Results 1 to 18 of 18
  1. #1
    conway's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    754

    Question Pics of delidded FX??

    Anyone have any decent res pics of a delidded Athlon FX? I want to compare a few of the surface features under the lid vs my newly delidded Opteron. Thanks!
    cpu - Phenom II x4 810 @ 3640
    motherboard - Asus M3A32-MVP Deluxe
    ram - 8gb Kingston Hyperx 1066
    video - GTX 560 ti
    storage - 750 gb Seagate junker
    psu - Silverstone ST56ZF

  2. #2
    Mr.Guvernment's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Costa Rica - and toronto sometimes
    Posts
    14,854
    delidded?

    ¸,ĝ¤°`°¤ĝ,¸İ Poor Planning On Your Part Does Not Constitute An Emergency On My Part ݸ,ĝ¤°`°¤ĝ,¸
    ¸,ĝ¤°`°¤ĝ,¸İ The trouble with life is there’s no background music ݸ,ĝ¤°`°¤ĝ,¸
    ¸,ĝ¤°`°¤ĝ,¸İ Life isnt short, you're just dead for too longݸ,ĝ¤°`°¤ĝ,¸



  3. #3
    Member SolidxSnake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    5,849
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr.Guvernment View Post
    delidded?
    Delidded = no IHS
    When I logon to Windows, I press Ctrl+Alt+ELITE
    i7-2600 4001MHz @ 39x102.6~ASRock P67 Fatal1ty Professional~MSI N580GTX Lightning 1536MB @ 1000//2400 @ 1.149v~8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600 9-9-9-24~256GB Samsung 830 SSD and 60GB OCZ Vertex~2x Western Digital Caviar Green 1TBs in RAID1 ~BFG ES-800 PSU
    Custom Watercooling Loop | Apogee GT, MCW82, MCP35x + Res, Thermochill PA120.2 and 120.3 (both rev1) w/ Gentle Typhoon AP-15s pull, 7/16"x5/8" MasterKleer, 100% Distilled Water with Iodine ---All encased in a Silverstone TJ07B-W
    Join in on the fun! Heatware OCForums Metal Club member #13224


  4. #4
    conway's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    754
    Quote Originally Posted by SolidxSnake View Post
    Delidded = no IHS
    Right, thought "de-lidded" was the common term for it.
    cpu - Phenom II x4 810 @ 3640
    motherboard - Asus M3A32-MVP Deluxe
    ram - 8gb Kingston Hyperx 1066
    video - GTX 560 ti
    storage - 750 gb Seagate junker
    psu - Silverstone ST56ZF

  5. #5
    Member SolidxSnake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Massachusetts, USA
    Posts
    5,849
    Quote Originally Posted by conway View Post
    Right, thought "de-lidded" was the common term for it.
    Same
    When I logon to Windows, I press Ctrl+Alt+ELITE
    i7-2600 4001MHz @ 39x102.6~ASRock P67 Fatal1ty Professional~MSI N580GTX Lightning 1536MB @ 1000//2400 @ 1.149v~8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600 9-9-9-24~256GB Samsung 830 SSD and 60GB OCZ Vertex~2x Western Digital Caviar Green 1TBs in RAID1 ~BFG ES-800 PSU
    Custom Watercooling Loop | Apogee GT, MCW82, MCP35x + Res, Thermochill PA120.2 and 120.3 (both rev1) w/ Gentle Typhoon AP-15s pull, 7/16"x5/8" MasterKleer, 100% Distilled Water with Iodine ---All encased in a Silverstone TJ07B-W
    Join in on the fun! Heatware OCForums Metal Club member #13224


  6. #6
    AlabamaCajun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    A Labyrinth
    Posts
    6,176
    Or "naked", that gets some people excited.
    I doubt many people would pop the top on those at the price they sell. I would suspect they look almost identical to some of the Opterons peope have delidded.
    Main Rigs
    Developement -Phen2 1090T on Asus 870
    Fun -Callisto 555BE, Asus 990FX Sabortooth,ATI HD3870
    CDs, Labels, Printing etc- 5000BBE, GA790FX, Wintec 800 4G.HD2600XT
    Rendering Server- 4x Barcelona 8347s. Tyan S4980 Quad, 16G (2G Kingston per socket).
    Folding, Testing- Vista, Regor 265 X2 on Asus 880,
    dead- Phen2-940
    AM2, DFI790FX-M2R,Corsair-PC6400 CL4
    Theme Park Builder 3D The Game- Build-em and Ride-em.

