Results 1 to 20 of 20
  1. #1

    Need Crysis information (also on EA)

    First, system specs:
    Q6600 (stock)
    8gigs DDR2-800 (stock)
    GIGABYTE GV-NX86T256D GeForce 8600GT 256MB 128-bit GDDR3
    Gigabyte GA-P35-DQ6 motherboard (stock)
    Dell 27" 2707WFP 1920x1200 res monitor
    Vista Ultimate x64


    1) Can my system handle Crysis at full settings? (I'll be aiming for a 1920x1200 resolution, widescreen)
    2) If I buy and download directly from EA, can I burn it to a dvd?

  2. #2
    Senior Member that
    wants to Be Banned
    Premium Member #16



    10 Year Badge
    dfonda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    PA. N. of Splat W. of Torin
    Author Profile Folding Profile Rosetta Profile
    First question not with good frame rates and not playable. The GPU is your weakest link.

    Second question sure. You just want to back up the file right? Not so sure your gonna carry it around and run it on other machines.
    #1Win72600k@4.5GHZ(Hyper212+)Msi P67 G65 16GB RAM Gigabyte GTX 970, Corsair 850W
    Phones:One+64GB, Nexus 5, N4,N7, iphone 5, iphone 6(4.7")
    Folded for Tim and his wife, Mark and his wife,Pete_Scout Oldskool and Adak..."He was the Best of us".
    The first 4 months you cover your phone and baby it...
    The next 4 months you go commando and relax...
    The last 4 months you treat it like a rented mule, because lets face it its time for a new phone...

  3. #3
    Member blackersabbath's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Norwich, NY
    I think that you may be able to get max settings on it but probably not playable. You may have to lower a few of them out of max to get playable speeds

    Edit: got beat to it =(
    MB: ASUS M4A89TD PRO/USB3
    CPU: Phenom II 955 BE (h100+4x Ultra Kaze)
    RAM: GSkill Ripjaws 1600 2x4GB (running at 667 9/9/9/25/40/2t)
    VGA: Sapphire 6870 (reference design) stock
    HD: Samsung F3 1TB/ Seagate Green 2TB
    PSU: Corsair 650TX
    Case: Arc Midi
    Monitor: 32" LCD TV
    OS: Windows 7

  4. #4
    Member redrumy3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    New York
    Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by quadcore86 View Post
    First, system specs:
    Q6600 (stock)
    8gigs DDR2-800 (stock)
    GIGABYTE GV-NX86T256D GeForce 8600GT 256MB 128-bit GDDR3
    Gigabyte GA-P35-DQ6 motherboard (stock)
    Dell 27" 2707WFP 1920x1200 res monitor
    Vista Ultimate x64


    1) Can my system handle Crysis at full settings? (I'll be aiming for a 1920x1200 resolution, widescreen)
    2) If I buy and download directly from EA, can I burn it to a dvd?
    with 8600gt looking at medium settings for sure

    about ea download which is what i use, u can burn it to a dvd once u have it downloaded
    Corsair H80
    i5 4670K 4.5Ghz 1.26v
    Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR3-1600 1.50v
    Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H F10
    Evga GTX 770 4GB | SamSung Evo 120GB SSD
    Evga 850W G2 | Asus Xonar Essence STX
    Beyerdynamic DT-990 | Asus VG248QE 144Hz
    SteelSeries Rival | Razer BlackWidow Ultimate | Corsair 760T
    Windows 8.1 Update 1 64-Bit

  5. #5
    Senior Member that
    wants to Be Banned
    Premium Member #16



    10 Year Badge
    dfonda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    PA. N. of Splat W. of Torin
    Author Profile Folding Profile Rosetta Profile
    That was close 3 of us at 2:34. OP had to wait a full 2minutes

    EDIT LOL Oh yeah to below bsabbath.
    #1Win72600k@4.5GHZ(Hyper212+)Msi P67 G65 16GB RAM Gigabyte GTX 970, Corsair 850W
    Phones:One+64GB, Nexus 5, N4,N7, iphone 5, iphone 6(4.7")
    Folded for Tim and his wife, Mark and his wife,Pete_Scout Oldskool and Adak..."He was the Best of us".
    The first 4 months you cover your phone and baby it...
    The next 4 months you go commando and relax...
    The last 4 months you treat it like a rented mule, because lets face it its time for a new phone...

  6. #6
    Member blackersabbath's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Norwich, NY
    Are we good or what? lol
    MB: ASUS M4A89TD PRO/USB3
    CPU: Phenom II 955 BE (h100+4x Ultra Kaze)
    RAM: GSkill Ripjaws 1600 2x4GB (running at 667 9/9/9/25/40/2t)
    VGA: Sapphire 6870 (reference design) stock
    HD: Samsung F3 1TB/ Seagate Green 2TB
    PSU: Corsair 650TX
    Case: Arc Midi
    Monitor: 32" LCD TV
    OS: Windows 7

  7. #7
    Member Dan0512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Switzerland
    With that GPU, you're looking at low settings at that resolution at best.

    With my card, which is considerably faster than yours, the game is barely playable with medium details @ 1680*1050.

    dan
    HP8530W on Arch Linux

    Own a 7900gto? Flash and memory Vmod instructions here
    ADO

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by Dan0512 View Post
    With that GPU, you're looking at low settings at that resolution at best.

    With my card, which is considerably faster than yours, the game is barely playable with medium details @ 1680*1050.

    dan

    You got a 7900GTX.....I don't know but I think a 8600GT is comparable (I'm not an expert in video cards). I just hope I can achieve at least medium lol!

    Thanks guys for the info!

  9. #9
    Member jivetrky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Lake Village, IN 46349
    Quote Originally Posted by quadcore86 View Post
    You got a 7900GTX.....I don't know but I think a 8600GT is comparable (I'm not an expert in video cards). I just hope I can achieve at least medium lol!

    Thanks guys for the info!
    The 7900GTX will mostly be faster than an 8600GTS, probably noticeably faster.
    PLEASE MOVE YOUR CLASSIFIED AD TO SOLD ONCE IT HAS COMPLETED (Click here to learn how)

    2x HTPCs / 3x Desktops / 1x 10TB UnRAID Server

    [--------------HEATWARE: jivetrky --------------|-------------- GAMING NICK: jivetrky--------------]

    "With every upgrade I become less clever." -Socket eh?\(_o)/

  10. #10
    Member PhysX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Calgary
    yes much faster in deed the specs....

    8600gt =256/512MB GDDR3 - 540 MHz Core - Memory 700 MHz / 128 Bit - 8 / 32 / 32 DX10.0, PS4.0, the only advantage/ disadvantage = DX10

    7900gtx = 512MB GDDR3 - 650 MHz Core - Memory 800 MHz / 256 Bit - 16 / 24 / 8 DX9.0, PS3.0, VS3.0, only disadvantage = DX9 only.
    ASUS P8P67 DLX | Core i7 2600k @ 5200Mh - CM Hyper 212+ | 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengance 1600| 2x Sapphire Radeon HD 6970 2GB CrossFireX | 2 X WD Black 500GB HW-Raid 0 - 2 X WD GREEN 1.5TB (EARS) HW-RAID 1 | Corsair AX 1200

  11. #11
    Member xilix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    MA
    Heatware Profile
    At 1920x1200 an 8600GT isn't going to play much of anything at full settings as far as newer games are concerned. That resolution is insanely high. I recommend you go no higher than 1366x768 or whatever resolution is closest to it with settings set to medium/low.
    Case -- LIAN LI Lancool PC-K58W
    PSU --- Coolermaster V1000
    Mobo - ASRock P67 EXTREME4 GEN3
    HD ---- 250GB+320GB+1TB+1.5TB WD's, 64GBx64GB Crucial M4 SSD's
    CPU --- Intel Core i5-2500K MCW6000 @4.8Ghz
    RAM --- 2x4GB G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB
    GFX --- EVGA GTX 670 SC 4GB
    Dislpay 42" Samsung 1080p LCD -- 24" LG 1080p LCD

    Heat

  12. #12
    erm try 1024x768 with medium if your lucky http://uk.gamespot.com/features/6182806/p-5.html you'll have to scroll down a bit
    30fps on the benchmark test at medium settings across the board. Though the benchmark isn't reliable to real world performance, expect to lose perhaps upto 5fps real world. This brings it inline with what many people are stating, the game is infact strangley very playable at 25fps.

    Your PC is so unbalanced you have like grossly over the top stuff and then just an 'ok' graphics card. Crysis relies heavily on graphics card power, chances are you won't hack 1920x1200 reso even with all low settings if I am being totally honest with you.
    Intel E6600 | Gigabyte 965P-DS3P | 2GB Corsair VS PC5400 (x2 1GB)
    Chieftec Dragon side panel modded for 120mm fan | Corsair HX 520w
    XpertVision 8800GT Sonic | Samsung SyncMaster 940BW 19" WS / Toshiba 37" HDTV (37Z3030D)
    Seagate 7200.10 250GB SATAII HD | X-Fi Gamer

  13. #13
    You guys are right, I played the demo and at 1920x1200....LOL it was crawling.
    I can do 1024x768 just fine, anything higher just lags horribly on medium settings.

    Can anyone recommend a good card that can handle 1920x1200 very high crysis settings? (point one to me on newegg, if possible...passively cooled)

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles, California
    To play at that res on very high settings you'll need two GTX or 2 Ultra's in Sli man lol
    With your current mobo, an 8800 Ultra is your best bet, just make sure your PSU can handle it.
    #1: C2D e6750@3.4, 1.41v with Ultima-90; GA-P35-DS3R; Crucial Ballistix 2GB; eVGA 8800GT 711/1750/975; Corsair HX520; X-Fi XtremeGamer; CM 690.

    #2: i5 2500k, Hyper212+, GA-Z68XP-UD3P, 8GB Corsair Vengeance, Corsair TX750M PSU, Gigabyte 6950 1Gb.

  15. #15
    Member Dan0512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Switzerland
    Quote Originally Posted by quadcore86 View Post
    You guys are right, I played the demo and at 1920x1200....LOL it was crawling.
    I can do 1024x768 just fine, anything higher just lags horribly on medium settings.

    Can anyone recommend a good card that can handle 1920x1200 very high crysis settings? (point one to me on newegg, if possible...passively cooled)
    I don't think that there's anything passively cooled that will run crysis at high, let alone very high at that resolution .

    A single 8800 Ultra should be able to pull regular high details at that resolution.

    dan
    HP8530W on Arch Linux

    Own a 7900gto? Flash and memory Vmod instructions here
    ADO

  16. #16
    If you are finding it is running totally smooth don't be afraid to try turning up a few settings from medium. Some stuff doesn't even really add any extra stress onto you graphics card. You have a lot of RAM and a powerful CPU so you should easyily hack stuff like high: particles, physics, sound, game effects, maybe volumetric and maybe even texture.
    Just keep shadows and shaders on medium, they effect performance the most especially shaders. Postprocessing can be a bit of a strange one for certain people so you will have to experiment with that.
    Intel E6600 | Gigabyte 965P-DS3P | 2GB Corsair VS PC5400 (x2 1GB)
    Chieftec Dragon side panel modded for 120mm fan | Corsair HX 520w
    XpertVision 8800GT Sonic | Samsung SyncMaster 940BW 19" WS / Toshiba 37" HDTV (37Z3030D)
    Seagate 7200.10 250GB SATAII HD | X-Fi Gamer

  17. #17
    Senior Member that
    wants to Be Banned
    Premium Member #16



    10 Year Badge
    dfonda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    PA. N. of Splat W. of Torin
    Author Profile Folding Profile Rosetta Profile
    Even an 8800GT with 512mb would be a huge performance boost for you. Hang in there till the prices drop some.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130303
    #1Win72600k@4.5GHZ(Hyper212+)Msi P67 G65 16GB RAM Gigabyte GTX 970, Corsair 850W
    Phones:One+64GB, Nexus 5, N4,N7, iphone 5, iphone 6(4.7")
    Folded for Tim and his wife, Mark and his wife,Pete_Scout Oldskool and Adak..."He was the Best of us".
    The first 4 months you cover your phone and baby it...
    The next 4 months you go commando and relax...
    The last 4 months you treat it like a rented mule, because lets face it its time for a new phone...

  18. #18
    Spawn-Inc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Quote Originally Posted by balagopal View Post
    the below config is my rig:
    Athlon 64 3200+
    2GB DDR 400
    XFX 8800GTS 320MB
    ASUS A8NE
    320GB Seagate

    what upgrade do i need to be able to play Crysis properly?do i need to go for a C2D or a Q6600?

    i would say cpu would be the next upgrade, my system (sig) can run crysis all on medium at 1024x768 at 30-40fps.
    CPU: Q6600 G0 3.5GHz@1.4v (4.2GHz max) / 4790k 4.8ghz @1.265v
    GPU: 9800GTX /GTX780 hydrocopper
    Ram: Samsung 4GB /gskill 16gb DDR3 1600
    Mobo: EVGA-NF68-A1 680i (P32) /AsRock Extreme6
    PSU: Enermax Galaxy 850Watt /EVGA 850 G2
    HDD: OCZ 120GB Vertex4, Samsung evo 840 250GB
    LCD: Samsung 32" LN32A450, Samsung 226BW 22" wide
    Sound: Logtiech Z 5500
    CPU & GPU: 3x Swiftech MCR320, 2x MCP655, MCW60 R2, Dtek Fuzion V2, 18 high speed yates @ 5v

  19. #19
    Quote Originally Posted by balagopal View Post
    what upgrade do i need to be able to play Crysis properly?do i need to go for a C2D or a Q6600?
    Define 'properly'

    Or rather, what are your expectations of the game?
    Intel E6600 | Gigabyte 965P-DS3P | 2GB Corsair VS PC5400 (x2 1GB)
    Chieftec Dragon side panel modded for 120mm fan | Corsair HX 520w
    XpertVision 8800GT Sonic | Samsung SyncMaster 940BW 19" WS / Toshiba 37" HDTV (37Z3030D)
    Seagate 7200.10 250GB SATAII HD | X-Fi Gamer

  20. #20
    Member SteveLord's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Iowa
    Heatware Profile
    There's no real difference between Dual and Quad. But single will make you miss out on performance for sure.

    Check out gamespot's performance guide.
    http://www.gamespot.com/features/618...opslot;title;2
    "There are two kinds of pain. The sort of pain that makes you strong,
    or useless pain. The sort of pain that's only suffering. I have no
    patience for useless things."

    __________________

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •