Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 74
  1. #1
    $30 a phone d94's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    48302

    8800gt on a 250W PSU!

    welp..iv randomly decided this morning i want an 8800gt after i bought my 24" monitor the other day...hehe iv got a shuttle with a 250W psu, i used to run a 7900gt NP with or without the pci-e connector (i do have one) ~ so ill be going out within the next hour to see if i can make some magic happen
    Antec 300 Intel Q6600 @ 3.7 - X48-DS4 - 4gb ddr2 - 500w Earthwatt's - 52" Sharp Aquos LC-52D64U
    1x 640GB WD - 2x 1TB Greenpower - 2x 400GB Seagate - ATI 4830 512mb @ 680/975
    3DMark Vanage 7402 3DMark05 20,447 3DMark06 13,693

    Emachines amd x2 5000+ @ 2.9ghz w/foxconn bios - 2gb ddr2
    stock POS 300w - 400gb Seagate - diNovo + VX Revolution

    MacBook Air - 1.6ghz c2d - 2gb ddr2 - 80gb

    heatware

  2. #2
    Member =ACID RAIN='s Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Kingwood, TX
    /shakes head....

    MY HEAT | Websense who? | Windows lockdown
    Mine: Q6600 . IP35 Pro . 8GB RAM . Velociraptor 150 . Win7 Enterprise
    Wife: E6600 . GA-G31M-ES2 . 4GB RAM . Buncha drives . WinXP Pro
    Domain Controller: E6600 . GA-G31M-S2L . 2GB RAM . 36GB Raptor . 2 x 1.5TB WD Green . 2008 R2
    HTPC: E6300 . P5B . 1GB RAM . 320GB . Win7 Enterprise
    Sandbox 1: Dell Optiplex GX270 SFF (new caps) . 1GB RAM . 120GB . FreeBSD 7.2
    Sandbox 2: 3800+ X2. K8N Neo4 (new caps) . 1GB RAM . 4 x 400GB RAID0 . 2008 R2 (WDS, WSUS)
    Sandbox 3: Opteron 146 . 768MB RAM . 120GB . 2008 R2 (headless, no video, remote only)
    Laptop: Vostro 1700 . 4GB RAM . Win7 Enterprise

  3. #3
    Wow this should get good.
    ][mmortal ]-[ero
    Heatware

  4. #4
    What do you guys mean?? This should work. As long as he doesn't plan on bringing power to the CPU, RAM, MOBO, or drives, I don't see any reason why a 250W PSU couldn't power an 8800GT.

  5. #5
    Member CGR's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Lower NY
    Um... YEAAAAAH!!! Good luck with that.
    Main System:.................................................. ......................Second System:
    DFI BloodIron P35-T2RL w/ Q6600 GO@ 3.2 (9x360), 1.4v....DFI Ultra-D w/Opteron 170 @ 2.7
    G.skill 4GB (2x2gb).................................................. ..............G.Skill Extreme 2GB (2x1gb)
    HIS 4850 680/1108.................................................. .............Nvidia 7600GT
    WD VRaptor 300gb/Seagate 1TB..........................................Raptor 74gb/Seagate 200gb
    OCZ GameXtreme 600SLI


  6. #6
    i think he might mean that the 250watt psu would just power the gpu alone. ...i hope he means that :/

  7. #7
    $30 a phone d94's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    48302
    haha NOPE
    250w for e6600 + 2gb ram + 2x400gb hd + dvd-rw and the 8800GT ^^

    and lookie lookie, im up and running muahahah
    for anyone that doesnt know, shuttle psu's are VERY under-rated or VERY efficient..they can do amazing things
    btw my psu doesnt even have the 6 pin built in..im using a splitter for a 4 pin, and then a 6 pin to 2x 4 pin
    thats how my 7900gt ran perfectly stable for months

    Antec 300 Intel Q6600 @ 3.7 - X48-DS4 - 4gb ddr2 - 500w Earthwatt's - 52" Sharp Aquos LC-52D64U
    1x 640GB WD - 2x 1TB Greenpower - 2x 400GB Seagate - ATI 4830 512mb @ 680/975
    3DMark Vanage 7402 3DMark05 20,447 3DMark06 13,693

    Emachines amd x2 5000+ @ 2.9ghz w/foxconn bios - 2gb ddr2
    stock POS 300w - 400gb Seagate - diNovo + VX Revolution

    MacBook Air - 1.6ghz c2d - 2gb ddr2 - 80gb

    heatware

  8. #8
    Member =ACID RAIN='s Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Kingwood, TX
    Game it. I want to see how long it lasts

    Better yet, when you game it, take a temp reading on the air leaving the PSU, that has me more curious than anything hahaha
    MY HEAT | Websense who? | Windows lockdown
    Mine: Q6600 . IP35 Pro . 8GB RAM . Velociraptor 150 . Win7 Enterprise
    Wife: E6600 . GA-G31M-ES2 . 4GB RAM . Buncha drives . WinXP Pro
    Domain Controller: E6600 . GA-G31M-S2L . 2GB RAM . 36GB Raptor . 2 x 1.5TB WD Green . 2008 R2
    HTPC: E6300 . P5B . 1GB RAM . 320GB . Win7 Enterprise
    Sandbox 1: Dell Optiplex GX270 SFF (new caps) . 1GB RAM . 120GB . FreeBSD 7.2
    Sandbox 2: 3800+ X2. K8N Neo4 (new caps) . 1GB RAM . 4 x 400GB RAID0 . 2008 R2 (WDS, WSUS)
    Sandbox 3: Opteron 146 . 768MB RAM . 120GB . 2008 R2 (headless, no video, remote only)
    Laptop: Vostro 1700 . 4GB RAM . Win7 Enterprise

  9. #9
    Member CGR's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Lower NY
    Im willing to bet it wont make it through one 3dmark06 bench
    Main System:.................................................. ......................Second System:
    DFI BloodIron P35-T2RL w/ Q6600 GO@ 3.2 (9x360), 1.4v....DFI Ultra-D w/Opteron 170 @ 2.7
    G.skill 4GB (2x2gb).................................................. ..............G.Skill Extreme 2GB (2x1gb)
    HIS 4850 680/1108.................................................. .............Nvidia 7600GT
    WD VRaptor 300gb/Seagate 1TB..........................................Raptor 74gb/Seagate 200gb
    OCZ GameXtreme 600SLI


  10. #10
    $30 a phone d94's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    48302
    Just installed drivers, still alive lol
    about to run 3dmark03 (just for you JoT )
    followed by 06
    Antec 300 Intel Q6600 @ 3.7 - X48-DS4 - 4gb ddr2 - 500w Earthwatt's - 52" Sharp Aquos LC-52D64U
    1x 640GB WD - 2x 1TB Greenpower - 2x 400GB Seagate - ATI 4830 512mb @ 680/975
    3DMark Vanage 7402 3DMark05 20,447 3DMark06 13,693

    Emachines amd x2 5000+ @ 2.9ghz w/foxconn bios - 2gb ddr2
    stock POS 300w - 400gb Seagate - diNovo + VX Revolution

    MacBook Air - 1.6ghz c2d - 2gb ddr2 - 80gb

    heatware

  11. #11
    I bet it will be fine .
    ][mmortal ]-[ero
    Heatware

  12. #12
    Member Drinkyoghurt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Eindhoven, The Netherlands
    guessing cpu will use 105W, another 100-200 for the gfx card, not counting in the 2 hdd's and stuff,

    I want to see 8800gt fireworks.

    but seriously dude, you have the money to buy a 24" monitor and a 8800gt, why not spend a little on the psu too?

    CPU:
    Intel i5-2500k 4.7ghz 1.34V - M0b0:Asrock P67 Pro3 Rev. B3 - Ram:Corsair XMS3 1600mhz 7-8-7-21 1.63V - Cooler: Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme - Videocard:Sparkle GTX 260 216 core 55nm -
    14459 marks in 3Dmark06
    Reboot: "Don't argue with idiots. They bring you to their level and beat you with experience."
    rdrash:"I think Todd changes hardware more frequently then he changes his underpants."
    Join the benching team and be part of the elite

  13. #13
    Senior Member jason4207's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Concord, NC
    How far can you OC the card?
    MAIN RIG: 3570K @ 4.5GHz 1.272v H100i Extreme4-Z77 8GB-G.Skill @ 2200MHz 9-11-11-28 1.60v CM_430-Elite
    GTX670_DCuII_TOP @ 1358/7244 1.212v Xplosion-DTS 256GB-Samsung_830 1TB-Black Seasonic_X-750
    27.5"-1200P-LCD Z5500-5.1 || PLV-Z4_720P_Projector_95" Paradigm_6.1_DTS-ES
    G9_Mouse Logitech_Illuminated_KB Logitech_G27_Wheel+Microsim_Racing_Pod ***HEAT***

    GAMING HTPC: i3-550 @ 4.5GHz 1.35v H70 MSI_H55M-ED55 4GB-G.Skill @ 1875MHz 7-9-7-23 1T
    GTS450 @ 970/1940/2100 240GB_Sandisk_Extreme 640GB_Blue Corsair_CX430
    Panny 42S2 1080P Plasma

    unRAID FILE SERVER: E5200-M0 @ 2GHz 0.856v MSIP43Neo3-F 4GB-Corsair @ 800MHz CM590 Antec550W
    19TB-Parity_Protected_Storage / 1TB-Cache / 2TB-Parity / 10x2TB 2x1TB


  14. #14
    Senior Jedi Master
    Premium Member #9

    ghost_recon88's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Michigan
    Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Its not like you can put any PSU you want in a Shuttle And I'm willing to bet it works.
    The will to live will always outweigh the ability to die

  15. #15
    $30 a phone d94's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    48302