  7. #7
    conway's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    754
    Quote Originally Posted by AlabamaCajun View Post
    Or "naked", that gets some people excited.
    I doubt many people would pop the top on those at the price they sell. I would suspect they look almost identical to some of the Opterons peope have delidded.
    Only reason I ask is because upon inspecting mine, I noticed some very tiny "golden bridges" similar to what the old ceramic Athlons had. Wanted to see if/how they were connected on the FX processors, thinking maybe thats how they are unlocked at the factory. Dunno if that's ever been tried before, but I'd be willing to if I could get pics and they showed anything. I have a spare "naked" 3000 venice I could try it on, which also has the same bridges on it.
    cpu - Phenom II x4 810 @ 3640
    motherboard - Asus M3A32-MVP Deluxe
    ram - 8gb Kingston Hyperx 1066
    video - GTX 560 ti
    storage - 750 gb Seagate junker
    psu - Silverstone ST56ZF

  8. #8

  9. #9
    conway's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    754
    Awesome, thanks Sadly it looks like the dots on the three sides of cpu die are not connected on the fx either.
    cpu - Phenom II x4 810 @ 3640
    motherboard - Asus M3A32-MVP Deluxe
    ram - 8gb Kingston Hyperx 1066
    video - GTX 560 ti
    storage - 750 gb Seagate junker
    psu - Silverstone ST56ZF

  10. #10
    Registered u1tra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    85
    No probs

  11. #11
    Member Jim Morbid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Where Ever The Folding is
    Posts
    363
    Ultra delivers :-)
    Catch the Official OCF Podcast every other Saturday right here on the the forum!
    Folding For Team32 || Initiate Heat Blasters!

    Intel Core2 Duo QX9650 @3.74GHz (340x11) || DFi x48 UT-T3RS
    Geminii || 4Gig Patriot Viper DDR3 1333
    EVGA 9800GX2 || Gigabyte 850W Odin PSU || Seagate Cuda 500Gig
    "If I'm lacking in boats, it's cause I'm fearful of the Kraken" -MC Frontalot

  12. #12
    Member largon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Suomi Finland
    Posts
    502
    Those are SMD capacitor-pack solder pads not golden bridges.
    AMD's multipliers lock is done via software (MaxFID-string) and is described to the detail in bios developers guide for athlon 64.
    You were not supposed to see this.
    ŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻ
    ŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻ

  13. #13
    conway's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    754
    Quote Originally Posted by largon View Post
    Those are SMD capacitor-pack solder pads not golden bridges.
    AMD's multipliers lock is done via software (MaxFID-string) and is described to the detail in bios developers guide for athlon 64.
    Wasn't talking about the smd solder contact points....if you look very closely, you'll see 3 tiny dots on three sides of the die. Was referring to those.
    cpu - Phenom II x4 810 @ 3640
    motherboard - Asus M3A32-MVP Deluxe
    ram - 8gb Kingston Hyperx 1066
    video - GTX 560 ti
    storage - 750 gb Seagate junker
    psu - Silverstone ST56ZF

  14. #14
    Member largon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Suomi Finland
    Posts
    502
    I think those are just aligner markers used while bonding the die.
    You were not supposed to see this.
    ŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻ
    ŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻ

  15. #15
    conway's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    754
    Quote Originally Posted by largon View Post
    I think those are just aligner markers used while bonding the die.
    Oh well
    cpu - Phenom II x4 810 @ 3640
    motherboard - Asus M3A32-MVP Deluxe
    ram - 8gb Kingston Hyperx 1066
    video - GTX 560 ti
    storage - 750 gb Seagate junker
    psu - Silverstone ST56ZF

  16. #16
    Senior Something Moto7451's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    LA, CA
    Posts
    3,972
    The CPUs are locked by blowing internal fuses at the factory.
    Intel C2D e6400 @ 375MHz x8 = 3Ghz 1.328v, Gigabyte EP43-UD3L, 3GB DDR2, GeForce 9600GT, 73GB 15K SCSI HD/Adaptec 29160 SCSI Card, 750GB SATA Drive, 320GB ATA Drive, HDTV Tuner

    D5 Pump • Bonneville w/ AC Heater Core • Gemeni Cooling Maze 4 Style Water Block

    Sager 8690: Core i7 940XM Exreme 2.13GHz (3.2GHz Turbo), 4GB DDR3, GeForce GTX 285M 1GB, 15.6" 1080 LCD, 320GB 7200RPM HD

    Difference Between D5 Revisions + flow mod Difference between NPSM & G1/4

  17. #17
    Member largon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Suomi Finland
    Posts
    502
    If by "internal fuses" you mean model specific register (MSR) read-only memory address C001_0042h and by "blowing" you mean "programming", then yes that's correct.
    You were not supposed to see this.
    ŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻ
    ŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻ

  18. #18
    Registered u1tra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    85
    They don't blow any fuses... they just program it...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •