Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Member MasterCraft's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Wonderland
    Posts
    783

    OK, help me disable this annoying shi....

    Vista 64 ultimate.

    The administrator permissions popups.

    They are killing me, I searched and couldn't find any offhand.


    Someone help me out here.
    CPU = Intel Core I7 2600K @ 4.8Ghz - 100x48 1.40vcore
    MB = ASUS Z77 Sabertooth - Watercooled with an Apogee XT
    RAM = Corsair Vengeance v1.43 16GB (4 x 4GB) DDR3 2133
    VGA = SLI 2x EVGA Superclocked GeForce GTX 580 Hydrocopper 2's @900/2100
    HD = Crucial 256GB primary and raid 5 storage array
    PSU = CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W

  2. #2
    Member Krome's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    The Lone Star State
    Posts
    1,522
    Disable UAC?
    Desktop:Opty170 @ 2.7GHz/x1950 Pro Notebook:Lenovo T61 14.1" - NVS140m [1440x900]
    Home Theatre:Sharp Aquos D64 - Yamaha 6.1 - PS3 80GB [Folding for Team 32]

    "I have come here to avenge my teacher." - Bruce Lee
    "Blessing of your heart, you brew good Ale." - W. Shakespeare
    "I'd take vinyl over CD anyday, It's just not the same." - JamesXP
    "How are you typing with all that stuff on your hands?" - Sleepy_Steve
    "Don't tell me, you only know how to play fighting games?" - Ryu [Super Puzzle Fighter II Turbo]
    ()()>PLAY B3YOND<()()

  3. #3
    Member DanFraser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Derby UK
    Posts
    1,845
    Control panel, click continue on the message, user accounts, click again most likely, find your account, click 'turn user account control on or off', click that message again. click other stuff if you need to, save all work, reboot.
    Intel i5-4460 3.2GHz with stock cooler Kingston DDR3-1333 2x4GB
    Gigabyte GA-H81M-DS2 MSI GeForce GTX 750 Ti 2GB Video Card
    2x 120GB Kingston SSDNow! 1xSeagate 1TB Corsair 200R
    Corsair CX430M PSU Stock Intel Cool for now

  4. #4
    Senior Django-loving Member Captain Newbie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Right seat with a bored "don't kill me" expression
    Posts
    4,933
    Quote Originally Posted by Krome View Post
    Disable UAC?
    Yep: turn off the "most significant advance" in security in Vista.

    There's got to be a better way to do this. UAC is ****.
    B.S. Computer Science, B.A. Political Science | Commercial Pilot Airplane Single and Multiengine Land, Instrument Airplane
    "And, while with silent lifting mind I've trod
    The high untresspassed sanctity of space
    Put out my hand, and touched the face of God."

    Strong * Focused * Safe
    Apple Mac Pro 4,1, Two Nehalem Xeons 2.26GHzx4 (Hyperthreaded), 12 GB DDR3 FBDRAM | MacBook Pro 15" (2009)

  5. #5

  6. #6
    Member Krome's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    The Lone Star State
    Posts
    1,522
    Quote Originally Posted by bing View Post
    Unnecessary & Annoying Control
    I agree!
    Desktop:Opty170 @ 2.7GHz/x1950 Pro Notebook:Lenovo T61 14.1" - NVS140m [1440x900]
    Home Theatre:Sharp Aquos D64 - Yamaha 6.1 - PS3 80GB [Folding for Team 32]

    "I have come here to avenge my teacher." - Bruce Lee
    "Blessing of your heart, you brew good Ale." - W. Shakespeare
    "I'd take vinyl over CD anyday, It's just not the same." - JamesXP
    "How are you typing with all that stuff on your hands?" - Sleepy_Steve
    "Don't tell me, you only know how to play fighting games?" - Ryu [Super Puzzle Fighter II Turbo]
    ()()>PLAY B3YOND<()()

  7. #7
    Member CGR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Lower NY
    Posts
    5,641
    When you turn UAC off, XP is more secure than Vista.. Go figure
    Main System:.................................................. ......................Second System:
    DFI BloodIron P35-T2RL w/ Q6600 GO@ 3.2 (9x360), 1.4v....DFI Ultra-D w/Opteron 170 @ 2.7
    G.skill 4GB (2x2gb).................................................. ..............G.Skill Extreme 2GB (2x1gb)
    HIS 4850 680/1108.................................................. .............Nvidia 7600GT
    WD VRaptor 300gb/Seagate 1TB..........................................Raptor 74gb/Seagate 200gb
    OCZ GameXtreme 600SLI


  8. #8
    Low Profile Senior bing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Indonesia
    Posts
    3,652
    Quote Originally Posted by CGR View Post
    When you turn UAC off, XP is more secure than Vista.. Go figure
    Really ? How ?

  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    First Responders
    redduc900's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    16,747
    In addition to DanFraser's suggestion, UAC can also be disabled via the System Configuration Utility (Start | Run | Type msconfig, and click OK | "Tools" tab | Scroll down to and highlight Disable UAC | Click the "Launch" button (which runs the following command)...
    Code:
    C:\Windows\System32\cmd.exe /k &#37;windir%\System32\reg.exe ADD HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\System /v EnableLUA /t REG_DWORD /d 0 /f
    ...then click OK, and reboot. If need be it can be re-enabled by highlighting Enable UAC, again via the SCU.

  10. #10
    Member CGR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Lower NY
    Posts
    5,641
    Quote Originally Posted by bing View Post
    Really ? How ?
    UAC was Vista's whole secure advantage over XP. When you disable it XP ends up being slightly more secure. That may change with the next SP though.
    Main System:.................................................. ......................Second System:
    DFI BloodIron P35-T2RL w/ Q6600 GO@ 3.2 (9x360), 1.4v....DFI Ultra-D w/Opteron 170 @ 2.7
    G.skill 4GB (2x2gb).................................................. ..............G.Skill Extreme 2GB (2x1gb)
    HIS 4850 680/1108.................................................. .............Nvidia 7600GT
    WD VRaptor 300gb/Seagate 1TB..........................................Raptor 74gb/Seagate 200gb
    OCZ GameXtreme 600SLI


  11. #11
    Member DanFraser's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Derby UK
    Posts
    1,845
    Quote Originally Posted by redduc900 View Post
    In addition to DanFraser's suggestion, UAC can also be disabled via the System Configuration Utility (Start | Run | Type msconfig, and click OK | "Tools" tab | Scroll down to and highlight Disable UAC | Click the "Launch" button (which runs the following command)...
    Code:
    C:\Windows\System32\cmd.exe /k %windir%\System32\reg.exe ADD HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\System /v EnableLUA /t REG_DWORD /d 0 /f
    ...then click OK, and reboot. If need be it can be re-enabled by highlighting Enable UAC, again via the SCU.
    Oh yeah, I forgot I beat redduc900 to a windows question!
    Intel i5-4460 3.2GHz with stock cooler Kingston DDR3-1333 2x4GB
    Gigabyte GA-H81M-DS2 MSI GeForce GTX 750 Ti 2GB Video Card
    2x 120GB Kingston SSDNow! 1xSeagate 1TB Corsair 200R
    Corsair CX430M PSU Stock Intel Cool for now

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •