Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Pelted Ram?

  1. #1
    Masta Tweeka! sunrunner20's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    2,444

    Pelted Ram?

    I'm wondering if there are any known instances where people have gone as far as to use pelts on their ram?
    Desktop:
    Q6600 G0@3Ghz,eVGA 8800gts,P5k Premium,2x2gb Kingston,120gig Agility 3,Seasonic S12-600HT
    Laptop:
    Toshiba M7(Tablet): T2300, 4gb ram, 160gb seagate
    My Heatware

  2. #2
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    31,418
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by sunrunner20 View Post
    I'm wondering if there are any known instances where people have gone as far as to use pelts on their ram?
    You could, but I don't think you'd see much of a performance difference.

    I know there is a picture where someone set up a dry ice/ln2 pot for their ram
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    576
    Wouldn't pelting your ram necessitate WCing it?

  4. #4
    Masta Tweeka! sunrunner20's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    2,444
    Quote Originally Posted by EchoTheDolphin View Post
    Wouldn't pelting your ram necessitate WCing it?
    Absolutely not...
    Desktop:
    Q6600 G0@3Ghz,eVGA 8800gts,P5k Premium,2x2gb Kingston,120gig Agility 3,Seasonic S12-600HT
    Laptop:
    Toshiba M7(Tablet): T2300, 4gb ram, 160gb seagate
    My Heatware

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    576
    Quote Originally Posted by sunrunner20 View Post
    Absolutely not...
    I guess I need to look into pelts more, I was under the impression they generally generate enough heat to require it.

    Could I then pelt a CPU and GPU on air as well?

  6. #6
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    31,418
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by EchoTheDolphin View Post
    I guess I need to look into pelts more, I was under the impression they generally generate enough heat to require it.

    Could I then pelt a CPU and GPU on air as well?
    As long as the heatsink is capable of dispersing the heat, then yes.
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  7. #7
    Epic Fail Guy JamesXP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    England
    Posts
    5,648
    i5 3570K @ 4.5GHz
    Thermalright Macho 120
    ASRock Z77 Pro4
    8GB Kingston HyperX 1600MHz
    128GB Samsung 830 SSD
    EVGA GTX770 ACX
    EVGA Supernova 750G2
    Corsair 650D

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Boulder, CO
    Posts
    413
    I remember seeing on XS a guy LN2 cooling his BH-5 but the gain was like 10MHz. DDR2 would gain a bit more due to it's high frequency nature but it surely wouldn't be worth the time except for world record attempts.

  9. #9
    Member One Bull's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Enschede, Holland
    Posts
    824
    There are people who tried it, but there's not much to gain. I think for the "ordinary" oc'ers like us it's just not worth it. And even heavy benchers don't use it
    Xeon 3060
    P5K-dlx
    Asus 8800GTS 640mb
    2Gb OCZ pc2 8500 (nvidia sli)
    Seasonic S12 650W
    150Gb raptor
    400Gb storage

  10. #10
    Member aja's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    SOUTH AFRICA, and yes, we do have electricity, and no, lions dont walk around in our streets
    Posts
    2,855
    Okay this is my take:

    Cooler RAM does not allow for an increase in speed, but rather an increase in longevity.
    The colder you keep your RAM, the longer it will last under high voltage before it burns out.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •