Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 21
  1. #1
    Member Jumpin Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Australia

    Noob question (sry) - Which Intel???

    I'm building a new rig for COD4 which I've read requires a recommend CPU of 3.2ghz for Vista and as it's been soo long since I've built a Rig (and know nuth'n about Intel's) I need your help to ensure I'm on the right track in selecting a CPU.
    Which one of these are more suited for COD4 or is there another you would suggest?

    INTEL CORE 2 DUO E6850 3.0 Ghz 4m CACHE 1333FSB LGA 775 = AUS$345

    INTEL CORE 2 QUAD Q6600 2.40 Ghz QUAD CORE Latest G0 stepping / SLACR S-spec
    = AUS$340
    More beer please!!!

    Home PC - | CPU...Intel® Core™ i5 3570K | HS ...Corsair H80i | M/B...ASRock Z77 Extreme 4 | RAM ...2 x 4GB DDR3-1333 | GC ... Gigabyte GTX 660 2GB GDDR5 OC | Mon...Asus PB278Q | PSU...Seasonic SS-760XP | HDD...120GB SSD Patriot Pyro SATA3, 300GB Western Digital VelociRaptor 10,000 RPM 16MB Cache SATA II, 250GB Samsung 7200RPM 16MB Cache SATA II | Case...Coolermaster 690


    Travelling Laptop - | CPU...Intel® Core™ i5 2557M | RAM ...1 x 4GB DDR3 1333 | Mon...13.3" 16:9 HD+ (1600x900) LED Backlight | HDD...128GB SSD SATA3 | Case... Asus Zenbook UX31E

  2. #2
    Member xilix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    MA
    Heatware Profile
    Quad core. It might run at 2.40Ghz as opposed to the E6850's 3.0Ghz, but it has 4 processors and not 2. The Quad core is more future proof, as more games are going to utilize Quad core CPU's in the next year, and editing/photo software already take advantage of them now. I'm sure others might disagree with me, but I find it hard to argue with 4 cores. You can also OC the Quad to 3.3-3.6Ghz easy on $30-$40 air cooling. I'm sure the E6850 will clock higher, but again, with two cores it's still going to fall short when it comes to multithreading.

    Which ever one you choose COD4 is going to run without a hitch. It all depends on what you want to use it for and how long you're going to keep the CPU. I tend to stay on the same rig for years on end, so I go for the more future proof package.

    Also.. COD4 doesn't need 3.2Ghz to run under Vista, I don't know why they spec'd the game that high. If you get an 8800GTS or similar card you could probably underclock the Core 2 and still be fine.
    Case -- LIAN LI Lancool PC-K58W
    PSU --- Coolermaster V1000
    Mobo - ASRock P67 EXTREME4 GEN3
    HD ---- 250GB+320GB+1TB+1.5TB WD's, 64GBx64GB Crucial M4 SSD's
    CPU --- Intel Core i5-2500K MCW6000 @4.8Ghz
    RAM --- 2x4GB G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB
    GFX --- EVGA GTX 670 SC 4GB
    Dislpay 42" Samsung 1080p LCD -- 24" LG 1080p LCD

    Heat

  3. #3
    Member night8jim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    UK
    Quote Originally Posted by Jumpin Jack View Post
    I'm building a new rig for COD4 which I've read requires a recommend CPU of 3.2ghz for Vista and as it's been soo long since I've built a Rig (and know nuth'n about Intel's) I need your help to ensure I'm on the right track in selecting a CPU.
    Which one of these are more suited for COD4 or is there another you would suggest?

    INTEL CORE 2 DUO E6850 3.0 Ghz 4m CACHE 1333FSB LGA 775 = AUS$345

    INTEL CORE 2 QUAD Q6600 2.40 Ghz QUAD CORE Latest G0 stepping / SLACR S-spec
    = AUS$340
    My system below runs it on max settings with easy, not at the highest res (1280 x 1024), but as high as my vdu will allow so i would go wit the dualcore it owns.
    ---------------------------------------------------
    Intel i7 920 @ 2.6Ghz {Ultra 120 ex}
    Gigabyte EX58-UD4P
    3*2Gb OCZ Triple Channel Platinum @ 1333mhz
    MSI R7870 Twin Frozr
    150Gb VelcoRaptor + 500Gb Seagate 7200.11
    Corsair HX620
    Antec P182
    ---------------------------------------------------

  4. #4
    Registered dennis1991z's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    europe
    Quote Originally Posted by Jumpin Jack View Post
    I'm building a new rig for COD4 which I've read
    INTEL CORE 2 QUAD Q6600 2.40 Ghz QUAD CORE Latest G0 stepping / SLACR S-spec
    = AUS$340
    hey, I think I know you from the inCrysis forums :P
    Anyways, I'd say go with the one I quoted for you above, since I've heard some good OverClocking stories about them, and they're "future proof".

  5. #5
    Senior Fourm Spammer

    Evilsizer's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Austin,Texas
    Heatware Profile
    while the quad might be more future proof look at the benches of UT3. the difference in FPS from 2 to 4 cores is not that big of a difference. it would be better to go with a faster dual core unless you do alot of encoding A/V to really make use of the quad.

    by 3.2gh they mean the P4/PD's not the new "core 2" arch...

    Intel G3258@4.2ghz | Asrock Z97M OC Formula | Galaxy GTX660 GC | PM840 Pro 128GB, PM830 FDE 250GB | SilverStone ST45SF
    i3 370M | Jetway NF98 | 2x2gig DDR3-1066 | pico 120WI | Asus GT630 2GB (GK208) |
    intel i5 2450M


    "I Love To Camp!"
    "Commensing Shock Therapy!"
    I'm jonnyGURU of jonnyGURU.com and we don't overload PSU's - JonnyGURU

    HeatWare

  6. #6
    Jumpin Jack

    I'm running COD4/Crysis/Unreal3 with my little ole Pentium D(3Ghz) @4.15 GHZ I run at 1280x1024...but I am limited by my GPU my 1900xtx is showing its age with the new games. Unreal cpu usage on both cores is at 85-90% and Crysis is at 70-80%(which is interesting I would have thought Crysis would be more cpu intensve.

    But yes if you are upgrading ...go with a Quad....I cant wait until January for my new rig
    CPU:Sandy Bridge I7-2600K(3.4GHz) @ 4.10 Ghz(41x100) 1.264 Vc
    TEMPS: Ambient temp 25C Idle temp 30C Max temp 65C under 8x Prime load
    HyperPi: 1M 9.2 sec @ 4.1GHz
    HSF: Thermalright Venomous X-RT
    RAM: Mushkin Enhanced Redline 8GB 7-9-8-24
    MB: MSI P67A-GD65(B3)
    GPU:EVGA GTX 580 Classified Ultra 3GB stock 900mhz
    Monitors: dual displays primay Samsung SyncMaster 2443(24in) Secondary 2333(23inch)
    HDD/SSD: OCZ Agility-EX Boot/ 2x WD1.5TB Blacks
    OS: Win7-64
    PSU:Cosair Pro AX-1200 1200W
    CASE:Cosair 700D replaced stock fans 4x Scythe S-flex fans

  7. #7
    Member Jumpin Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Thanks guys, I appreicate your help here... I'm not going to OC this rig, but would like to future proof it a little. It's main aim in life is going to be a Gaming Rig and I can't see myself doing any editing/photo software, or encoding A/V.
    I like the idea of a Quad, but the speed of it worry's me a little in it's ability to handle possible more demanding gamings yet to come out. So with some of you saying "go Quad" because of the mulit-tasking and future-proof, do you still believe I will need this in Gaming Rig?
    More beer please!!!

    Home PC - | CPU...Intel® Core™ i5 3570K | HS ...Corsair H80i | M/B...ASRock Z77 Extreme 4 | RAM ...2 x 4GB DDR3-1333 | GC ... Gigabyte GTX 660 2GB GDDR5 OC | Mon...Asus PB278Q | PSU...Seasonic SS-760XP | HDD...120GB SSD Patriot Pyro SATA3, 300GB Western Digital VelociRaptor 10,000 RPM 16MB Cache SATA II, 250GB Samsung 7200RPM 16MB Cache SATA II | Case...Coolermaster 690


    Travelling Laptop - | CPU...Intel® Core™ i5 2557M | RAM ...1 x 4GB DDR3 1333 | Mon...13.3" 16:9 HD+ (1600x900) LED Backlight | HDD...128GB SSD SATA3 | Case... Asus Zenbook UX31E

  8. #8
    benscoobert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    UK, Yorkshire
    New software will be programmed to run all 4 cores in 1 program, so yes.
    Going non quad core seems bad advice to me.
    Its not a case of multi tasking, and I know im repeating myself, 1 program will run all 4 cores running 4 threads of data.
    The Q6600 does 3ghz on default voltage on my rig, you know it makes sense.
    Ben
    Q9650 3.6Ghz________Q6600____________E4500
    TrUltra120E___________Arctic Cooler 7_____Zalman CNPS8700
    Striker F 400Mhz x 9___Asus P5K__________Asus P5K
    PC2-6400 _8Gb_______PC2-6400__________PC2-6400
    8800 GT ____________8400 GS____________8800 GTS
    Antec 900___________CM 331_____________Mozart TX
    650w Antec Truepwr___Strider 560W________Tagan 450W

  9. #9
    Senior Fourm Spammer

    Evilsizer's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Austin,Texas
    Heatware Profile
    read this...
    http://www.anandtech.com/video/showdoc.aspx?i=3127

    IMO your not ocing and well no a/v editing... get the E6850 3ghz pwn 2.4ghz.... even if you say you get 10fps from another 2 cores per 2.4ghz. the extra 600mhz on a dual core will yeild about the same or higher gain in fps then if you had the extra 2 slower cores.

    Intel G3258@4.2ghz | Asrock Z97M OC Formula | Galaxy GTX660 GC | PM840 Pro 128GB, PM830 FDE 250GB | SilverStone ST45SF
    i3 370M | Jetway NF98 | 2x2gig DDR3-1066 | pico 120WI | Asus GT630 2GB (GK208) |
    intel i5 2450M


    "I Love To Camp!"
    "Commensing Shock Therapy!"
    I'm jonnyGURU of jonnyGURU.com and we don't overload PSU's - JonnyGURU

    HeatWare

  10. #10
    Member Jumpin Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Australia
    As I'm still trying to gather all this information together... I've heard there's a new version of the Quad's with a 45nm version soon to be released... wouldn't it be a disadvantage to buy a Quad now over the new model?
    More beer please!!!

    Home PC - | CPU...Intel® Core™ i5 3570K | HS ...Corsair H80i | M/B...ASRock Z77 Extreme 4 | RAM ...2 x 4GB DDR3-1333 | GC ... Gigabyte GTX 660 2GB GDDR5 OC | Mon...Asus PB278Q | PSU...Seasonic SS-760XP | HDD...120GB SSD Patriot Pyro SATA3, 300GB Western Digital VelociRaptor 10,000 RPM 16MB Cache SATA II, 250GB Samsung 7200RPM 16MB Cache SATA II | Case...Coolermaster 690


    Travelling Laptop - | CPU...Intel® Core™ i5 2557M | RAM ...1 x 4GB DDR3 1333 | Mon...13.3" 16:9 HD+ (1600x900) LED Backlight | HDD...128GB SSD SATA3 | Case... Asus Zenbook UX31E

  11. #11
    Member grumperfish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    South Florida
    Heatware Profile
    ^^^
    It would, unless you consider that the new peryn quads are going to be fairly expensive at the outset while you can run a C2Q at 3-3.2ghz and get pretty awesome performance for quite awhile (for under 300bux). That is, assuming you're set on going quad sooner rather than later.

    On the other hand, if you can get the 6850 for a decent price now then you should probably wait a bit for the new quads to come out as the C2Q's will likely drop in price (IE: the reduced price of Pentium-D's after C2D chips went to retailers) at that time.


    At any rate, going by newegg's pricing (you're in Australia so not sure how the prices are there), the e6850 and Q6600 are currently the same price - $280 USD, whereas the e6750 is cheaper. If you're not going to go quad yet, just grab one of those and shoot for a 3ghz or higher overclock. It'd be cheaper than getting a quad now if you're planning to wait, and it doesn't make much sense to spend the extra ~$70 USD for the e6850 when the 6750 will give you great performance in current games, especially if you overclock.
    Desktop: i7 2600K @ 4.6ghz w/ TR HR-02 + SD 120x38mm // Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3P // MSI R9 290 4GB
    16GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600mhz // Samsung 830 256GB // 6TB // Thermaltake Armor // SS-1050XM2
    Server: E6750 // EP35-DS3R // 4GB DDR2 // 4850 512MB // 840Pro 128GB // 4.25TB // Corsair TX650
    Laptop: Latitude D630 // C2M T7300 // 4GB DDR2 // X3100 // Samsung 830 128GB
    Smoothwall: P4 2.4C // 1GB DDR // AOpen MX4GVR // 20GB // Corsair CX430
    I like HEAT

  12. #12
    Member Jumpin Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Locally the prices are like this;
    E6750, 2.66 Ghz is= AUS$242
    E6850, 3.00 Ghz is= AUS$345
    Q6600, 2.40 Ghz is= AUS$340

    I didn't want to O/C anything in this rig as I have had bad stability and reliability issues when I tried it on my present rig (3y's ago). As this will be a Gaming Rig and trying to configure the system around the COD4 Spec's (recommend CPU of 3.2ghz for Vista), I thought the E6750 and Q6600 would be slightly under done.

    But the feeling I'm getting from all of you is that OC'ing these Intel's is a breeze now... true? If so.. the cheaper option might be the wiser move and Quad later as I can't see the current/new Quad's drop to more reasonably prices for sometime yet (eg: QX6850, 3.0Ghz = AUS$1289).
    More beer please!!!

    Home PC - | CPU...Intel® Core™ i5 3570K | HS ...Corsair H80i | M/B...ASRock Z77 Extreme 4 | RAM ...2 x 4GB DDR3-1333 | GC ... Gigabyte GTX 660 2GB GDDR5 OC | Mon...Asus PB278Q | PSU...Seasonic SS-760XP | HDD...120GB SSD Patriot Pyro SATA3, 300GB Western Digital VelociRaptor 10,000 RPM 16MB Cache SATA II, 250GB Samsung 7200RPM 16MB Cache SATA II | Case...Coolermaster 690


    Travelling Laptop - | CPU...Intel® Core™ i5 2557M | RAM ...1 x 4GB DDR3 1333 | Mon...13.3" 16:9 HD+ (1600x900) LED Backlight | HDD...128GB SSD SATA3 | Case... Asus Zenbook UX31E

  13. #13
    Senior Fourm Spammer

    Evilsizer's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Austin,Texas
    Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by Jumpin Jack View Post
    Locally the prices are like this;
    E6750, 2.66 Ghz is= AUS$242
    E6850, 3.00 Ghz is= AUS$345
    Q6600, 2.40 Ghz is= AUS$340

    I didn't want to O/C anything in this rig as I have had bad stability and reliability issues when I tried it on my present rig (3y's ago). As this will be a Gaming Rig and trying to configure the system around the COD4 Spec's (recommend CPU of 3.2ghz for Vista), I thought the E6750 and Q6600 would be slightly under done.

    But the feeling I'm getting from all of you is that OC'ing these Intel's is a breeze now... true? If so.. the cheaper option might be the wiser move and Quad later as I can't see the current/new Quad's drop to more reasonably prices for sometime yet (eg: QX6850, 3.0Ghz = AUS$1289).
    with the right choice in parts you wont have any trouble ocing the new rig. what brand of motherboards can you get there?

    Intel G3258@4.2ghz | Asrock Z97M OC Formula | Galaxy GTX660 GC | PM840 Pro 128GB, PM830 FDE 250GB | SilverStone ST45SF
    i3 370M | Jetway NF98 | 2x2gig DDR3-1066 | pico 120WI | Asus GT630 2GB (GK208) |
    intel i5 2450M


    "I Love To Camp!"
    "Commensing Shock Therapy!"
    I'm jonnyGURU of jonnyGURU.com and we don't overload PSU's - JonnyGURU

    HeatWare

  14. #14
    Member Jumpin Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Quote Originally Posted by Evilsizer View Post
    with the right choice in parts you wont have any trouble ocing the new rig. what brand of motherboards can you get there?
    That debate is going on right now...Which M/Board

    Suggestions so far have been Asus and Abit (with P35 chipsets)
    More beer please!!!

    Home PC - | CPU...Intel® Core™ i5 3570K | HS ...Corsair H80i | M/B...ASRock Z77 Extreme 4 | RAM ...2 x 4GB DDR3-1333 | GC ... Gigabyte GTX 660 2GB GDDR5 OC | Mon...Asus PB278Q | PSU...Seasonic SS-760XP | HDD...120GB SSD Patriot Pyro SATA3, 300GB Western Digital VelociRaptor 10,000 RPM 16MB Cache SATA II, 250GB Samsung 7200RPM 16MB Cache SATA II | Case...Coolermaster 690


    Travelling Laptop - | CPU...Intel® Core™ i5 2557M | RAM ...1 x 4GB DDR3 1333 | Mon...13.3" 16:9 HD+ (1600x900) LED Backlight | HDD...128GB SSD SATA3 | Case... Asus Zenbook UX31E

  15. #15
    Member satandole666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    With a high quality mobo, a decent air cooler (almost anything besides stock, really), and one of the G0 quads Intel overclocking is truly "point and click".

    I'd personally go with the Asus P5K and the 6850, but I haven't the need for a quad in the least bit. Go with the quad though if it will make you feel better.

    In the BIOS you'll have to do a few things to hit 3.2ghz. Set FSB to 400, change CPU multi to 8, set vcore so you get 1.35v under load (could be something like 1.4) and boot into Windows.

    People will recommend you turn of C1E and Speedstep and you might need a notch of NB voltage for the FSB increase. Other than that make sure your PCI frequency is locked and you should be set.

    Be sure to stability test using the newest Prime95 at least overnight to ensure stability.

    The current generations (p965,p35, and I'd guess X38) make Intel overclocking almost too easy. No need to be hesitant anymore.
    i7 920
    Gigabyte X58 Extreme
    6gb OCZ DDR3 2000
    7970
    Fuzion/MCP655/3x120 rad

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    I think it's going to take a while for games to stress a Q6600. Go quad.

  17. #17
    Member Jumpin Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Australia
    OK.. for this Gaming Rig, I'm going for the E6850's 3.0Ghz, that way I don't have to worry about any Clocking and later down the track I can Quad to my hearts content. It'll be slotted to a Asus P5KC.

    What do you think (right or wrong move)?

    What heatsink is best for the E6850's ?
    More beer please!!!

    Home PC - | CPU...Intel® Core™ i5 3570K | HS ...Corsair H80i | M/B...ASRock Z77 Extreme 4 | RAM ...2 x 4GB DDR3-1333 | GC ... Gigabyte GTX 660 2GB GDDR5 OC | Mon...Asus PB278Q | PSU...Seasonic SS-760XP | HDD...120GB SSD Patriot Pyro SATA3, 300GB Western Digital VelociRaptor 10,000 RPM 16MB Cache SATA II, 250GB Samsung 7200RPM 16MB Cache SATA II | Case...Coolermaster 690


    Travelling Laptop - | CPU...Intel® Core™ i5 2557M | RAM ...1 x 4GB DDR3 1333 | Mon...13.3" 16:9 HD+ (1600x900) LED Backlight | HDD...128GB SSD SATA3 | Case... Asus Zenbook UX31E

  18. #18
    Member aja's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    SOUTH AFRICA, and yes, we do have electricity, and no, lions dont walk around in our streets
    anything by thermalright will serve you well for cooling!

  19. #19
    Member Jumpin Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Australia
    I've bought the Q6600 (peer-pressure )


    Thank-you for all your help and advice, it was much appreciated.
    More beer please!!!

    Home PC - | CPU...Intel® Core™ i5 3570K | HS ...Corsair H80i | M/B...ASRock Z77 Extreme 4 | RAM ...2 x 4GB DDR3-1333 | GC ... Gigabyte GTX 660 2GB GDDR5 OC | Mon...Asus PB278Q | PSU...Seasonic SS-760XP | HDD...120GB SSD Patriot Pyro SATA3, 300GB Western Digital VelociRaptor 10,000 RPM 16MB Cache SATA II, 250GB Samsung 7200RPM 16MB Cache SATA II | Case...Coolermaster 690


    Travelling Laptop - | CPU...Intel® Core™ i5 2557M | RAM ...1 x 4GB DDR3 1333 | Mon...13.3" 16:9 HD+ (1600x900) LED Backlight | HDD...128GB SSD SATA3 | Case... Asus Zenbook UX31E

  20. #20
    Senior Member jason4207's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Concord, NC
    I wouldn't get that MoBo. Get a board that has DDR2 support OR DDR3 support, but not both.
    MAIN RIG: 3570K @ 4.5GHz 1.272v H100i Extreme4-Z77 8GB-G.Skill @ 2200MHz 9-11-11-28 1.60v CM_430-Elite
    GTX670_DCuII_TOP @ 1358/7244 1.212v Xplosion-DTS 256GB-Samsung_830 1TB-Black Seasonic_X-750
    27.5"-1200P-LCD Z5500-5.1 || PLV-Z4_720P_Projector_95" Paradigm_6.1_DTS-ES
    G9_Mouse Logitech_Illuminated_KB Logitech_G27_Wheel+Microsim_Racing_Pod ***HEAT***

    GAMING HTPC: i3-550 @ 4.5GHz 1.35v H70 MSI_H55M-ED55 4GB-G.Skill @ 1875MHz 7-9-7-23 1T
    GTS450 @ 970/1940/2100 240GB_Sandisk_Extreme 640GB_Blue Corsair_CX430
    Panny 42S2 1080P Plasma

    unRAID FILE SERVER: E5200-M0 @ 2GHz 0.856v MSIP43Neo3-F 4GB-Corsair @ 800MHz CM590 Antec550W
    19TB-Parity_Protected_Storage / 1TB-Cache / 2TB-Parity / 10x2TB 2x1TB


Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •