Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1

    Arrow Upgrade CPU on Thinkpad?

    Jsut got a older Thinkpad R50 with a Banias core Pentium m 1.6 with 1Meg of cache.

    The laptop uses Older SDRAM.

    Question is I have a Dothan Pentium 750 2 Meg Cache that I wanna run in this laptop.


    When I put it in it boots up just fine but in CPUZ its stuck at 598Mhz.

    Ive played with every power option and it just sits there and doesnt ever change. Is there compability issues with the 855i chipset that this Laptop has??

    If its not gonna work does anyone know the max possible cpu this laptop can handle? It should be pretty cheap these days.

    Sorry for all the questions but all help is needed and appreciated.


    Thanks guys.
    New System.

    i7 930 @ 4300Mhz @ 1.300Vcore.
    6 Gigs of Gskillz
    MSI X58 PRO-E
    2x MSI Geforce GTX 480 SLI still test max clocks.
    GT 240 Dedicated PhyX Card.
    Corsair H50 with twin Noctua 120mm Fans.
    2x500 GIG in raid 0
    X-Fi Extreme Gamer.
    Ultra 1000W Psus
    ACER GD235HZ 120Hz monitor.

  2. #2
    Member Xenocide's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    IIRC the 2mb chips and 1mb chips were not interchangeable.

    dothans which is the 2mb chip operated on the 915 chipset...
    A positive attitude may not solve all your problems, but it will annoy enough people to make it worth the effort.

  3. #3
    So what was the fastest 1mb chip they made?
    New System.

    i7 930 @ 4300Mhz @ 1.300Vcore.
    6 Gigs of Gskillz
    MSI X58 PRO-E
    2x MSI Geforce GTX 480 SLI still test max clocks.
    GT 240 Dedicated PhyX Card.
    Corsair H50 with twin Noctua 120mm Fans.
    2x500 GIG in raid 0
    X-Fi Extreme Gamer.
    Ultra 1000W Psus
    ACER GD235HZ 120Hz monitor.

  4. #4
    Member Xenocide's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    a SIMPLE, GOOGLE search told me there was a 1.7ghz Banias processor released June 2nd 2003, and it was the last one in the family.

    So stick with what you have.
    A positive attitude may not solve all your problems, but it will annoy enough people to make it worth the effort.

  5. #5
    Thats what I found too, I thought that you guys would have a better alternative.
    New System.

    i7 930 @ 4300Mhz @ 1.300Vcore.
    6 Gigs of Gskillz
    MSI X58 PRO-E
    2x MSI Geforce GTX 480 SLI still test max clocks.
    GT 240 Dedicated PhyX Card.
    Corsair H50 with twin Noctua 120mm Fans.
    2x500 GIG in raid 0
    X-Fi Extreme Gamer.
    Ultra 1000W Psus
    ACER GD235HZ 120Hz monitor.

  6. #6
    Old Member rainless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    CHI-Town Love is alive in Spain
    Quote Originally Posted by Tweak486Dx2
    Thats what I found too, I thought that you guys would have a better alternative.
    Nope. Processors are a pretty narrow field... Unless you have the 945 chipset.

    Get a 945 laptop... preferably a Core Solo or a Core Duo. They should be pretty cheap now (I got mine for five something). Then you can upgrade to any Core Solo or Core 2 Duo processor (except the newer C2Ds).
    Core 4 Q9550 @4003mhz 1.30v
    Core 2 Duo e8400 @ 4.6ghz 1.328v (E0 Stepping)
    Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.8ghz 1.525v
    Asus P5Q Pro 2002m @ 515x9 .63x 1.52
    OCZ Fatal1ty Edition 4GB DDR2 5-4-4-18 @ 2.18v w/OCZ XTC Ram Cooler
    Corsair 750TX PSU
    Sparkle 260 GTX (65nm, 216) 696c 1512s 999mem
    BLOCK: Swiftech Apogee GTZ RAD: BIXII REZ: MCRES-Micro rev2 PUMP: Pondmaster 750 FAN: 2 HS Yates CONTROLLER: Modified Evercool WC-202

  7. #7
    Member ps2cho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Socal, no hella here
    Well the fact that it boots up is the sign that it IS compatible, it is most likely the BIOS is not programmed for this CPU and that is the reason why it is running it at the low speed. Not much you can do about that unless you can program BIOS'
    Main: i5-2500k @ 4.2GHz:.:P8Z77-V LE Plus Mobo:.:8GB DDR3 RAM:.:AMD 7870 2GB GPU:.:Corsair H50:.:Corsair 520HX PSU
    Laptop: Dell XPS12 Ultrabook
    Media Server: A6-5400k // ASRock FM2A75 Pro4-M // 4GB DDR3 // 60" Vizio LED 1080p
    HDD Server: Celeron 1840 // ASRock Z97Extreme4 // 6TB HDD's // Windows Server 2012


  8. #8
    Member FTC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Barcelona, Spain
    Guys, I think you are wrong on this. You can generally put a 2M Dothan chip in a machine w/a Banias 1M one... It is only that you need a Dothan with 400Mhz bus, and not the 533Mhz Dothans... basically any 7x5 will do (the max is the 765 2.1Ghz one). Your 750 is a 533Mhz bus one and that is the reason why most probably is not even recognized by BIOS and just boots to the minimum multiplier (6x), thus the 600Mhz. In any case if you want to live with your 750 you can most likely force the higher multipliers with NHC or RMCLOCK utilities...
    AOpen s661FXM-FSN, PM "Dothan" 1.8 @ 2.61Ghz (1.66v),XP90 cooler, Sapphire HD3850 AGP. 2048MB uccc, WD Black 1Tb HDD. PLextor PX712A+PX760A
    Canon iP5200R Printer. Lappy: IBM T400 C2D 2.4

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    I did this.

    2M is compatible. 750 will not work (they're multi-locked btw, so you'll be stuck at 1.3ghz max or something). You need the 7x5 series that have the 400 fsb. Also, the 7x5a series are not supported by the BIOS so you'd need to hack them (with NHC?) to work.

    Edit: even with NHC the most your 750 will do is 1.4ghz.

  10. #10
    I cant figure out how to adjust multi with NHC??

    I was thinking it was the 533Bus issue also, I wish I had a 400fsb 2m Dothan to check before I go and spend money on one hoping that it works.
    New System.

    i7 930 @ 4300Mhz @ 1.300Vcore.
    6 Gigs of Gskillz
    MSI X58 PRO-E
    2x MSI Geforce GTX 480 SLI still test max clocks.
    GT 240 Dedicated PhyX Card.
    Corsair H50 with twin Noctua 120mm Fans.
    2x500 GIG in raid 0
    X-Fi Extreme Gamer.
    Ultra 1000W Psus
    ACER GD235HZ 120Hz monitor.

  11. #11
    Ok with rmclock I got it to 1400 Mhz. Is there anyway to squeeze out that last 486 Mhz? Is there any programs that allow fsb increase's?


    If there isnt any way and its stuck at 1400 Mhz what would be better to run:

    the 750 with 2M cache @ 1400Mhz??

    Or the Banias Core with 1m Cache @ 1600 Mhz?

    My finger dyno seems to think that the Banias seems a little faster. And it doesnt need software to run quicker.
    New System.

    i7 930 @ 4300Mhz @ 1.300Vcore.
    6 Gigs of Gskillz
    MSI X58 PRO-E
    2x MSI Geforce GTX 480 SLI still test max clocks.
    GT 240 Dedicated PhyX Card.
    Corsair H50 with twin Noctua 120mm Fans.
    2x500 GIG in raid 0
    X-Fi Extreme Gamer.
    Ultra 1000W Psus
    ACER GD235HZ 120Hz monitor.

  12. #12
    Epic Fail Guy JamesXP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    England
    Run a bench or two?


    Oh and theres something weird there


    The last 486 go check your name
    i5 3570K @ 4.5GHz
    Thermalright Macho 120
    ASRock Z77 Pro4
    8GB Kingston HyperX 1600MHz
    128GB Samsung 830 SSD
    EVGA GTX770 ACX
    EVGA Supernova 750G2
    Corsair 650D

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Sell the 750 and get a proper 2M chip. Otherwise the Banias will definitely be faster.

  14. #14
    I cant find these chips for sale anywhere? Only like 2 places have them, starmicro and memorytek. And they only carry up to the 1.8.


    So u guys think the 400 Mhz chip will really work without having to use software to keep it at its max speed??
    New System.

    i7 930 @ 4300Mhz @ 1.300Vcore.
    6 Gigs of Gskillz
    MSI X58 PRO-E
    2x MSI Geforce GTX 480 SLI still test max clocks.
    GT 240 Dedicated PhyX Card.
    Corsair H50 with twin Noctua 120mm Fans.
    2x500 GIG in raid 0
    X-Fi Extreme Gamer.
    Ultra 1000W Psus
    ACER GD235HZ 120Hz monitor.

  15. #15
    New System.

    i7 930 @ 4300Mhz @ 1.300Vcore.
    6 Gigs of Gskillz
    MSI X58 PRO-E
    2x MSI Geforce GTX 480 SLI still test max clocks.
    GT 240 Dedicated PhyX Card.
    Corsair H50 with twin Noctua 120mm Fans.
    2x500 GIG in raid 0
    X-Fi Extreme Gamer.
    Ultra 1000W Psus
    ACER GD235HZ 120Hz monitor.

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Yes, the 400 will work without software. The one you linked will work. On ebay you'll find that one for around 60, the 2ghz 755 for around 150, and the 2.1ghz 765 for 200+.

  17. #17
    Member FTC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Barcelona, Spain
    Is there anyway to squeeze out that last 486 Mhz? Is there any programs that allow fsb increase's?

    Well, you can try SETFSB http://www13.plala.or.jp/setfsb/ I've had success in the past with the one for the Thinkpad X31 in a T40, so it may work in your R50... but it all depends on the PLL (clock generatior) your machine has. I know for sure that the same trick does not work for my T42...

    Note however that even in that case the max. you can expect from the R50 is to increase the FSB to 112 or 113 Mhz which would make your speed close to 1.6Ghz anyways.
    AOpen s661FXM-FSN, PM "Dothan" 1.8 @ 2.61Ghz (1.66v),XP90 cooler, Sapphire HD3850 AGP. 2048MB uccc, WD Black 1Tb HDD. PLextor PX712A+PX760A
    Canon iP5200R Printer. Lappy: IBM T400 C2D 2.4

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •