• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Any Macbook users out there?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

penquissciguy

I have just found out that I am going to be supplied with a new Macbook within the next few weeks through work. I looked up the specs and was pleasantly surprised - 13.3" widescreen, 2 GHz Core 2 Duo, 1 gig of RAM, CD burner/DVD reader, all weighing in at about 5 pounds. I've very little experience with Macs, and none with the Intel Macs. Anyone have good suggestions for third party (free) software to use on this unit? Anything to watch out for as far as build quality or other quirks? Thanks.

Ken

I have just found out that I am going to be supplied with a new Macbook within the next few weeks through work. I looked up the specs and was pleasantly surprised - 13.3" widescreen, 2 GHz Core 2 Duo, 1 gig of RAM, CD burner/DVD reader, all weighing in at about 5 pounds. I've very little experience with Macs, and none with the Intel Macs. Anyone have good suggestions for third party (free) software to use on this unit? Anything to watch out for as far as build quality or other quirks? Thanks.

Ken

You can find a good deal of freeware and shareware at www.pure-mac.com. With 1 GB of RAM and a 2 GHz chip you shouldn't have trouble running any PPC applications if you come across any, but that shouldn't matter too much nowadays as most Mac software is now universal binary.

The initial Macbooks last year had reports of overheating, but I haven't read anything negative about the C2D Macbooks.

And/or Linux. :)

Yes, that's part of the plan if I can talk my IT director into it.