Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2005

    Stock Q6600 G0 w/ retail HSF running hot?

    Hey guys,

    I have a Q6600 G0 stepping with the stock HSF running orthos blend @ 63-65 degrees C (Core Temp 0.95b). I've reseated the heatsink and even used AS5 following the website's instructions. Edit: It idles at 45C. I've now seen it push 71C; I got scared and stopped the burn-in testing.

    My motherboard is the crappy ECS 671T-M that came bundled with the CPU. Vcore is 1.248....I first noticed this when I was gaming and the board started beeping then eventually shutdown my computer. All fans are operational and my room is pretty chilly 65 degrees F.

    Could somebody spare some insight into my problem?

    Thank You.
    Last edited by lordz; 12-09-07 at 11:17 PM.

    GA X58-UD3R FJ8 BIOS
    i7 920 2.66 @ 4.0 GHz (200x20) -- 1.264V
    Average temps: idle 28C, load 62C
    EK Supreme HF Full Nickel
    XSPC RX360 (120.3)
    Swiftech MCP655
    6GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 7-8-7-24
    ATI 4870X2 1GB
    OCZ Agility II 120GB
    Corsair 750TX

  2. #2
    Member blackersabbath's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Norwich, NY
    I'm thinking that your motherboard is reading the temps wrong. They seem a little high. Did you seat the heatsink correctly?
    MB: ASUS M4A89TD PRO/USB3
    CPU: Phenom II 955 BE (h100+4x Ultra Kaze)
    RAM: GSkill Ripjaws 1600 2x4GB (running at 667 9/9/9/25/40/2t)
    VGA: Sapphire 6870 (reference design) stock
    HD: Samsung F3 1TB/ Seagate Green 2TB
    PSU: Corsair 650TX
    Case: Arc Midi
    Monitor: 32" LCD TV
    OS: Windows 7

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Honestly, I really dislike the snap-on stock HSF. I am certain that the HSF is seated correctly...I heard satisfying clicks for each leg I pushed in. I have not gone as far as to remove the motherboard and visually examine the underside though. I did a finger check + visual inspection to make sure the legs were flush to the board. I'm about to remove my old scythe ninja plus from my old rig and stick it on to see how that will work out.

    GA X58-UD3R FJ8 BIOS
    i7 920 2.66 @ 4.0 GHz (200x20) -- 1.264V
    Average temps: idle 28C, load 62C
    EK Supreme HF Full Nickel
    XSPC RX360 (120.3)
    Swiftech MCP655
    6GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 7-8-7-24
    ATI 4870X2 1GB
    OCZ Agility II 120GB
    Corsair 750TX

  4. #4
    Member donuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    SC (now)
    It should work out much better. I've got one on a B3 quad and under load I'll see low 60's. I never did complete load testing with the stock HSF because of the temps.

  5. #5
    Member xilix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    MA
    Heatware Profile
    I never saw anything above 58c with the stock cooler at stock speeds. Your ambient temps must be high. Contrary to common belief, the stock cooler is more than enough to do the job, and even handle mild OC's. If temps are high then something else is playing into the equation.
    Case -- LIAN LI Lancool PC-K58W
    PSU --- Coolermaster V1000
    Mobo - ASRock P67 EXTREME4 GEN3
    HD ---- 250GB+320GB+1TB+1.5TB WD's, 64GBx64GB Crucial M4 SSD's
    CPU --- Intel Core i5-2500K MCW6000 @4.8Ghz
    RAM --- 2x4GB G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB
    GFX --- EVGA GTX 670 SC 4GB
    Dislpay 42" Samsung 1080p LCD -- 24" LG 1080p LCD

    Heat

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Quote Originally Posted by xilix View Post
    I never saw anything above 58c with the stock cooler at stock speeds. Your ambient temps must be high. Contrary to common belief, the stock cooler is more than enough to do the job, and even handle mild OC's. If temps are high then something else is playing into the equation.
    If that is the case with all four cores fired up at 100%, then I probably seated the heatsink incorrectly. Hopefully, that's the only thing that's wrong with my setup. Thanks for that information!

    GA X58-UD3R FJ8 BIOS
    i7 920 2.66 @ 4.0 GHz (200x20) -- 1.264V
    Average temps: idle 28C, load 62C
    EK Supreme HF Full Nickel
    XSPC RX360 (120.3)
    Swiftech MCP655
    6GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 7-8-7-24
    ATI 4870X2 1GB
    OCZ Agility II 120GB
    Corsair 750TX

  7. #7
    Senior Member jason4207's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Concord, NC
    How much TIM did you use (or did you just use the stock stuff)? That could possibly be an issue. I doubt the ECS has the option, but the Gigabyte board should allow you to lower the Vcore which can help temps significantly if you're still on the stock cooler.
    MAIN RIG: 3570K @ 4.5GHz 1.272v H100i Extreme4-Z77 8GB-G.Skill @ 2200MHz 9-11-11-28 1.60v CM_430-Elite
    GTX670_DCuII_TOP @ 1358/7244 1.212v Xplosion-DTS 256GB-Samsung_830 1TB-Black Seasonic_X-750
    27.5"-1200P-LCD Z5500-5.1 || PLV-Z4_720P_Projector_95" Paradigm_6.1_DTS-ES
    G9_Mouse Logitech_Illuminated_KB Logitech_G27_Wheel+Microsim_Racing_Pod ***HEAT***

    GAMING HTPC: i3-550 @ 4.5GHz 1.35v H70 MSI_H55M-ED55 4GB-G.Skill @ 1875MHz 7-9-7-23 1T
    GTS450 @ 970/1940/2100 240GB_Sandisk_Extreme 640GB_Blue Corsair_CX430
    Panny 42S2 1080P Plasma

    unRAID FILE SERVER: E5200-M0 @ 2GHz 0.856v MSIP43Neo3-F 4GB-Corsair @ 800MHz CM590 Antec550W
    19TB-Parity_Protected_Storage / 1TB-Cache / 2TB-Parity / 10x2TB 2x1TB


  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Quote Originally Posted by jason4207 View Post
    How much TIM did you use (or did you just use the stock stuff)? That could possibly be an issue. I doubt the ECS has the option, but the Gigabyte board should allow you to lower the Vcore which can help temps significantly if you're still on the stock cooler.
    I used AS5 sparingly. ECS board does not let you set voltages of any sort unfortunately.

    GA X58-UD3R FJ8 BIOS
    i7 920 2.66 @ 4.0 GHz (200x20) -- 1.264V
    Average temps: idle 28C, load 62C
    EK Supreme HF Full Nickel
    XSPC RX360 (120.3)
    Swiftech MCP655
    6GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 7-8-7-24
    ATI 4870X2 1GB
    OCZ Agility II 120GB
    Corsair 750TX

  9. #9
    Temps may be off 10C. If it's that hot then you should be able to feel that feat just by putting your hand nead it.

    Some notes on that board. I have the AMD versions but they all seem to follow one pattern.
    The quality of components is good not what High end boards are using but good caps and other parts.
    You won't get much OC from a high end chip, the VRegs are the standard 3 phase but it may handle enough to get to 3.0.
    BIOS's are not that great, you should have a limited but usable VCore range but may not get any VDimm.
    Ram settings, you may have to let the board decide about settings above a certain FSB depending on the dividers. On auto they do a descent job of relaxing lats as speed increases but be sure set the DRQ learning on (Centers DDR signaling for optimal stability).

    Later if this board accepts a Penryn then it will make a nice HTPC of Folding farm.
    Main Rigs
    Developement -Phen2 1090T on Asus 870
    Fun -Callisto 555BE, Asus 990FX Sabortooth,ATI HD3870
    CDs, Labels, Printing etc- 5000BBE, GA790FX, Wintec 800 4G.HD2600XT
    Rendering Server- 4x Barcelona 8347s. Tyan S4980 Quad, 16G (2G Kingston per socket).
    Folding, Testing- Vista, Regor 265 X2 on Asus 880,
    dead- Phen2-940
    AM2, DFI790FX-M2R,Corsair-PC6400 CL4
    Theme Park Builder 3D The Game- Build-em and Ride-em.

  10. #10
    Quote Originally Posted by lordz View Post
    I used AS5 sparingly. ECS board does not let you set voltages of any sort unfortunately.
    Look for VID in the advanced section.
    Edit; saw that's the sis(sy) chipset, little chance of a VCore setting.
    The Gigabyte you get will own this ECS.
    Last edited by AlabamaCajun; 12-11-07 at 03:45 PM.
    Main Rigs
    Developement -Phen2 1090T on Asus 870
    Fun -Callisto 555BE, Asus 990FX Sabortooth,ATI HD3870
    CDs, Labels, Printing etc- 5000BBE, GA790FX, Wintec 800 4G.HD2600XT
    Rendering Server- 4x Barcelona 8347s. Tyan S4980 Quad, 16G (2G Kingston per socket).
    Folding, Testing- Vista, Regor 265 X2 on Asus 880,
    dead- Phen2-940
    AM2, DFI790FX-M2R,Corsair-PC6400 CL4
    Theme Park Builder 3D The Game- Build-em and Ride-em.

  11. #11
    The ksBrainstorms Mad Reviewer (R.I.P.) Liquid3D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Branford, CT USA
    Quote Originally Posted by lordz View Post
    I used AS5 sparingly. ECS board does not let you set voltages of any sort unfortunately.
    Arctic Silver has a very specific application method for Quad Cores with AS5.

    You simply apply a thin line running from left to right which effectly covers the cores, then use the mounting pressure to compress the paste into both surfaces.

    The push pins on the stock Intel heatsinks are the worst. You cannot even say their ok solong as you don't replace your CPU often because they are difficult to mount properly. Eevn trying to distribute the pressure evenly by depressing pins perpindicular of each other still pops another up. I've yet to install a stock heatsinks without problems.

    For my TIM round-up I removed all four pins and dropped the heatsink on my water-block through mount system. It wqas the only way I could ensure even pressure and remove the heatsink as many times as I did (3 mounts for each TIM taking the lowest temp from each).

    If you don't have the money to get a new heatsink right now, I suggest going to the hardware store and getting four phillips head bolts and 8 nuts. Get some plastic washers, and there's a way to remove the pins from the heatsink without breaking them. I mention this because I belaive warranty requres sending back CPU in original box with heatsink.

    EDIT
    Last edited by Liquid3D; 12-14-07 at 05:56 PM.

  12. #12
    I just got my 6600 today and used the metal brackets with the Ninja that bolt through to a x bracket on the back. It makes a solid mount on the intel boards.
    Main Rigs
    Developement -Phen2 1090T on Asus 870
    Fun -Callisto 555BE, Asus 990FX Sabortooth,ATI HD3870
    CDs, Labels, Printing etc- 5000BBE, GA790FX, Wintec 800 4G.HD2600XT
    Rendering Server- 4x Barcelona 8347s. Tyan S4980 Quad, 16G (2G Kingston per socket).
    Folding, Testing- Vista, Regor 265 X2 on Asus 880,
    dead- Phen2-940
    AM2, DFI790FX-M2R,Corsair-PC6400 CL4
    Theme Park Builder 3D The Game- Build-em and Ride-em.

  13. #13
    The ksBrainstorms Mad Reviewer (R.I.P.) Liquid3D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Branford, CT USA
    Very smart, contact is everything.

  14. #14
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Well, I got my DS3R and boy does it run rock solid. Runs my hardware configuration much smoother than the P5N-E SLi or the ECS board. My temps have also dropped to about 54C load on a stock HSF. Really odd, but it probably was a contact problem.

    GA X58-UD3R FJ8 BIOS
    i7 920 2.66 @ 4.0 GHz (200x20) -- 1.264V
    Average temps: idle 28C, load 62C
    EK Supreme HF Full Nickel
    XSPC RX360 (120.3)
    Swiftech MCP655
    6GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 7-8-7-24
    ATI 4870X2 1GB
    OCZ Agility II 120GB
    Corsair 750TX

  15. #15
    Senior Member jason4207's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Concord, NC
    Liquid3D - TAT only loads up 2 cores, correct? Shouldn't you be using P95 or something to stress? I see 2 of your cores around 50*, and the other 2 in the mid-upper 60's.
    MAIN RIG: 3570K @ 4.5GHz 1.272v H100i Extreme4-Z77 8GB-G.Skill @ 2200MHz 9-11-11-28 1.60v CM_430-Elite
    GTX670_DCuII_TOP @ 1358/7244 1.212v Xplosion-DTS 256GB-Samsung_830 1TB-Black Seasonic_X-750
    27.5"-1200P-LCD Z5500-5.1 || PLV-Z4_720P_Projector_95" Paradigm_6.1_DTS-ES
    G9_Mouse Logitech_Illuminated_KB Logitech_G27_Wheel+Microsim_Racing_Pod ***HEAT***

    GAMING HTPC: i3-550 @ 4.5GHz 1.35v H70 MSI_H55M-ED55 4GB-G.Skill @ 1875MHz 7-9-7-23 1T
    GTS450 @ 970/1940/2100 240GB_Sandisk_Extreme 640GB_Blue Corsair_CX430
    Panny 42S2 1080P Plasma

    unRAID FILE SERVER: E5200-M0 @ 2GHz 0.856v MSIP43Neo3-F 4GB-Corsair @ 800MHz CM590 Antec550W
    19TB-Parity_Protected_Storage / 1TB-Cache / 2TB-Parity / 10x2TB 2x1TB


  16. #16
    The ksBrainstorms Mad Reviewer (R.I.P.) Liquid3D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Branford, CT USA
    Yes your right I had to change my test results mid-stride in a TIM round-up. The wird thing was when I first began testing a few months ago I found TAT was seemingly affecting all four cores.

    I had switched to Prime95 v.25.5a when I found anomalies half way through. This cost me a month of ruined data. But even with Prime95 cores will run at slightly different temps.
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by Liquid3D; 12-14-07 at 05:35 PM.

  17. #17
    The ksBrainstorms Mad Reviewer (R.I.P.) Liquid3D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Branford, CT USA
    I know a 4C differnce isn't much compared to a 10C differnce but in many of the tests the results aren't so far apart running TAT on Quad? While it may not stress all four it does register them in it's scrolling results? Nonetheless your absolutely correct and its better safe then sorry. In fact I had began a TIM test about three months ago and if it weren't for you I wouldn't have gone back to check the results. I began testing with TAT and switched, but left the TAT info in there
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by Liquid3D; 12-14-07 at 05:54 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •