Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1

    Computer will only cold boot

    Hello, I have this really strange problem ever since I last rebuilt my computer (I got a refurbished p5b deluxe). My computer will run perfectly fine if I start it up from a totally cold boot, but if I try to restart it (either in windows or pressing the restart button) it will not boot up at all. There are no beeps, monitor does not come on. Usually I have to turn it off and wait for 10 seconds and turn it back on a couple of times before it will start over again. This is really annoying and really strange... anyone have any ideas or seen this before? Perhaps something is shorting somewhere.

    Another interesting thing that might be related is that ever since I got the new motherboard, when I press the reset button the whole computer will turn off for about 5 seconds then start back up again. I don't think I saw that before on my old p5b deluxe

    I'm totally stumped on this one. I have a 600w OCZ powerstream running a single 8800GTS, C2D E6420, 3 hard drives, 1 dvd-drive, and a water pump. Could it be the powerstream isn't powerful enough? it ran fine with my old motherboard though, I tend to think either my refurbished motherboard is faulty or something is shorting out.

  2. #2
    Member blackersabbath's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Norwich, NY
    Maybe you have the reset switch hooked up backwards on the motherboard? That is the only thing I can think of. I would try that and see if it works.
    MB: ASUS M4A89TD PRO/USB3
    CPU: Phenom II 955 BE (h100+4x Ultra Kaze)
    RAM: GSkill Ripjaws 1600 2x4GB (running at 667 9/9/9/25/40/2t)
    VGA: Sapphire 6870 (reference design) stock
    HD: Samsung F3 1TB/ Seagate Green 2TB
    PSU: Corsair 650TX
    Case: Arc Midi
    Monitor: 32" LCD TV
    OS: Windows 7

  3. #3
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by blackersabbath View Post
    Maybe you have the reset switch hooked up backwards on the motherboard? That is the only thing I can think of. I would try that and see if it works.
    That doesn't matter, it is an open circuit while not being pressed. The circuit is completed when pressed, polarity does not matter.

    Try removing everything and making sure you re-seat everything properly. If it looks good, try flashing the BIOS.

    If that still doesn't fix it, RMA it.
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  4. #4
    Member MasterTelia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Denmark
    Quote Originally Posted by blackersabbath View Post
    Maybe you have the reset switch hooked up backwards on the motherboard? That is the only thing I can think of. I would try that and see if it works.
    as far as i know it doesnt matter if you hook up power or reset button backwards
    "Btw.... it makes it look like a sex toy. I don't want to be waving a dildo at my TV." - FudgeNuggets

    "I would be willing to get a sex change if you payed for it and bought me loads of computer stuff afterwards!" - SkuToV

  5. #5
    The reset button works, it's just whenever my computer is "rebooting" it doesn't boot. I'll try flashing the bios. Everything works perfectly though after it boots up, and it boots up everytime after about an hour (possibly earlier, it's hard to tell). I've been using it for about 3 months without a problem, it's just the reset problem is really annoying when I'm installing anything and windows wants me to restart my computer.

  6. #6
    Member BLOOP!'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Is it oc'ed when it does that? If yes how far on the FSB? My old P5B was like that if oc too far.

    SYSTEM:
    ASRock P67 Extreme4 Gen3 - Intel i5 3570K @ 4.6GHz
    Corsair Vengeance DDR3 2 x 4GB
    MSI 7950 Twin Frozr 3GD5/OC 3GB - HP 2311xi 23" IPS
    Intel 520 Series 180GB SSD
    Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic - Logitech Z-5500
    Corsair HX620W

    CASE & COOLING:
    Swiftech Apogee - MCP350 + Swiftech MCR320-DRIVE REV3 Triple 120
    NZXT Switch 810 Black

    Mobile: Lumia 920 - Surface RT - Yoga 13

  7. #7
    Member
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    USA (Springfield, Vermont)
    Quote Originally Posted by NoKtEm View Post
    Hello, I have this really strange problem ever since I last rebuilt my computer (I got a refurbished p5b deluxe). My computer will run perfectly fine if I start it up from a totally cold boot, but if I try to restart it (either in windows or pressing the restart button) it will not boot up at all. There are no beeps, monitor does not come on. Usually I have to turn it off and wait for 10 seconds and turn it back on a couple of times before it will start over again. This is really annoying and really strange... anyone have any ideas or seen this before? Perhaps something is shorting somewhere.

    Another interesting thing that might be related is that ever since I got the new motherboard, when I press the reset button the whole computer will turn off for about 5 seconds then start back up again. I don't think I saw that before on my old p5b deluxe

    I'm totally stumped on this one. I have a 600w OCZ powerstream running a single 8800GTS, C2D E6420, 3 hard drives, 1 dvd-drive, and a water pump. Could it be the powerstream isn't powerful enough? it ran fine with my old motherboard though, I tend to think either my refurbished motherboard is faulty or something is shorting out.
    Seems to be an Asus problem, because my A7V8X-X, which I don't have anymore has this problem, when OC'ing.

    BTW, the above mentioned motherboard did that even when the OC was stable!

    It just suddenly started doing that, but not until I experimented with another T-bred 2400+ stepping, after I changed it from a KIXJB 0415 to an AIUHB 0315.
    Asus Maximus II Gene- Core 2 Quad Q6600 SLACR @ 3.3 Ghz (367x9.0)

    Where I come from "Z97" is a radio station
    -ICH10R
    - eVGA GeForce GT 640-Antec VP-450


    " holy cow!! you find a rat in there too!?!?!? " -turbohans
    "Reinstall winders." -jivetrky
    "I think I am going to need another coke before I start this up." -cadman420
    "Soon Windows will be 50 gb! lololol" -Tokae
    "NOT FOR SALE IN CALIFORNIA."

  8. #8
    it's not oc'ed too high, only 400 FSB. I'll try putting it to stock and see if it still happens

  9. #9
    Registered
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    I've ran into this issue before and it came down to FSB/Memory speeds or just the Memory speed alone. Play around with the FSB/Ram divider or just the Ram speed and set it to a "safe" setting, basically below the rated speeds and see if you still have the problem.

    For example, I had this on a system with DDR2-800 and when I set the Ram to 800Mhz in bios, I ran into this issue. I didn't figure out till later that the Ram needed more voltage at the rated speed so I just lowered the Ram to 667Mhz and my problem went away.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •