• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Bioshock & vista 64 ultimate

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Rattle

I started playing this game in xp pro without issues, out of pure boredom and curiosity I wanted to see the game with dx10. I dont game much anyway so if anything vista is good for non gaming i figure....

the game even launch lmao. I get the little bioshock logo thing then black screen forever, I can ctrl-alt-dlt out of it though. No sound, no nothing.

I tried everything i could find on the web from different drivers to different compatability mode to having an icon in the games folder and everything else I could think of....

vista is the biggest POS lol all i wanna do is mess with this one damn game and I cant even do that.

Anyone know a cure or the cause ?

I believe it's your Video card drivers, they have ones that are updated to run bioshock in vista. I could be thinking of another game though. I have bioshock and vista ultimate 64 with no issues. Check my sig for my rig

Vista 32 bit worked fine with the demo, I imagine that Split71 is right and the issue is a lack of driver support for the 64 bit version.

yep tried the 3 newest betas .67, .69 and .71

will give that a shot when I get home from work thanks squash

Try right clicking on the exe file and see if it'll run in XP compatibility mode... not sure if this will cancel out DX10 though

Bioshock does work in Vista Ultimate 64bit perfectly fine.

I know theres been MANY issues with video drivers with this game in Vista so definatly check out the beta drivers or if you can find the Bioshock drivers from nVidia.