Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    146

    610W not enough?

    I recently purchased a PC Power&Cooling 610W@40C (670 Peak) and
    it seems to be at full capacity.
    Speed fan and PC wizzard report low +12V(11.78) and +5 volts(4.80)
    However upon doing some reading here I used a volt meter on the last availble molex plug and get a healthy +12.5 and +5.2.
    Can the software be that messed up? The Bios also reads the low volts.
    I seem to be bottlenecked with my overclocking with the G-Skill 4 GB.
    I was thinking of sending the P/S back but after reading the voltmeter I am allot happier.
    Using the PC power&Cooling guide I should of got a bigger one. http://www.pcpower.com/technology/power_usage/
    I am slightly O/C'd to 3.50 GHz 14X217. I just up the memory from 200.
    I run cool 30C/43C and stock Vcore.
    with 5 hard drives and 4 fans , 1-120mm case,1-90 cpu, 2-90 case
    I have the 2 PCI-E 6 plugs in the 8800GTX
    What are your thoughts on the load?
    Last edited by stilup; 11-18-07 at 09:33 AM.
    Asus M3A78 bios 1202
    AMD Phenom 9850 BE@3000Mhz
    Zalman 9700 cooler@42C load
    4X2 GB Mushkin 1066
    Evga GTX 280 1GB
    PVR-500 TV
    PC Power+Cooling 750 watt
    Vista 64 Ult/XP Pro

  2. #2

    Destroyer of Spammers, Trolls and Cretins

    Premium Member #12
    RollingThunder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    9,084
    Quote Originally Posted by stilup View Post
    I recently purchased a PC Power&Cooling 610W@40C (670 Peak) and
    it seems to be at full capacity.
    Speed fan and PC wizzard report low +12V(11.78) and +5 volts(4.80)
    However upon doing some reading here I used a volt meter on the last availble molex plug and get a healthy +12.5 and +5.2.
    Can the software be that messed up? The Bios also reads the low volts.
    I seem to be bottlenecked with my overclocking with the G-Skill 4 GB.
    I was thinking of sending the P/S back but after reading the voltmeter I am allot happier.
    Using the PC power&Cooling guide I should of got a bigger one. http://www.pcpower.com/technology/power_usage/
    I am slightly O/C'd to 3.50 GHz 14X217. I just up the memory from 200.
    I run cool 30C/43C and stock Vcore.
    with 5 hard drives and 4 fans , 1-120mm case,1-90 cpu, 2-90 case
    I have the 2 PXCI-E 6 plugs in the 8800GTX
    What are your thoughts on the load?
    Stilup,

    As long as you are not 8800GTX SLI, it certainly isn't your power supply holding you back.

    Are your RAMs 2 sticks X 2 GB or 4 sticks X 1GB? You weren't clear on that.

    Ignore your software readings on the voltage, a DMM is the correct method. Is your 12v reading 12.5v or 12.05v?
    Intel E8500 @ 3608 MHz...............Intel E7500 @ 3333 MHz Home Server
    DFI DK P45 T2RS Plus.................Same
    WD Velociraptor 150 & WD Raptor 74...Raptor 74 - Hitachi Deskstar 1TB
    ATI 5750.............................ATI 6200FX
    Dell Ultra Sharp U2413.............. Dell Ultra Sharp 2209WA
    2 x 2 GB GSkill PC8500 @ DDR2 960....2 x 1 GB GSkill PC8500
    Corsair HX520........................Corsair HX520
    Coolermaster NV 690..................Lian-Li PC-K7
    Vista 64.............................XP Pro
    Experience teaches only the teachable.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    146
    Hi RollingThunder I show D/C dual channel in my sig but I will chng it for clarity and yes 12.05V is the correct amout.
    Asus M3A78 bios 1202
    AMD Phenom 9850 BE@3000Mhz
    Zalman 9700 cooler@42C load
    4X2 GB Mushkin 1066
    Evga GTX 280 1GB
    PVR-500 TV
    PC Power+Cooling 750 watt
    Vista 64 Ult/XP Pro

  4. #4
    Member majinwar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    684
    The PSU is not overloaded, only way it would be, or close to being, is if you had 2 GTX's in SLI as RollingThunder stated.

    Software readings are never 100% accurate, but they do give a good estimate. Some give better estimates than others though.
    CPU: Intel E8400 @ 4.0Ghz
    Cooling: Thermalright 120 Ultra eXtreme
    MB: Asus Maximus Formula
    GPU: ATI Sapphire 4870 1GB
    PSU: Corsair HX750W
    RAM: 2x1 Gb OCZ DDR2 PC8500 1066Mhz
    HD: OCZ Vertex 60Gb SSD
    Case: Slightly Modified Antec 900

  5. #5
    Member meionm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    4,703
    You would need multimeter for accuarte readings. Software and bios readings are not in many cases. Unless you are running sli 8800gts, as others said, there is no need for more power unless psu is defective.
    Dell XPS 1330 T8300, 4GB PC6400, LED Monitor, DVD Burner, Intel 4965 wireless, Bluetooth 360, 9cell battery, Windows Vista Ultimate, Remote

    Q9550, Gigabyte ex38 ds4, 4GB Corsair Dominator PC8500, evga 8800gt, Corsiar 520w psu, WD 640GB HD, LG Eide Dvd Burner, Antec P182

    HEATWARE

  6. #6
    Seņor Senior Member Nebulous's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    The Empire State
    Posts
    8,938
    With the system in my sig my 610 isn't breaking a sweat. Trust me you're no where's near the maxing out of that psu

    <MEGA-O>
    ASRock Z97 Extreme 6 /i7 4790K De-Lid @ 4.7GHz
    16GB GSKILL Sniper F3-17000CL11D-8GBSR @ 2400
    H2O=XSPC Rasa Black / XSPC RX360 / MCP-655 D5 / MCRes
    Corsair Force 3 SSD 120GB x2=Raid~0 / WD VelociRaptor 300GB
    Gigabyte GV-R797OC-3GD WF3 @ 1100/1500 w/ModBios
    Sony AD-7220S / Seagate 500GB / Lite On LH-16A1S
    SilverStone Zeus SST-ZM1350 1350w
    CM Cosmos 1000 / Win8.1 x64
    ** Under TITLE II, SECTION 210.340 it is legal to overclock **

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •