Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    383

    Problem with reverting from Vista home to XP Pro

    I just got a new laptop, and it came with vista home which blows and takes up about 1000mb of ram with only 3 windows of IE open and i only have a gig so the computer is running sluggish. Its a core 2 duo @ 1.6, 1gb of ram, 120gb hdd,8400m gs.

    My problem is... When I put the xp cd in, i get into setup and once its done loading its preliminary files it asks if I want to repair, I hit no. Then the next screen says... Windows did not find a HD in this computer so setup can not go on, press enter to restart...
    Is this because of some different file system that vista uses? How should I go about taking care of this. You guys are the smartest people I know that deal with computers so please help a broTher out! Thanks.
    BTW its a Dell Vostro 1500 if any of you guys needed to know
    ASUS P5B-Deluxe Intel e6300 1.86 @ 3.00 Thermalright XP-120 + Kingwin 120MM Corsair Dominator XMS2 PC8500 2 x 1GB XFX 8800GTS 640MB Antec Super Lanboy OCZ Modstream 520W PSU 74GB WD Raptor NEC ND-3520A Samsung 997DF Logitech Z-5500 Digital Speakers Logitech Elite Keyboard + Logitech G5

  2. #2
    Member djrussell's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    everett, wa
    Posts
    804
    you could always totally wipe it and start from a blank drive instead of trying to overwrite vista.
    x2 5600 21/45 w/Tt ruby orb
    GB ga-m61p-s3
    2x512 + 2x2 ocz platinum 4-4-4-12
    seagate 'cudas 80gb + 500gb
    rosewill stallion 500w
    raidmax sagitta case
    powercolor HD3870 PCS

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    383
    What do you mean wipe it clean... thats what Im trying to do with the XP cd but it wont even let me format it doesnt go past the repair screen... Is there some program i can burn onto a cd that will wipe my hd and put it back into NTFS? Theres no way that windows cant find a hd unless itcant recognize the file system.
    ASUS P5B-Deluxe Intel e6300 1.86 @ 3.00 Thermalright XP-120 + Kingwin 120MM Corsair Dominator XMS2 PC8500 2 x 1GB XFX 8800GTS 640MB Antec Super Lanboy OCZ Modstream 520W PSU 74GB WD Raptor NEC ND-3520A Samsung 997DF Logitech Z-5500 Digital Speakers Logitech Elite Keyboard + Logitech G5

  4. #4
    Member djrussell's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    everett, wa
    Posts
    804
    darik's boot and nuke. never used it but i hear good things.

    http://dban.sourceforge.net/
    x2 5600 21/45 w/Tt ruby orb
    GB ga-m61p-s3
    2x512 + 2x2 ocz platinum 4-4-4-12
    seagate 'cudas 80gb + 500gb
    rosewill stallion 500w
    raidmax sagitta case
    powercolor HD3870 PCS

  5. #5
    Member Neuromancer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Tau'ri
    Posts
    8,159
    More then likely since you are using a socket 775 system you are going to need to find out what chipset your harddrive is controlled by and then get some sata/raid drivers for it.

    The reason it says "no hdd" is it can not see the HDD.

    If you want to take a stab in the dark without looking up your chipset in Vista device manager... then download the atest jmicron drivers, and F6 install with hte windows XP cd

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    383
    How would SATA/RAID drivers help in this situation? Laptops now a days use SATA? I'm pretty sure its IDE but i might be wrong. And youre saying install the SATA/RAID drivers during the initial file loading of XP's setup?
    ASUS P5B-Deluxe Intel e6300 1.86 @ 3.00 Thermalright XP-120 + Kingwin 120MM Corsair Dominator XMS2 PC8500 2 x 1GB XFX 8800GTS 640MB Antec Super Lanboy OCZ Modstream 520W PSU 74GB WD Raptor NEC ND-3520A Samsung 997DF Logitech Z-5500 Digital Speakers Logitech Elite Keyboard + Logitech G5

  7. #7
    Member Trap05's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    3,422
    It's sata for sure so if XP can't see the drive you'll need a slipstreamed XP install CD or a usb floppy for the F6 install to load the appropriate driver. What brand and model of notebook? Check the manufacturers support site and see if you can download the driver there.
    CoolerMaster 690
    Antec HCG 620w
    Gigabyte Z68X-UD4-B3 + i5 2500K
    Xigmatek Dark Knight S1283V w/crossbow
    G.Skill 8GB 1600
    MSI GTX 560ti 448 1280MB
    Corsair Nova 64GB SSD
    Windows 7 x64 HP SP1
    Corsair k60 & Logitech MX518
    BenQ RL2450H 24" 1080p
    http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=60834
    SteamID trm2006

  8. #8
    Member GotNoRice's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Pleasant Hill, CA
    Posts
    498
    Yeah this really has nothing to do with Vista being on there before. It doesn't have the drivers necessary to see your drive and you need to load them via F6 at setup start. Without a floppy drive, it will be considerably more difficult.
    Main Rig: i5-2500K @ 5Ghz - ASUS P8Z68-V - 2x EVGA Geforce GTX680 Superclocked in SLI - 16GB DDR3 1600 - X-Fi Titanium PCI-E - Crucial M4 128G - Antec TruePower Quattro 1000w - Corsair 800D
    LAN Rig: Q6600 @ 3.6Ghz - Gigabyte EP45-UD3P - 2x 4870x2 Quad-Crossfire - 6GB PC8500 - X-Fi XtremeMusic - Intel X25-M G2 80GB - Thermaltake Toughpower 1000w - Thermaltake Armor Jr.
    Server: Core i5 650 @ 3.85Ghz - Asus P7H55-M PRO - 12GB DDR3 - FSP 550w PSU

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    383
    Ok, found the chipset driver from dells website which states SATA storage support. Its an exe, will that be able to run during the windows setup? Also do you guys think I can use a USB stick for this orno?
    ASUS P5B-Deluxe Intel e6300 1.86 @ 3.00 Thermalright XP-120 + Kingwin 120MM Corsair Dominator XMS2 PC8500 2 x 1GB XFX 8800GTS 640MB Antec Super Lanboy OCZ Modstream 520W PSU 74GB WD Raptor NEC ND-3520A Samsung 997DF Logitech Z-5500 Digital Speakers Logitech Elite Keyboard + Logitech G5

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    383
    Ok well its not letting me install anything without an A drive. Is there any other way to tackle this problem or am i screweD?
    ASUS P5B-Deluxe Intel e6300 1.86 @ 3.00 Thermalright XP-120 + Kingwin 120MM Corsair Dominator XMS2 PC8500 2 x 1GB XFX 8800GTS 640MB Antec Super Lanboy OCZ Modstream 520W PSU 74GB WD Raptor NEC ND-3520A Samsung 997DF Logitech Z-5500 Digital Speakers Logitech Elite Keyboard + Logitech G5

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    383
    What would happen if I did a recovery? Same thing as before, the whole no hd recognition?
    ASUS P5B-Deluxe Intel e6300 1.86 @ 3.00 Thermalright XP-120 + Kingwin 120MM Corsair Dominator XMS2 PC8500 2 x 1GB XFX 8800GTS 640MB Antec Super Lanboy OCZ Modstream 520W PSU 74GB WD Raptor NEC ND-3520A Samsung 997DF Logitech Z-5500 Digital Speakers Logitech Elite Keyboard + Logitech G5

  12. #12
    Member billb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,614
    Quote Originally Posted by anwar1337 View Post
    What would happen if I did a recovery? Same thing as before, the whole no hd recognition?
    If you're using XP sp2, the sata drivers are included and load automatically. The problem is the hidden restore partition Dell put on th HDD. Boot the Windows Install CD into Recovery Consul and run fixmbr and fixboot. I think you can run Format from there too. If not, just get a DOS boot disk (you can download the files from numerous places.) and Fdisk then format.

    There are also methods for installing XP and keeping VISTA there so you can dual boot...but that's a whole different story.
    AMD FX6300, ASUS M5A99X EVO R2.0, Samsung 840 Pro, Seagate 1 TB, Asus GTS450, Samsung N915 (two), PCP&C 1kw

  13. #13
    Member Trap05's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    3,422
    You'll need to purchase a usb floppy drive
    CoolerMaster 690
    Antec HCG 620w
    Gigabyte Z68X-UD4-B3 + i5 2500K
    Xigmatek Dark Knight S1283V w/crossbow
    G.Skill 8GB 1600
    MSI GTX 560ti 448 1280MB
    Corsair Nova 64GB SSD
    Windows 7 x64 HP SP1
    Corsair k60 & Logitech MX518
    BenQ RL2450H 24" 1080p
    http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=60834
    SteamID trm2006

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    383
    Will it recognize a USB Floppy drive as Drive A in windows setup?
    ASUS P5B-Deluxe Intel e6300 1.86 @ 3.00 Thermalright XP-120 + Kingwin 120MM Corsair Dominator XMS2 PC8500 2 x 1GB XFX 8800GTS 640MB Antec Super Lanboy OCZ Modstream 520W PSU 74GB WD Raptor NEC ND-3520A Samsung 997DF Logitech Z-5500 Digital Speakers Logitech Elite Keyboard + Logitech G5

  15. #15
    Member Trap05's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    3,422
    Yep it will work just fine
    CoolerMaster 690
    Antec HCG 620w
    Gigabyte Z68X-UD4-B3 + i5 2500K
    Xigmatek Dark Knight S1283V w/crossbow
    G.Skill 8GB 1600
    MSI GTX 560ti 448 1280MB
    Corsair Nova 64GB SSD
    Windows 7 x64 HP SP1
    Corsair k60 & Logitech MX518
    BenQ RL2450H 24" 1080p
    http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=60834
    SteamID trm2006

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •