Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Help?!

  1. #1
    Member devsain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    111

    Question Help?!

    Im wondering, im on windows 32 bit and i have 4 GB of ram only 3.5 gb are being read how do i get my mother board to read all 4 GB? is there even an option in the gigabyte motherboard???

    Also which is better 3-4-3-12 ram timing or 4-4-4-12??

  2. #2
    Member Sam__'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,816
    windows 32 can only address 3.5gb of RAM so if you want to see all of it then get windows 64bit

    lower Ram timings are better - just make sure theyre stable
    "Computers in the future may weigh no more than 1.5 tons."
    - Popular Mechanics, 1949

    "I think there is a world market for maybe five computers."
    - Thomas Watson, chairman of IBM, 1943

  3. #3
    Member devsain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    111
    hmm, but isnt there an option like on the asus mother boards that allows the computer to actually see and use the 4gb rather than the 3.5 gb

  4. #4
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    31,417
    Quote Originally Posted by devsain View Post
    hmm, but isnt there an option like on the asus mother boards that allows the computer to actually see and use the 4gb rather than the 3.5 gb
    Yes, but that is if the operating system can address more than 4gb...it doesn't make the operating system see more than 4gb...
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  5. #5
    Member aja's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    SOUTH AFRICA, and yes, we do have electricity, and no, lions dont walk around in our streets
    Posts
    2,855
    windows 32bit can see 4gigs! but then you subtract the momory of your graphics card, controller cards etc... that gives you the 3.25-3.5 gigs that most people get

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •