/\/\____/\/\____/\/\/\/\______/\/\________
    __/\/\/\/\____/\/\________/\/\/\__/\/\/\/\/\____/\/\/\_______
    _____________/\/\___________
    once you clock you can't go stock
    [RHCSA, RHCE] || articles || folding stats || overclockers last.fm group


  7. #7
    Senior Member MRD's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    CT
    This is why you should never, ever let automatic installers mess with your boot loader. Always set it up yourself. Just learn how to use grub and write your own grub files, and each time you add a new os, just add a new entry for it in your grub.conf file.

  8. #8
    Senior Django-loving Member Captain Newbie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Right seat with a bored "don't kill me" expression
    Quote Originally Posted by MRD
    This is why you should never, ever let automatic installers mess with your boot loader. Always set it up yourself. Just learn how to use grub and write your own grub files, and each time you add a new os, just add a new entry for it in your grub.conf file.
    Oh, we Gentoo users have it so good—no automation messing with our stuff
    B.S. Computer Science, B.A. Political Science | Commercial Pilot Airplane Single and Multiengine Land, Instrument Airplane
    "And, while with silent lifting mind I've trod
    The high untresspassed sanctity of space
    Put out my hand, and touched the face of God."

    Strong * Focused * Safe
    Apple Mac Pro 4,1, Two Nehalem Xeons 2.26GHzx4 (Hyperthreaded), 12 GB DDR3 FBDRAM | MacBook Pro 15" (2009)

  9. #9
    Give me a break Senior
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Author Profile
    Well, thanks to my own little bit of knowledge on Linux, Google, and a whole lot of patience, skill and assistance from MRD, I am now posting from Ubuntu again!! And that DSL CD is going to meet with a little accident in the next day or two......

    Much public thanks to MRD!
    Thank you Baby. I love you.

  10. #10
    Senior Django-loving Member Captain Newbie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Right seat with a bored "don't kill me" expression
    Quote Originally Posted by eobard
    Well, thanks to my own little bit of knowledge on Linux, Google, and a whole lot of patience, skill and assistance from MRD, I am now posting from Ubuntu again!! And that DSL CD is going to meet with a little accident in the next day or two......

    Much public thanks to MRD!
    Out of curiosity, does Ubuntu by default set you up with a separate /boot partition? And does it mark this partition as automount?
    B.S. Computer Science, B.A. Political Science | Commercial Pilot Airplane Single and Multiengine Land, Instrument Airplane
    "And, while with silent lifting mind I've trod
    The high untresspassed sanctity of space
    Put out my hand, and touched the face of God."

    Strong * Focused * Safe
    Apple Mac Pro 4,1, Two Nehalem Xeons 2.26GHzx4 (Hyperthreaded), 12 GB DDR3 FBDRAM | MacBook Pro 15" (2009)

  11. #11
    Senior Member MRD's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    CT
    Multiboot is something best handled manually. Trust any system to set it all up automagically and never break anything and you are asking for trouble. Learn Grub. Love Grub. Grub is your friend.

  12. #12
    Give me a break Senior
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Author Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by Captain Newbie
    Out of curiosity, does Ubuntu by default set you up with a separate /boot partition? And does it mark this partition as automount?
    Well mine isn't on a seperate partition, and I don't remember altering the default configuration when I installed it, which was a while ago, but I'm going to speculatively presume that it does not default to a seperate partition for /boot.
    Thank you Baby. I love you.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •