• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Need input on a new build.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

messiah33

Hello all, this is my first time building a new system from scratch. I'm a gamer, and i plan to overclock eventually when I will need it for future games. I know a fair bit but not enough, thats why im here. I'm just going to list everything I have and questions about each thing if I have any. Everything here is subject to change, I would like things to stay around the same price but any input is welcome so that I have more options. This is just my base, though I do think that it is pretty stable. Anyways, here it goes...

Case: Antec nine hundred

Video Card: evga 8800GTX

Processor: Intel core 2 duo E6850
I'm kida thinking of a Q6600 but I have no idea about quad core processors and their compatabilty with other programs, games, and hardware.

CPU Heatsink: Zalman CNPS9500-LED

Mobo: Evga nForce 680i SLI Motherboard A1
I'm not really sure about this one I'm looking at a abit p35 pro too. Does it matter if I get a 680i or p35?

Hard Drive: Seagate Barracuda 350gb 7500rpm
I was originally planning on getting 2 36gb raptors but I figured that it wont really affect gaming (only load times) plus this single HD is 200$ cheaper.

PSU: OCZ GameXStream 700w

Monitor: Acer AL2216WBD 22IN Widescreen
Lately I have been hearing alot about the Samsung SyncMaster 225BW good and bad. The different LCD panels scare me but I keep hearing that it doesn't really matter just as many time as I hear it does matter. I plan to use the DVI input fro my computer and the VGA input for my xbox 360. Does anyone know what one looks best with the xbox 360? I wana know all I can about these 2, preferably personal experiance but anything will help.