    ~ why should i buy a better psu ~ this one is plenty powerfull
    not to mention ya..its a shuttle lol, i dont want a full size rig
    btw this is on a clogged install of vista..ill be doing a fresh one later today too, so i'd imagine that'd boost the points a little

    NEXT UP ~ 06
    Antec 300 Intel Q6600 @ 3.7 - X48-DS4 - 4gb ddr2 - 500w Earthwatt's - 52" Sharp Aquos LC-52D64U
    1x 640GB WD - 2x 1TB Greenpower - 2x 400GB Seagate - ATI 4830 512mb @ 680/975
    3DMark Vanage 7402 3DMark05 20,447 3DMark06 13,693

    Emachines amd x2 5000+ @ 2.9ghz w/foxconn bios - 2gb ddr2
    stock POS 300w - 400gb Seagate - diNovo + VX Revolution

    MacBook Air - 1.6ghz c2d - 2gb ddr2 - 80gb

    heatware

  16. #16
    LOL your case is tight, it looks like a toaster from the Jetsons.
    Q6600
    P5K Premium
    8GB G.Skill DDR800
    EVGA 8800GT

  17. #17
    Member Drinkyoghurt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Eindhoven, The Netherlands
    lol i want to see the 06 before and after pictures, before your psu was toast, after your psu was toast..

    CPU:
    Intel i5-2500k 4.7ghz 1.34V - M0b0:Asrock P67 Pro3 Rev. B3 - Ram:Corsair XMS3 1600mhz 7-8-7-21 1.63V - Cooler: Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme - Videocard:Sparkle GTX 260 216 core 55nm -
    14459 marks in 3Dmark06
    Reboot: "Don't argue with idiots. They bring you to their level and beat you with experience."
    rdrash:"I think Todd changes hardware more frequently then he changes his underpants."
    Join the benching team and be part of the elite

  18. #18
    Member CGR's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Lower NY
    I want to see 3dmark06 not 03 :P
    Main System:.................................................. ......................Second System:
    DFI BloodIron P35-T2RL w/ Q6600 GO@ 3.2 (9x360), 1.4v....DFI Ultra-D w/Opteron 170 @ 2.7
    G.skill 4GB (2x2gb).................................................. ..............G.Skill Extreme 2GB (2x1gb)
    HIS 4850 680/1108.................................................. .............Nvidia 7600GT
    WD VRaptor 300gb/Seagate 1TB..........................................Raptor 74gb/Seagate 200gb
    OCZ GameXtreme 600SLI


  19. #19
    $30 a phone d94's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    48302
    Quote Originally Posted by CGR View Post
    I want to see 3dmark06 not 03 :P
    85% dl'd ~ btw while i was running 03 the psu didnt heat up
    Antec 300 Intel Q6600 @ 3.7 - X48-DS4 - 4gb ddr2 - 500w Earthwatt's - 52" Sharp Aquos LC-52D64U
    1x 640GB WD - 2x 1TB Greenpower - 2x 400GB Seagate - ATI 4830 512mb @ 680/975
    3DMark Vanage 7402 3DMark05 20,447 3DMark06 13,693

    Emachines amd x2 5000+ @ 2.9ghz w/foxconn bios - 2gb ddr2
    stock POS 300w - 400gb Seagate - diNovo + VX Revolution

    MacBook Air - 1.6ghz c2d - 2gb ddr2 - 80gb

    heatware

  20. #20
    High Speed Senior deathman20's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Where the Cheese Heads Live
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    It should run it without much hassle.

    I mean what type of power consumption did the 7900 take? The 8800GT isn't that much of a power sucker at what 110W maybe? The E6600 if the board supports it won't be taking much power either at maybe 70-75W maybe less if he can under volt it.

    HDD's sure it takes some, motherboard for those PC's are ment to run lean in the power department as well.

    Totally possible. If not mistaken I've seen someone run a 8800GTX as well as a 2900XT in shuttle case with not that large of a PSU as well.

    Nice going D94
    -=The Gamer=-
    MSI Z68A-GD65 (G3) | i5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz | 1.3875V | 28C Idle / 65C Load (LinX)
    8Gig G.Skill Ripjaw PC3-12800 9-9-9-24 @ 1600Mhz w/ 1.5V | TR Ultra eXtreme 120 w/ 2 Fans
    Asus DCUII R9 290 1075/1300 w/ 1.05V GPU | 36C Idle / 75C Load | 128/256GB Crucial M4 SSD's / 512GB Samsung 840 Pro
    BitFenix Shinobi Window Case | SilverStone DA750 | Samsung UD590 28" 4k | Oculus Rift DK2 - Incoming October 2014
    -=The Server=-
    Synology DS1511+ | Dual Core 1.8Ghz CPU | 30C Idle / 38C Load
    3 Gig PC2-6400 | 4x Samsung F4 2TB Raid5 | 1x Samsung F4 2TB
    Heat

Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •