Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: free dns name

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Canada

    free dns name

    i hope i am using the right term here, but are they any good free dns providers that will take my ip -> www.****.*****
    Game Rig : Windows 7 Pro SP1
    AMD Phenom II X6 1100T, Asus M4A89GTD PRO/USB3, 8GB Mushkin Enhanced Blackline Frostbyte DDR3-1600, XFX Radeon HD 6950 2GB, 1x 120GB OCZ Vertex, 1x Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 500GB, LG 16x DVD RW, Corsair Graphite Series 600T, Corsair HX 850watt, Zalman CNPS9900A


    Server : FreeBSD 8.2
    Intel E6600, Asus P5B Deluxe, 2GB OCZ PC-7200 Spec Ops, Asus 260GTX 896MB, 1x Western Digital 640GB, 4x Western Digital Green 2TB in RAIDZ1, Norco RPC-470 4U, Enermax Liberty 500watt

  2. #2
    Member nd4spdbh2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Camarillo, CA!
    Quote Originally Posted by cliffboss View Post
    i hope i am using the right term here, but are they any good free dns providers that will take my ip -> www.****.*****


    www.tk i have used them for a long time but recently they started puttin tons of adds and junk which sorta sucks but its no biggie for me as i just directly link ppl to my site on my cs server.
    #12 in the 4ghz core 2 duo club baby! - 52 inches of CRYSIS! - Black Belt Ubercloxx0r -- Heatware
    Main -- Lian Li V2000b -- i7 2700k -- MSI Z68A-GD80 -- 12gb 1600 -- GTX560Ti --Adata 128gb S510 & 2x500gb -- Seasonic S12 600w -- Dell 2209WA
    HTPC -- Silverstone GD05B -- E7200 @ 3.2ghz -- G41-M7 -- 4GB 800mhz -- g210 passive -- 320gb 2.5in WD -- Antec EA 430w -- 52inch Samsung LCD
    Server -- Antec NSK4480B -- E3300 @ 2.5ghz -- ECS G33T-M2 -- 3gb 667mhz -- Onboard Vid -- 500Gb + 1TB hatachi + 1tb WD -- Zalman 400w
    Netbook - Dell Mini 9 - Atom 1.6ghz - 8GB ssd - 2GB pc6400 - WIN 7 PRO!
    Need 4 Speed - BH

  3. #3
    Folding for Team 32! Ben333's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Author Profile
    www.freedomain.co.nr

    My clan and I have used it for years. www.333networks.co.nr

    And

    www.dot.tk

    My clan has used this since 2005
    www.source-clan.tk

  4. #4
    Member nd4spdbh2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Camarillo, CA!
    Quote Originally Posted by ben333 View Post
    www.freedomain.co.nr

    My clan and I have used it for years. www.333networks.co.nr

    And

    www.dot.tk

    My clan has used this since 2005
    www.source-clan.tk

    how did you get your .tk to not have any adds?
    #12 in the 4ghz core 2 duo club baby! - 52 inches of CRYSIS! - Black Belt Ubercloxx0r -- Heatware
    Main -- Lian Li V2000b -- i7 2700k -- MSI Z68A-GD80 -- 12gb 1600 -- GTX560Ti --Adata 128gb S510 & 2x500gb -- Seasonic S12 600w -- Dell 2209WA
    HTPC -- Silverstone GD05B -- E7200 @ 3.2ghz -- G41-M7 -- 4GB 800mhz -- g210 passive -- 320gb 2.5in WD -- Antec EA 430w -- 52inch Samsung LCD
    Server -- Antec NSK4480B -- E3300 @ 2.5ghz -- ECS G33T-M2 -- 3gb 667mhz -- Onboard Vid -- 500Gb + 1TB hatachi + 1tb WD -- Zalman 400w
    Netbook - Dell Mini 9 - Atom 1.6ghz - 8GB ssd - 2GB pc6400 - WIN 7 PRO!
    Need 4 Speed - BH

  5. #5
    Folding for Team 32! Ben333's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Author Profile
    Our web designer, my friend did that. Want his email address? I'm too lazy to ask him lol.

  6. #6
    Member PhysX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Calgary
    .rk is good, also no-ip.com

  7. #7
    Member smokie mcpott's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    OKC
    dyndns.com is good as well

  8. #8
    Member Omsion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Chicago and/or NJ
    Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by nd4spdbh2 View Post
    how did you get your .tk to not have any adds?
    I think you can throw some javascript at it.
    Current
    2500K | ASRock Z68 Pro3-M | TR Venomous X
    EVGA GTX 460 768MB | 2x4GB G.Skill (F3-12800CL9D-8GBSR2)
    Seasonic X650 | Fractal Design Define Mini

  9. #9
    Member Fr3@k3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    (Lat 47 8' 22.1316")(Long -122 29' 52.9152") (Lakewood Wa)
    Ive always used http://www.DynDns.com

    you must install updating software but hell its free and it works flawlessly.
    [Game Rig] AMD FX6300 Asrock 970 Extreme4 16GB Ripjaw PC314900 HD7850 Seasonic 850w Windows 8.1
    [Dads] Intel Celeron 530 - Biostar H61MGC - 4GB TeamWin DDR3 - PowerColor R7 260X - 160GB - FSP Bluestorm 500w - Win 8.1
    [Unused System] Intel 6500 - Gigabyte GA-G41M-ES2L - 4GB DDR2 3x3TB, 6x1TB , 1x2TB - Antec Earthwatt 650w - W7+FlexRaid
    (HEATWARE)

  10. #10
    Member smokie mcpott's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    OKC
    Quote Originally Posted by Fr3@k3r View Post
    Ive always used http://www.DynDns.com

    you must install updating software but hell its free and it works flawlessly.
    you dont have to install anything, you can update through most routers and smoothie/ipcop/firewall boxes

  11. #11
    Member Fr3@k3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    (Lat 47 8' 22.1316")(Long -122 29' 52.9152") (Lakewood Wa)
    Quote Originally Posted by smokie mcpott View Post
    you dont have to install anything, you can update through most routers and smoothie/ipcop/firewall boxes
    thats if you use those...

    DUH

    ..

    but seriously how many people do you know use those?
    [Game Rig] AMD FX6300 Asrock 970 Extreme4 16GB Ripjaw PC314900 HD7850 Seasonic 850w Windows 8.1
    [Dads] Intel Celeron 530 - Biostar H61MGC - 4GB TeamWin DDR3 - PowerColor R7 260X - 160GB - FSP Bluestorm 500w - Win 8.1
    [Unused System] Intel 6500 - Gigabyte GA-G41M-ES2L - 4GB DDR2 3x3TB, 6x1TB , 1x2TB - Antec Earthwatt 650w - W7+FlexRaid
    (HEATWARE)

  12. #12
    Folding for Team 32! Ben333's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Author Profile
    alot of people had routers

  13. #13
    Member smokie mcpott's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    OKC
    Quote Originally Posted by Fr3@k3r View Post
    thats if you use those...

    DUH

    ..

    but seriously how many people do you know use those?
    you dont use a router?
    i believe netgear, linksys, and dlink all support dyndns

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Canada
    thats for all you replys, i am gona try dyndns and see how that goes
    Game Rig : Windows 7 Pro SP1
    AMD Phenom II X6 1100T, Asus M4A89GTD PRO/USB3, 8GB Mushkin Enhanced Blackline Frostbyte DDR3-1600, XFX Radeon HD 6950 2GB, 1x 120GB OCZ Vertex, 1x Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 500GB, LG 16x DVD RW, Corsair Graphite Series 600T, Corsair HX 850watt, Zalman CNPS9900A


    Server : FreeBSD 8.2
    Intel E6600, Asus P5B Deluxe, 2GB OCZ PC-7200 Spec Ops, Asus 260GTX 896MB, 1x Western Digital 640GB, 4x Western Digital Green 2TB in RAIDZ1, Norco RPC-470 4U, Enermax Liberty 500watt

  15. #15
    Member Fr3@k3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    (Lat 47 8' 22.1316")(Long -122 29' 52.9152") (Lakewood Wa)
    Quote Originally Posted by smokie mcpott View Post
    you dont use a router?
    i believe netgear, linksys, and dlink all support dyndns
    you guys gotta remember not every router supports it and not everyone uses a router either. Some people have just 1 pc although thats just pathetic LOL
    [Game Rig] AMD FX6300 Asrock 970 Extreme4 16GB Ripjaw PC314900 HD7850 Seasonic 850w Windows 8.1
    [Dads] Intel Celeron 530 - Biostar H61MGC - 4GB TeamWin DDR3 - PowerColor R7 260X - 160GB - FSP Bluestorm 500w - Win 8.1
    [Unused System] Intel 6500 - Gigabyte GA-G41M-ES2L - 4GB DDR2 3x3TB, 6x1TB , 1x2TB - Antec Earthwatt 650w - W7+FlexRaid
    (HEATWARE)

  16. #16
    Folding for Team 32! Ben333's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Author Profile
    or like I had this setup

    Modem -> Server -> Switch ->Switch
    ....................................|->Router

    (would that allow dyndns?)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •