Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Registered rookie123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004

    Better benchmark score

    My rig only scores a 2377 on 3dmark06, i expected better. I want to make my rig good for gaming, any one have any suggestions on where I should start, specs are in sig.
    Board: ECS Geforce6100SM-M
    Cpu: AMD Athlon 64 x2 6000+ @ Stock
    Memory: 2GB OCZ Platinum Rev 2
    HD: 250gb WD
    Video: Nvidia Geforce GTS 250
    PSU: 500watt Antec Earthwatts
    Monitor: 22' WS Samsung
    OS: Xp

    3Dmark06 = 11050

  2. #2
    Member White_Pawn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    sounds like your pci-e is running at 1x... OR your psu isn't good enough.
    - - M a i n R i g - -
    E2140 @ 375 x 8 = 3ghz w/ 1.3375v
    ^Tuniq Tower 120^
    Gigabyte P35-S3L
    powercolor HD4890 @ 850/975
    OCZ System 1337s 2x1 5-5-5-15 2T @ 450mhz.
    2TB 7200.12+ Seagate
    Silverstone Decathalon 650W Modular

  3. #3
    Registered rookie123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    the mobo manual says it runs at 8x... can my rig score any better the way its setup already or do i need an upgrade or maybe oc?
    Board: ECS Geforce6100SM-M
    Cpu: AMD Athlon 64 x2 6000+ @ Stock
    Memory: 2GB OCZ Platinum Rev 2
    HD: 250gb WD
    Video: Nvidia Geforce GTS 250
    PSU: 500watt Antec Earthwatts
    Monitor: 22' WS Samsung
    OS: Xp

    3Dmark06 = 11050

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    OnDborder's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    HOT 'n Arizona
    Download and install cpu-z. Check under the "mainboard" tab
    You're capable of such beautiful dreams, and such horrible nightmares.


    Asrock z77xtr6/3770k..........MSI p67a-GD55/2600k
    CORSAIR Vengeance 16gb.......4gigZ Corsair
    Gigabyte 290s crossfire ...........HIS 280x crossfired
    X-Fi Elite Pro.........................H2O cooling
    600gb Raptor/256ssd3..... .......40 Kingston ssd
    Siverstone 1500wt'r.....................Corsair1000HX

    MyHeat

  5. #5
    Registered rookie123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Ok i ran cpu-z, under link width it says x8, under max it says x16
    Last edited by rookie123; 01-03-08 at 02:39 PM.
    Board: ECS Geforce6100SM-M
    Cpu: AMD Athlon 64 x2 6000+ @ Stock
    Memory: 2GB OCZ Platinum Rev 2
    HD: 250gb WD
    Video: Nvidia Geforce GTS 250
    PSU: 500watt Antec Earthwatts
    Monitor: 22' WS Samsung
    OS: Xp

    3Dmark06 = 11050

  6. #6
    You should be able to overclock your 8500GT a lot, I dug up some scores on hwbot and apparently overclocking as much as 300mhz on the core isn't all that uncommon. http://www.hwbot.org/result.do?resultId=675043

    Check out the stickies in the graphics section
    Please support our other teams!
    Start here

  7. #7
    Member White_Pawn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    OHHHHH i thought you had a 8800GT 512mb.

    okay.

    8500GT 512mb is just slightly better than the 6600GT 256mb. That would explain your low score. Try to change your pci-e width to 16x and download rivatuner and begin cranking the clocks. Your main concern i believe would be increasing the core, as there is more than enough bandwidth for the 8500GT.
    - - M a i n R i g - -
    E2140 @ 375 x 8 = 3ghz w/ 1.3375v
    ^Tuniq Tower 120^
    Gigabyte P35-S3L
    powercolor HD4890 @ 850/975
    OCZ System 1337s 2x1 5-5-5-15 2T @ 450mhz.
    2TB 7200.12+ Seagate
    Silverstone Decathalon 650W Modular

  8. #8
    Registered rookie123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    I overclocked my card, the core to 750 and the memory to 500, i monitered the temp and it stayed at about 50 deg. My benchmark score actually went up to 3321 which is a pretty good increase. Should I overclock anything else, cpu, memory? Im new to this overclocking I find this stuff pretty interesting.
    Last edited by rookie123; 01-04-08 at 01:55 AM.
    Board: ECS Geforce6100SM-M
    Cpu: AMD Athlon 64 x2 6000+ @ Stock
    Memory: 2GB OCZ Platinum Rev 2
    HD: 250gb WD
    Video: Nvidia Geforce GTS 250
    PSU: 500watt Antec Earthwatts
    Monitor: 22' WS Samsung
    OS: Xp

    3Dmark06 = 11050

  9. #9
    jmsanders2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Moving to my new condo on the lake and golf course :)
    What temp did you monitor? If 50C was a reliable gpu temp you can probably go further on the gpu clock with some tweaking. The gpu is the major component on 3D scores, cpu OC and mem OC will help some, but not as much as gpu OC.
    New Rig: Gaming/ FEA/ Logical Programming (in that order)
    Q6600 GO: 3.2 Ghz at 1.29 V currently
    EVGA 8800 GTS 640 SC:
    4Gb Crucial Ballistix 6400:
    Abit IP35PRO
    CoolerMaster CM690
    ThermalRight Ultra 120Xtreme
    2X500Gb Seagate 7200.10
    Samsung 20x DVD:Samsung 245BW:Vista Business 32

  10. #10
    Registered rookie123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Im using rivatuner, 750 is the most it lets me go to for the core, and when i go above 505 on the memory bus it doesnt pass the test. but the temperature stays at 50 for the gpu.
    Board: ECS Geforce6100SM-M
    Cpu: AMD Athlon 64 x2 6000+ @ Stock
    Memory: 2GB OCZ Platinum Rev 2
    HD: 250gb WD
    Video: Nvidia Geforce GTS 250
    PSU: 500watt Antec Earthwatts
    Monitor: 22' WS Samsung
    OS: Xp

    3Dmark06 = 11050

  11. #11
    That seems like a good OC on your gpu compared to others, and while you're at it you might as well see what your cpu can do.
    Please support our other teams!
    Start here

  12. #12
    Member djrussell's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    everett, wa
    Quote Originally Posted by rookie123 View Post
    Im using rivatuner, 750 is the most it lets me go to for the core, and when i go above 505 on the memory bus it doesnt pass the test. but the temperature stays at 50 for the gpu.
    if your card is staying cool but won't clock any higher, it's probably volt limited. there might be a voltmod or bios voltmod for it if you want to go that route. happy googling.
    x2 5600 21/45 w/Tt ruby orb
    GB ga-m61p-s3
    2x512 + 2x2 ocz platinum 4-4-4-12
    seagate 'cudas 80gb + 500gb
    rosewill stallion 500w
    raidmax sagitta case
    powercolor HD3870 PCS

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •