Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 29
  1. #1
    Member blackersabbath's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Norwich, NY
    Posts
    1,014

    Finally upgrading to dual core

    Hi everyone, after a ton of research and coming up with a little more money I have made the choice to upgrade to AMD. AMD is a more economical decision and I have experience overclocking these things (mobile barton days). Since I am on an extreme budget, I will be reusing my emachines microATX case and maybe the 250w psu if I absolutely have to.

    These are my choices so far:
    Motherboard: BIOSTAR TForce TF7025-M2 $69.99
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813138074

    CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 4000+ Brisbane $69.99
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103774

    RAM: G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 $65.99
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231098


    This comes pretty close to my $255 budget ($212.30 shipped) and I would have to get a 20-24pin power adapter. I won't be overclocking until I can get a better heatsink and fan. I am also undecided if I will be reusing my FX5200 (will have to see how these onboard graphics do in comparison). I will be getting a new graphics card after the new ones come out so that I can catch a good deal on them. I really don't want to reuse the emachines PSU and was wondering if anyone knew if this system will run on 250 watts or if there is a cheap ($20-30) PSU that will tie me over for a while.


    Open to suggestions, I will be ordering hardware tonight.
    MB: ASUS M4A89TD PRO/USB3
    CPU: Phenom II 955 BE (h100+4x Ultra Kaze)
    RAM: GSkill Ripjaws 1600 2x4GB (running at 667 9/9/9/25/40/2t)
    VGA: Sapphire 6870 (reference design) stock
    HD: Samsung F3 1TB/ Seagate Green 2TB
    PSU: Corsair 650TX
    Case: Arc Midi
    Monitor: 32" LCD TV
    OS: Windows 7

  2. #2
    Member djrussell's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    everett, wa
    Posts
    804
    here are two psu's for 30ish from trusted brands. they probably won't hold up if loaded with a power hungry graphics card. they're decent quality in your price range though and you won't need a 20->24 pin adapter.

    FSP 300W

    sparkle 350W

    the onboard graphics will probably perform about as well as your fx5200. onboard uses your ram though so it might be better to use the fx.
    x2 5600 21/45 w/Tt ruby orb
    GB ga-m61p-s3
    2x512 + 2x2 ocz platinum 4-4-4-12
    seagate 'cudas 80gb + 500gb
    rosewill stallion 500w
    raidmax sagitta case
    powercolor HD3870 PCS

  3. #3
    Member Trap05's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    3,422
    Is that fx5200 PCI or AGP?
    CoolerMaster 690
    Antec HCG 620w
    Gigabyte Z68X-UD4-B3 + i5 2500K
    Xigmatek Dark Knight S1283V w/crossbow
    G.Skill 8GB 1600
    MSI GTX 560ti 448 1280MB
    Corsair Nova 64GB SSD
    Windows 7 x64 HP SP1
    Corsair k60 & Logitech MX518
    BenQ RL2450H 24" 1080p
    http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=60834
    SteamID trm2006

  4. #4

    Member
    jiggamanjb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    MI, USA
    Posts
    2,252
    grab this ram for $60. It is some of the best right now.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820146565

    For your PSU, this is $40, but should handle many of the newer video cards now. That way you won't have to upgrade you PSU too.
    Please, PLease, don't reuse that emachines PSU!!!!

    I think your onboard will beat out your 5200 since it is only PCI based.
    MAIN: Biostar H61MGC / i3 - 2120 Sandy / Team Elite 8GB DDR3 1333 / 300GB V-Raptor / OCZ ModXStream Pro 500W
    SAPPHIRE AMD Radeon HD 6870 / Case: Modded CM 690 / Logitech Z-640 5.1 w/ Onboard Audio / Westy 22in Widescreen / Emprex 22" Widescreen for static viewing

    HTPC/SERVER/ETC: Biostar H77MU3 / Core i3-3220T / CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB DDR3 1600 / PC Power & Cooling Silencer MK III 400W 80 PLUS Bronze
    G.SKILL Phoenix Pro 60GB SSD ( OS ) + WD 20EARS 2TB 64MB Cache ( Video, Music, Pictures ) + 500GB Hitachi ( TV recordings ) / Custom Rosewill CHALLENGER
    (2) AVerMedia AVerTVHD Duet - PCTV Tuner / HP Media Remote / Antennacraft Colorstar C490

    Everything you need to know about Power Supplies and buying a new one ___ Heatware ___Retired Case: Modded Full Tower

  5. #5
    Member djrussell's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    everett, wa
    Posts
    804
    missing a psu link there jiggamanjb.
    x2 5600 21/45 w/Tt ruby orb
    GB ga-m61p-s3
    2x512 + 2x2 ocz platinum 4-4-4-12
    seagate 'cudas 80gb + 500gb
    rosewill stallion 500w
    raidmax sagitta case
    powercolor HD3870 PCS

  6. #6
    Member blackersabbath's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Norwich, NY
    Posts
    1,014
    The FX5200 is PCI, I wouldn't even think about using it in that setup if it were AGP as there is no slot for it.

    As far as the Ballistix go, I'm trying to get the build on the cheap and don't have the extra $100 bucks to spend while waiting for the MIR

    Oh, and I forgot to add that with a new PSU: I need something that will fit in an mATX case (worst case scenario I could put it on top I guess)
    MB: ASUS M4A89TD PRO/USB3
    CPU: Phenom II 955 BE (h100+4x Ultra Kaze)
    RAM: GSkill Ripjaws 1600 2x4GB (running at 667 9/9/9/25/40/2t)
    VGA: Sapphire 6870 (reference design) stock
    HD: Samsung F3 1TB/ Seagate Green 2TB
    PSU: Corsair 650TX
    Case: Arc Midi
    Monitor: 32" LCD TV
    OS: Windows 7

  7. #7
    Member djrussell's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    everett, wa
    Posts
    804
    in the ballistix's defense, there's only a $37 difference (including shipping) between them and the gskill before rebate. i figured you didn't want to wait on rebates though so didn't suggest them.
    x2 5600 21/45 w/Tt ruby orb
    GB ga-m61p-s3
    2x512 + 2x2 ocz platinum 4-4-4-12
    seagate 'cudas 80gb + 500gb
    rosewill stallion 500w
    raidmax sagitta case
    powercolor HD3870 PCS

  8. #8
    Member blackersabbath's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Norwich, NY
    Posts
    1,014
    I know that the ballistix are kickass and would get them if I could find my other parts with those for 255 shipped which I highly doubt will happen
    MB: ASUS M4A89TD PRO/USB3
    CPU: Phenom II 955 BE (h100+4x Ultra Kaze)
    RAM: GSkill Ripjaws 1600 2x4GB (running at 667 9/9/9/25/40/2t)
    VGA: Sapphire 6870 (reference design) stock
    HD: Samsung F3 1TB/ Seagate Green 2TB
    PSU: Corsair 650TX
    Case: Arc Midi
    Monitor: 32" LCD TV
    OS: Windows 7

  9. #9
    Member djrussell's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    everett, wa
    Posts
    804
    i'm probably going to commit a mortal sin right here....

    the mobo, cpu, and ballistix shipped to 13202 are $245.80 before $48 worth of rebates. if you want to take a gamble and reuse the emachines psu () for a few months till you get rebate money back, you can buy a better one later. there's even still $9.20 left in your budget for the adapter cable.

    totally a gamble that's up to you.
    x2 5600 21/45 w/Tt ruby orb
    GB ga-m61p-s3
    2x512 + 2x2 ocz platinum 4-4-4-12
    seagate 'cudas 80gb + 500gb
    rosewill stallion 500w
    raidmax sagitta case
    powercolor HD3870 PCS

  10. #10
    Member Trap05's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    3,422
    I can't see a 250w working out very well. Maybe sell anything you can of your current rig and use that for a decent power supply. Here's a couple decent ones for around $50

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817256019

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817703010
    CoolerMaster 690
    Antec HCG 620w
    Gigabyte Z68X-UD4-B3 + i5 2500K
    Xigmatek Dark Knight S1283V w/crossbow
    G.Skill 8GB 1600
    MSI GTX 560ti 448 1280MB
    Corsair Nova 64GB SSD
    Windows 7 x64 HP SP1
    Corsair k60 & Logitech MX518
    BenQ RL2450H 24" 1080p
    http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=60834
    SteamID trm2006

  11. #11
    Member blackersabbath's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Norwich, NY
    Posts
    1,014
    Well, if I tried the old PSU... worst case scenario I would have to RMA everything or?

    I am thinking of maybe getting some cheaper stuff and throw in a PSU/PCI-E graphics card, I mainly just play HL2 and Farcry. I may try out Doom3. Would I need a dual core and 2gb memory for those games? They are playable on my current system but barely
    MB: ASUS M4A89TD PRO/USB3
    CPU: Phenom II 955 BE (h100+4x Ultra Kaze)
    RAM: GSkill Ripjaws 1600 2x4GB (running at 667 9/9/9/25/40/2t)
    VGA: Sapphire 6870 (reference design) stock
    HD: Samsung F3 1TB/ Seagate Green 2TB
    PSU: Corsair 650TX
    Case: Arc Midi
    Monitor: 32" LCD TV
    OS: Windows 7

  12. #12
    Member blackersabbath's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Norwich, NY
    Posts
    1,014
    hehe, maybe I will be a PITA and ask for you guys to help me build a dx9 gaming rig (cpu,mobo,ram,psu,case,vga) for 255 bucks shipped lol

    i have a dvd burner and a hard drive or two to put in the box
    MB: ASUS M4A89TD PRO/USB3
    CPU: Phenom II 955 BE (h100+4x Ultra Kaze)
    RAM: GSkill Ripjaws 1600 2x4GB (running at 667 9/9/9/25/40/2t)
    VGA: Sapphire 6870 (reference design) stock
    HD: Samsung F3 1TB/ Seagate Green 2TB
    PSU: Corsair 650TX
    Case: Arc Midi
    Monitor: 32" LCD TV
    OS: Windows 7

  13. #13
    Member aja's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    SOUTH AFRICA, and yes, we do have electricity, and no, lions dont walk around in our streets
    Posts
    2,855
    Quote Originally Posted by blackersabbath View Post
    hehe, maybe I will be a PITA and ask for you guys to help me build a dx9 gaming rig (cpu,mobo,ram,psu,case,vga) for 255 bucks shipped lol

    i have a dvd burner and a hard drive or two to put in the box
    Now there's a nice challenge!



    (wish I lived in the USA and knew the market, I am totally up for the challenge!)

  14. #14
    Member djrussell's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    everett, wa
    Posts
    804
    Quote Originally Posted by blackersabbath View Post
    hehe, maybe I will be a PITA and ask for you guys to help me build a dx9 gaming rig (cpu,mobo,ram,psu,case,vga) for 255 bucks shipped lol
    i really can't see that happening for less than $350. it'd barely be worth it anyway.
    x2 5600 21/45 w/Tt ruby orb
    GB ga-m61p-s3
    2x512 + 2x2 ocz platinum 4-4-4-12
    seagate 'cudas 80gb + 500gb
    rosewill stallion 500w
    raidmax sagitta case
    powercolor HD3870 PCS

  15. #15
    New Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    8
    Here is a crazy idea. If you are seriously under a budget, why not buy some gently used hardware? You could source a pretty nice rig for your money from ebay. Obviously the trade-off is you have to trust people/vendors on there.. but it is a viable option. It also might get you into a better case, more reliable PSU, and even get you some bundled software. Here is ONE small example, it took me 15 seconds to locate this: http://cgi.ebay.com/New-Dell-Inspiro...QQcmdZViewItem

  16. #16
    Member blackersabbath's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Norwich, NY
    Posts
    1,014
    I am going to get mobo, cpu and ram from my original post along with the thermaltake 430w psu. They all are good quality and fit into my budget nicely. Let's just hope that the psu fits into my emachines case.
    MB: ASUS M4A89TD PRO/USB3
    CPU: Phenom II 955 BE (h100+4x Ultra Kaze)
    RAM: GSkill Ripjaws 1600 2x4GB (running at 667 9/9/9/25/40/2t)
    VGA: Sapphire 6870 (reference design) stock
    HD: Samsung F3 1TB/ Seagate Green 2TB
    PSU: Corsair 650TX
    Case: Arc Midi
    Monitor: 32" LCD TV
    OS: Windows 7

  17. #17

    Member
    jiggamanjb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    MI, USA
    Posts
    2,252
    Quote Originally Posted by djrussell View Post
    missing a psu link there jiggamanjb.
    linked
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817371006

    that thermaltake should be fine though.
    MAIN: Biostar H61MGC / i3 - 2120 Sandy / Team Elite 8GB DDR3 1333 / 300GB V-Raptor / OCZ ModXStream Pro 500W
    SAPPHIRE AMD Radeon HD 6870 / Case: Modded CM 690 / Logitech Z-640 5.1 w/ Onboard Audio / Westy 22in Widescreen / Emprex 22" Widescreen for static viewing

    HTPC/SERVER/ETC: Biostar H77MU3 / Core i3-3220T / CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB DDR3 1600 / PC Power & Cooling Silencer MK III 400W 80 PLUS Bronze
    G.SKILL Phoenix Pro 60GB SSD ( OS ) + WD 20EARS 2TB 64MB Cache ( Video, Music, Pictures ) + 500GB Hitachi ( TV recordings ) / Custom Rosewill CHALLENGER
    (2) AVerMedia AVerTVHD Duet - PCTV Tuner / HP Media Remote / Antennacraft Colorstar C490

    Everything you need to know about Power Supplies and buying a new one ___ Heatware ___Retired Case: Modded Full Tower

  18. #18
    Member blackersabbath's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Norwich, NY
    Posts
    1,014
    The new system is on the way from the egg. Hopefully all goes well and I can see how far I can push the cpu =)
    MB: ASUS M4A89TD PRO/USB3
    CPU: Phenom II 955 BE (h100+4x Ultra Kaze)
    RAM: GSkill Ripjaws 1600 2x4GB (running at 667 9/9/9/25/40/2t)
    VGA: Sapphire 6870 (reference design) stock
    HD: Samsung F3 1TB/ Seagate Green 2TB
    PSU: Corsair 650TX
    Case: Arc Midi
    Monitor: 32" LCD TV
    OS: Windows 7

  19. #19
    Member blackersabbath's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Norwich, NY
    Posts
    1,014
    Can anyone tell me if I can OC with the 430W PSU? I'm thinking I should be able to but I don't wanna mess up my system
    MB: ASUS M4A89TD PRO/USB3
    CPU: Phenom II 955 BE (h100+4x Ultra Kaze)
    RAM: GSkill Ripjaws 1600 2x4GB (running at 667 9/9/9/25/40/2t)
    VGA: Sapphire 6870 (reference design) stock
    HD: Samsung F3 1TB/ Seagate Green 2TB
    PSU: Corsair 650TX
    Case: Arc Midi
    Monitor: 32" LCD TV
    OS: Windows 7

  20. #20

    Member
    jiggamanjb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    MI, USA
    Posts
    2,252
    Should be no problem. Just keep an eye on the rails, but I'm sure OCing without a video card you won't be stressing the PSU much.
    MAIN: Biostar H61MGC / i3 - 2120 Sandy / Team Elite 8GB DDR3 1333 / 300GB V-Raptor / OCZ ModXStream Pro 500W
    SAPPHIRE AMD Radeon HD 6870 / Case: Modded CM 690 / Logitech Z-640 5.1 w/ Onboard Audio / Westy 22in Widescreen / Emprex 22" Widescreen for static viewing

    HTPC/SERVER/ETC: Biostar H77MU3 / Core i3-3220T / CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB DDR3 1600 / PC Power & Cooling Silencer MK III 400W 80 PLUS Bronze
    G.SKILL Phoenix Pro 60GB SSD ( OS ) + WD 20EARS 2TB 64MB Cache ( Video, Music, Pictures ) + 500GB Hitachi ( TV recordings ) / Custom Rosewill CHALLENGER
    (2) AVerMedia AVerTVHD Duet - PCTV Tuner / HP Media Remote / Antennacraft Colorstar C490

    Everything you need to know about Power Supplies and buying a new one ___ Heatware ___Retired Case: Modded Full Tower

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •