Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Member BlueBall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The Hammer, Ontario
    Posts
    484

    HELP: Moving a RAID 0 to new motherboard

    I recently upgraded to a SB600 (ASUS M3a-MVP-Deluxe 790FX) motherboard and I can't get my RAID0 array working. I was using a A8N-SLI Premium mobo which had a Sil3112 controller.

    This mobo has the SB600 and Marvel 6121 .. The marvel won't even show the drives, the SB600 does .. but not in windows.

    Any help or ideas would be greatly appreciated

    Thx!
    Bach One
    AMD 8350 (8-Core) @ 4.83Ghz
    Corsair H50 Water Cooled
    ZOTAC 670AMP @ 1132/1765
    3x OCZ Vertex SSD RAID0 @ 580MB/s
    32GB Patriot 2133 CL11
    11TB Media Storage
    OCZ 850W Power Supply
    Samsung 55" 3D LCD
    Denon AVR 1912
    Klipsch 5.1 Reference towers and Velodyne 1200W 15" sub

  2. #2
    David_N's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Hiding in Canada from comments regarding my avatar :)
    Posts
    730
    I believe you lost the array. The drives need to be kept on the same Southbridge/RAID card as far as I know, or the array is dead.

    Get confirmation on this though, I'm definitely not positive.

  3. #3
    Member kayson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,061
    I'm also pretty sure you need to rebuild the array if you move to another mobo. Not to mention you should reinstall windows anyways just to refresh drivers. I would back up that array now just in case.
    Project Silver
    Intel Core i7-4770k (4.3GHz @ 1.265V)
    Asus Maximus VI Hero
    G.Skill Sniper 2x4GB DDR3-1866
    EVGA nVidia GeForce GTX 760
    Corsair HX850
    Samsung 840 Pro 256GB
    Thermalright Venomous X || 2x 120mm Panaflo || Arctic Silver V
    Lian-Li PC-A77FA || Vantec Nexus Fan Controller
    (Build Journal)
    Heatware

  4. #4
    Retired Joeteck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    3,911
    I think if you rebuild, you will loose it.

    Just set it up on the new controller, do not format (duh!), and install the driver like normal.

    Go into disk management, and import the disks or something similar..

  5. #5
    Senior Member tuskenraider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Chicago area
    Posts
    2,217
    You cannot move RAID arrays across different controllers. If you didn't break the array on the old board through the BIOS, the drives typically aren't recongnized on different controllers either, even as singles. I don't know the specifics but whatever designation, MBR data, or whatever is written during array creation, causes this. Experienced this myself. If you zero out the drive with a program like Dban, it should become recognizable after that. If you need the data on the array, you have to put the drives back on the old controller and original ports, then copy it to another drive to move back on the new array when created. If this was an array with your OS, you'd need to do a fresh install with the drivers of the new RAID chipset anyway, as if even if you recovered the old array, it'd BSOD for certain when trying to boot from it since the drivers for the new RAID chipset wouldn't be there.
    Thermaltake V9 BlacX ][ XFX PRO650W ][ Gigabyte X58A-UD3R ][ i7 950@4.2ghz (21x200)
    Corsair A70 ][ Corsair XMS DDR3-1600 3x2GB ][ Gigabyte GTX660 Ti ][ 90GB OCZ Vertex 2
    2TB Hitachi 7K3000 ][ Asus 24B1ST DVD-RW ][ Asus Zonar STX ][ Tannoy 501a
    heat

  6. #6
    Member nd4spdbh2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Camarillo, CA!
    Posts
    9,213
    only time i have seen raid arrays recognized on different crontrolers is going from like a ICH5R to ICH7R... or visa versa (standard raid not matrix)

    but swaping raid controler companies aint gonna happen sry to say
    #12 in the 4ghz core 2 duo club baby! - 52 inches of CRYSIS! - Black Belt Ubercloxx0r -- Heatware
    Main -- Lian Li V2000b -- i7 2700k -- MSI Z68A-GD80 -- 12gb 1600 -- GTX560Ti --Adata 128gb S510 & 2x500gb -- Seasonic S12 600w -- Dell 2209WA
    HTPC -- Silverstone GD05B -- E7200 @ 3.2ghz -- G41-M7 -- 4GB 800mhz -- g210 passive -- 320gb 2.5in WD -- Antec EA 430w -- 52inch Samsung LCD
    Server -- Antec NSK4480B -- E3300 @ 2.5ghz -- ECS G33T-M2 -- 3gb 667mhz -- Onboard Vid -- 500Gb + 1TB hatachi + 1tb WD -- Zalman 400w
    Netbook - Dell Mini 9 - Atom 1.6ghz - 8GB ssd - 2GB pc6400 - WIN 7 PRO!
    Need 4 Speed - BH

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    110
    I just went through this last night..... I knew I was going to have to rebuild the
    array but I should have formatted the disk before I moved them to the new Mobo.
    I set the array up in bios erased MBR when prompted but I kept having
    trouble reinstalling windows, it seemed to recognize enough old xp files
    to bsod on me several times.
    I ended up plugging the drives back into another machine to wipe them first.
    Play Rig
    Lian-Li PC-A70B / PCP&C 1200 TC
    EVGA780i FTW E8600 @ 4.42Ghz 1.35v TRUE 120
    Corsair Dominator 4G DDR2 1080 2.2V 5,5,5,15 2T
    2X 150G WD Raptors in RAID 0
    SLI EVGA 580GTX's
    Dell 3007WFP-HC
    Win7 64bit

  8. #8
    Member BlueBall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    The Hammer, Ontario
    Posts
    484
    Well .. I just thought I'd let everybody know that I found a great little application to recover my entire broken RAID0 array. It is called File Scavenger 3.2 ... It recovered all the file names, dates, pics, movies, apps .. everything!! Error free!!
    It recovered 380GB to a seperate drive in 2.5 hours!!!
    Unfortunately I went and purchased a TB hard drive because I was expecting to recover the data in RAW format and assumed I needed a recovery drive as large (or larger) than the broken array. So now my PC has 2.25TB overall. Should be a while before I run out of space now!!!!
    Bach One
    AMD 8350 (8-Core) @ 4.83Ghz
    Corsair H50 Water Cooled
    ZOTAC 670AMP @ 1132/1765
    3x OCZ Vertex SSD RAID0 @ 580MB/s
    32GB Patriot 2133 CL11
    11TB Media Storage
    OCZ 850W Power Supply
    Samsung 55" 3D LCD
    Denon AVR 1912
    Klipsch 5.1 Reference towers and Velodyne 1200W 15" sub

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •