Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 21
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Yuma, Arizona

    Time Warner Turbo...is it worth it?

    I ran this test today,

    and I went and actually looked an upgrade option for my internet. I already pay 170 a month for cable, internet and phone. Its an extra 10 bucks to get the upgrade option. My question is; is there anyone out there that uses this or HAS used it and is it worth it?
    "Oppurtunity makes the thief." -Roman proverb

  2. #2
    Member Bios24's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    What do you use the internet for? Could you use the extra bandwidth? That's all it is, extra bandwidth. Do you: download a lot and need it fast? support a lot of computers/users, online games a lot? run a game/file/ftp/etc server?

    In a related note they recently bumped our local TW Turbo service to 15mb down and 1mb up. WOOT!
    Antec P180 - Corsair HX520W - Dell 2005fpw
    Opteron 165 <Currently 280x9 1.35v>
    DFI NF4 Ultra-D - 2gb G.Skill 3-4-4-8@250mhz
    320gb+200gb Seagate - XFX 6800GS 500/1.2ghz
    Sound Blaster X-Fi - BA7900 5.1 Surround
    Thermalright XP-90C - <The Quiet Overclock>
    [ HEATWARE ]

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Yuma, Arizona
    I play alot of online games. not really running any servers though. Thanks alot for the input though
    "Oppurtunity makes the thief." -Roman proverb

  4. #4
    Member nd4spdbh2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Camarillo, CA!
    what does turbo do for you... cus theres road runner turbo, and road runner extreme...

    mk looks like it its

    Xtreme 10mbit down / 1mbit or 768kbit up
    Turbo 8mbit down / 512kbit up
    Regular 5mbit / 348kbit

    To be honest the whole service isnt worth it... i had adelphia cable net (timewarner bought them out) and it was alright @ 5/348 then when timewarner bought adelphia the whole service turned to ****, constantly dropping connection and what not... we were like you paying ~ 40bucks a month for 5 / 348... then verizon put fiber optic cable on our street... for the SAME price we now have a 15mbit and 2mbit connection.... that NEVER goes out... hell i was on the internet WHEN THE POWER was out on my laptop.

    But i do realize that not all people have acces to verizon FIOS, so i will say this... please dont give timewarner any extra money, honestly 3mbit more down isnt worth the 10 bucks espically when your upload speed isnt even boosted really at all from its currently measily 348kbit. save the money and put it to better use.

    I mean this is my connection right now while browsing the net on my main machine, mom and dad are on the net, and i got a CS 1.6 server with 16ppl in it using ~ 300kbit up and download
    Last edited by nd4spdbh2; 01-05-08 at 08:27 PM.
    #12 in the 4ghz core 2 duo club baby! - 52 inches of CRYSIS! - Black Belt Ubercloxx0r -- Heatware
    Main -- Lian Li V2000b -- i7 2700k -- MSI Z68A-GD80 -- 12gb 1600 -- GTX560Ti --Adata 128gb S510 & 2x500gb -- Seasonic S12 600w -- Dell 2209WA
    HTPC -- Silverstone GD05B -- E7200 @ 3.2ghz -- G41-M7 -- 4GB 800mhz -- g210 passive -- 320gb 2.5in WD -- Antec EA 430w -- 52inch Samsung LCD
    Server -- Antec NSK4480B -- E3300 @ 2.5ghz -- ECS G33T-M2 -- 3gb 667mhz -- Onboard Vid -- 500Gb + 1TB hatachi + 1tb WD -- Zalman 400w
    Netbook - Dell Mini 9 - Atom 1.6ghz - 8GB ssd - 2GB pc6400 - WIN 7 PRO!
    Need 4 Speed - BH

  5. #5
    Overclockers Team Content Editor
    Shelnutt2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    /home/
    Folding Profile


    On good night I can get 7-8mb down. I <3 earthlink. (I only have a 5mb down, 348kb up connection)


    (I know Earthlink only rents out servers from Bright House/Time Warner), but I'll say I've never had an issue, and some of my neighbors with standard Bright House have had outages, while I surf away.
    Build!.Borg!.Recruit!.Folding.for.Team.32!
    Gigabyte P35-DS3R, E6300, 2x512MB Team Group DDR2 667, EVGA 7800GT Heat

    Want to run the folding@home gpu client in linux?
    www.linuxfah.info

    Your teacher is a dumbass. The equation is exact. ~Frodo Baggins
    Damn....It's 12:00 AM and I thought my 805 would be a magic pumkin and turn into a conroe.........boy was I fooled:) ~Stilletto
    This is what I get for not only being a newb, but also disregarding instructions! ~ShadowPho
    I hate women... but im not gay lol. ~MrCrowley
    Love can fade but knowledge stays forever (unless you develop alzheimers). ~Constantinos

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Yuma, Arizona
    nd4,
    look how close you are to the server you tested on, compared to where I am at. That is insane. I dont think Eastern Carolina is gonna be getting Fiber Optic anytime soon. Thanks alot though. input was valuable.
    "Oppurtunity makes the thief." -Roman proverb

  7. #7
    Member nd4spdbh2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Camarillo, CA!
    Quote Originally Posted by nasvemos671 View Post
    nd4,
    look how close you are to the server you tested on, compared to where I am at. That is insane. I dont think Eastern Carolina is gonna be getting Fiber Optic anytime soon. Thanks alot though. input was valuable.
    that sucks to hear u wont be gettin true fiber (like verizons) compared to adelphias fiber to the node... which everyone has been doing since the dawn of time

    just for ****s and giggles.







    Last edited by nd4spdbh2; 01-06-08 at 02:22 AM.
    #12 in the 4ghz core 2 duo club baby! - 52 inches of CRYSIS! - Black Belt Ubercloxx0r -- Heatware
    Main -- Lian Li V2000b -- i7 2700k -- MSI Z68A-GD80 -- 12gb 1600 -- GTX560Ti --Adata 128gb S510 & 2x500gb -- Seasonic S12 600w -- Dell 2209WA
    HTPC -- Silverstone GD05B -- E7200 @ 3.2ghz -- G41-M7 -- 4GB 800mhz -- g210 passive -- 320gb 2.5in WD -- Antec EA 430w -- 52inch Samsung LCD
    Server -- Antec NSK4480B -- E3300 @ 2.5ghz -- ECS G33T-M2 -- 3gb 667mhz -- Onboard Vid -- 500Gb + 1TB hatachi + 1tb WD -- Zalman 400w
    Netbook - Dell Mini 9 - Atom 1.6ghz - 8GB ssd - 2GB pc6400 - WIN 7 PRO!
    Need 4 Speed - BH

  8. #8
    Member MooMasster716's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Fontana, CA
    Quote Originally Posted by

    just for ****s and giggles.

    [img
    http://www.speedtest.net/result/219005174.png[/img]





    I hate you soooooooo much.
    Intel Q9550 @3ghz ### Xigmatech HDT-1283
    4GB G.Skill F2 6400CL5-2GBPQ @840mhz
    Gigabyte EP43-UD3L ### XFX Nvidia GTX275
    500gb Seagate 7200.10
    1TB Samsung F3
    1000Watt Cooler Master Real Power PS
    10 case fans of pure silence on 2 Sunbeam Fan Controlers
    CoolerMaster 690
    My Heatware

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Yuma, Arizona
    WOW, thats pretty sick. I hate you :P.
    "Oppurtunity makes the thief." -Roman proverb

  10. #10
    Member nd4spdbh2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Camarillo, CA!
    lol i just had to

    if i could run an ethernet cable to ur house i would (where ever that may be!)
    #12 in the 4ghz core 2 duo club baby! - 52 inches of CRYSIS! - Black Belt Ubercloxx0r -- Heatware
    Main -- Lian Li V2000b -- i7 2700k -- MSI Z68A-GD80 -- 12gb 1600 -- GTX560Ti --Adata 128gb S510 & 2x500gb -- Seasonic S12 600w -- Dell 2209WA
    HTPC -- Silverstone GD05B -- E7200 @ 3.2ghz -- G41-M7 -- 4GB 800mhz -- g210 passive -- 320gb 2.5in WD -- Antec EA 430w -- 52inch Samsung LCD
    Server -- Antec NSK4480B -- E3300 @ 2.5ghz -- ECS G33T-M2 -- 3gb 667mhz -- Onboard Vid -- 500Gb + 1TB hatachi + 1tb WD -- Zalman 400w
    Netbook - Dell Mini 9 - Atom 1.6ghz - 8GB ssd - 2GB pc6400 - WIN 7 PRO!
    Need 4 Speed - BH

  11. #11
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009

    I think its worth it

    Wanted more download speed and needed something better then 384k upload
    and this is what i have with TW turbo. Still going to switch to Fios when its available in my area!


    http://www.speedtest.net/result/548538070.png


  12. #12
    Member Automiketic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    somewhere killing zombies
    Heatware Profile
    I have turbo, it is supposed to be 15Mb/s down and 1Mb/s up. The best I have seen on any speed test was 13Mb/s down. I did notice a difference moving to turbo from the basic service but I do a ton of downloading and what not. I don't really play any online games so I have nothing to input on that front. I can say I am satisfied with the upgrade and find it worth the $10/month. Here is a speed test I just did(TO NY,NY im located in Central NY):

  13. #13
    Member
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Here's mine. I just really wish my upload was quicker with turbo...




    Last edited by mbigna; 08-26-09 at 04:24 AM.
    Adopt a Topic for an Overclocking Wiki
    HEAT me up !

  14. #14
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2012

    Turbo Totally Worthless

    Prior to "upgrading" to Time Warner Turbo I ran speedtest.net at 8am and 4:30pm to three different sites (Rochester NY, Iowa, and CA) - I'm in Ithaca NY - and I ran the test 10 times for each site (thus a total of 60 test in all). After getting Turbo I ran the same 60 tests again. I calculated mean and standard deviation -- the difference: plus or minus 5%

  15. #15
    Overclockers Team Content Editor
    Shelnutt2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    /home/
    Folding Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by rdavidd View Post
    Prior to "upgrading" to Time Warner Turbo I ran speedtest.net at 8am and 4:30pm to three different sites (Rochester NY, Iowa, and CA) - I'm in Ithaca NY - and I ran the test 10 times for each site (thus a total of 60 test in all). After getting Turbo I ran the same 60 tests again. I calculated mean and standard deviation -- the difference: plus or minus 5%
    Name:  1000x500px-LL-9cd17c67_holy20thread20resurrection.jpg
Views: 5025
Size:  69.7 KB


    Interesting analysis. Do you have your data? Also when was this test done/what speeds are you rated for with and without turbo? Just a curious mind here .
    Build!.Borg!.Recruit!.Folding.for.Team.32!
    Gigabyte P35-DS3R, E6300, 2x512MB Team Group DDR2 667, EVGA 7800GT Heat

    Want to run the folding@home gpu client in linux?
    www.linuxfah.info

    Your teacher is a dumbass. The equation is exact. ~Frodo Baggins
    Damn....It's 12:00 AM and I thought my 805 would be a magic pumkin and turn into a conroe.........boy was I fooled:) ~Stilletto
    This is what I get for not only being a newb, but also disregarding instructions! ~ShadowPho
    I hate women... but im not gay lol. ~MrCrowley
    Love can fade but knowledge stays forever (unless you develop alzheimers). ~Constantinos

  16. #16
    "The Expert" Archer0915's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    East Carolina University Grad School
    Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile

    Let me show you a real connection:)

    Name:  alliget.PNG
Views: 4944
Size:  30.4 KB

    No competition means sucky speed.
    People that buy OEM systems think Linux was a Charlie Brown character, a registry is something you see at target to buy shower gifts, RAM is a Dodge truck and a hard drive is DC at rush hour.
    Current Active Fleet:
    Daily Driver i7 3740QM T530
    Work Rig/networked backup - i7 4770K@4.4, 24GB Ram, 7850 GFX Bedroom PC - i7 870 @ 3.4, 16GB Ram, 6670 GFX
    Home School PC (daughter) SB Celery @1.6, 4GB Ram, On Chip GFX Living Room HTPC - E-450@1.9 GHz, 4GB Ram
    Game Rig's (kids)- 3570K@4.7, 12GB Ram, 465GTX + 9800GT (PhysX) using intel SRT|2X A8 5500 boys toys
    Test Bed - In flux


  17. #17
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2012

    Std vs Turbo Data

    Quote Originally Posted by Shelnutt2 View Post
    Name:  1000x500px-LL-9cd17c67_holy20thread20resurrection.jpg
Views: 5025
Size:  69.7 KB


    Interesting analysis. Do you have your data? Also when was this test done/what speeds are you rated for with and without turbo? Just a curious mind here .
    Here's a sample of my data.
    Prior to Turbo (i.e., while on Std with a claimed download rate of 10 Mbps) ten tests were run for each location at approx 4:30pm on 4/29/12 and with Turbo (claimed rate of 15 Mbps) another 10 tests also approx 4:30pm but on 4/30/12 (I'm in Ithaca, NY).

    To Rochester NY:
    Std: Avg=11.59, Mean=13.00, Std Dev=3.07, Range=5.33 to 15.53
    Trb: Avg=10.90, Mean=11.65, Std Dev=2.22, Range=6.63 to 14.46

    To Cedar Falls Iowa:
    Std: Avg=8.46, Mean=8.14, Std Dev=1.76, Range=7.22 to 11.83
    Trb: Avg=8.20, Mean=8.81, Std Dev=1.39, Range=6.42 to 11.01

    To Auburn California:
    Std: Avg=5.15, Mean=5.43, Std Dev=1.08, Range=3.30 to 6.82
    Trb: Avg=5.04, Mean=5.39, Std Dev=0.81, Range=4.32 to 6.78
    Last edited by rdavidd; 05-10-12 at 06:42 AM.

  18. #18
    I know it's a scam just based upon the fact that you can get service for approx twice what it costs for the 'turbo' which also tells me they throttle everyone. Unless of course you put out more than the average guy or gal in monthly dollars. The cable companies scheme is to try and have evry single residence a separate monthly bill for both internet and tv when in fact if they did not throttle it to begin with you could easily share both with the neighbors and pay half or even less. A std tv cable line can have as many as 5 tv's and many people have but one or two to begin with. If my neighbors weren't so computer bassackwards I would be doing just that and splitting the cost for a high speed/extreme connect. Though I still refuse to use a cable box ever. Btw this would not be stealing it's called sharing intelligently, something the cable companies don't want you to do but which would be perfectly legal and wise to boot. Personally, I will never pay for cable tv ever again. The internet and it's many resources is another story.
    Fios is much better but verizon wants a credit background check and if it's not spiffy they demand a huge upfront fee. TW doesn't do this which is their ONLY saving grace imo. Tw would probably try to lock you into a contract , which they don't, because they know how hard it is to enforce.
    Last edited by habbajabba; 05-10-12 at 10:09 AM.
    Intel Northwood @3.06 GHz
    Biostar microatx
    2 GB DDR2 675
    Evga 8400gs
    Samsung 2232GW 2ms 22"
    Altec Lansing 2.1 speakers
    Memorex ext usb burner
    Win7Ult 32bit/Manjaro dualboot
    WD cav blue 320gb
    Samsung F4 2tb
    WD Blue 2tb
    CP850avrlcd ups

  19. #19
    New Member PC Madman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    I got TW Turbo here's my speeds






  20. #20
    Registered officedemon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Dayton, Ohio

    29.95 for 1 year
    Last edited by officedemon; 10-12-12 at 10:41 PM. Reason: link
    MB: Asus Sabertooth 990FX R2 (BIOS 2301)
    CPU: AMD FX 4170 @4.5 GHz
    Cooler: Cooler Master hyper 212 evo (push pull)
    RAM:4x4 G.Skill Sniper @1866Mhz 1.5v (16GB DDR3)
    SSD: OCZ Agility 3 240GB SATA III 6GB/s OS: Windows 7 64bit
    HDD: Western Digital Caviar Black 1.5TB SATA III 6GB/s 7200 RPM 64MB cache
    GPU: x2 ATI Radeon 5670's in x-fire
    PSU: 850W Thermaltake black widow (modular)
    CASE: (modded) Antec 300 Mid ATX 5/5 system fans
    Display: 40" TV (1080P) + 19" Monitor
    Router: Linksys E4200
    Drive: Samsung Blu-ray/DVD burner

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •